Never Drive Impaired
Driving under the influence (DUI) inhibits your ability to drive safely. Alcoholic beverages, controlled substances, prescriptions, or over-the-counter medications can cause impairment. Driving impaired puts you and everyone else on the road in danger.
The Florida Highway Patrol and law enforcement officers statewide are trained to spot the signs of impaired driving. They are constantly monitoring roadways to keep everyone safe on the Florida roads.
Be accountable on the road.
It is the duty of the Florida Highway Patrol and law enforcement officers to keep Florida’s roadways safe, but it is also every driver’s responsibility to do their part. If you have consumed any alcohol or drugs, you need to ask yourself, “Am I okay to drive?”
Drinking and Driving
The legal drinking age in Florida is 21. Anyone under the age of 21 in possession of alcohol can be cited for a second-degree misdemeanor, which can lead to costly court fees, fines and other lasting consequences. It is illegal to sell alcohol to anyone under 21 or buy alcohol for anyone under 21.
Possession of an open alcoholic beverage container in a vehicle (in motion or stopped) by the driver and or the passenger(s) is a violation of Florida law.
Remember, a person’s judgment is the first thing affected after drinking an alcoholic beverage; impairment begins with the first drink.
The Results of Impairment
Driving under the influence of drugs is driving impaired.
There are many drugs that can affect a person’s ability to safely operate a vehicle. If you are taking medication, check the label for warnings prior to driving. If you are not sure if it is safe to take the drug and drive, ask a doctor about any side effects.
It’s important to know that mixing drugs and alcohol often multiplies their effects. For example, one drink, when you are taking allergy or cold medication could have the same effect as several drinks.
Driving while impaired by drugs is illegal and subject to the same penalties as driving while impaired by alcohol.
The Five Signs of Impairment
Under the influence of alcohol and drugs, drivers can experience:
- A slowed reaction time;
- Limited short-term memory functions;
- Decreased hand-eye coordination;
- Weakened concentration; and
- Difficulty perceiving time and distance.
Consequences of Driving Impaired
When you are under the influence, do not get behind the wheel. Consequences of driving impaired include, but are not limited to:
- Hurting yourself;
- Hurting others on the road;
- Getting arrested for DUI, which includes expensive fines, license revocation and jail time.
Always be safe and accountable behind the wheel.
There are many drugs that can affect a person’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. If you are taking medication, check the label for warnings prior to driving. If you are not sure if it is safe to take the drug and drive, ask a doctor or pharmacist about any side effects.
Penalties for DUI
For any DUI conviction, your driver license will be revoked for a minimum of 180 days. If you refuse to take a required roadside test at the time of arrest, your license will be automatically suspended for one year.
Fines for DUI can range from $500 to$5,000 with mandatory DUI school education. Penalties can also include an ignition interlock device, community service, probation or imprisonment. DUI convictions must remain on your record for 75 years.
Impaired Driving Poster – 8.5×11
Impaired Driving Poster – 11×17
Impaired Driving Poster – Alcohol – 8.5×11
Impaired Driving Poster – Alcohol – 11×17
Impaired Driving Poster – Marijuana – 8.5×11
Impaired Driving Poster – Marijuana – 11×17
Impaired Driving Poster – Prescription Medication – 8.5×11
Impaired Driving Poster – Prescription Medication – 11×17
Impaired Driving Computer Background
Impaired Driving Apple Watch Background
Impaired Driving Phone Background – 1125×2436
Impaired Driving Phone Background – 1334×750
Impaired Driving Phone Background – 1920×1080