Motor Vehicles, Tags & Titles
Disabled Person Parking Permits
Section 320.0848, Florida Statutes, provides the authorization for the issuance of disabled person parking permits for both long-term and short-term mobility impairments and those certified as legally blind by an optometrist. Permits may be issued to driver license and ID card holders.
Disabled person parking permits are issued in two categories:
Permanent – Persons with long-term mobility impairments, or who are certified as legally blind, qualify for a permanent disabled person parking permit or license plate. Permanent permits and license plates are valid for four years and must be renewed by the permit holder’s birthdate. There is no fee for this parking permit.
Temporary – Persons with short-term mobility impairments may receive a temporary disabled parking permit for up to six months as specified by a certifying medical authority. Temporary disabled person parking permits require a $15 fee. If the need for the temporary disabled person parking permit exceeds six months, an additional temporary permit may be issued. If the additional permit is applied for within 12 months from the issuance of the first permit, no additional fee is required.
Any person applying for a new permit or renewing or replacing their disabled person parking permit must provide form HSMV 83039, Application For Disabled Person Parking Permit, completed and signed by a certifying medical authority (see list below). The certifying medical authority must sign within 12 months prior to submitting the application. If you are replacing a permit that has been reported lost or stolen, you must also provide form HSMV 83146, Application for Replacement License Plate, Validation Decal or Parking Permit. Completed forms and other required documentation must be presented to a motor vehicle service center.
Certifying medical authorities include:
- A physician licensed under Chapter 458 medical practice, Chapter 459 osteopathic medicine or Chapter 460 chiropractic medicine;
- A podiatric physician licensed under Chapter 461;
- An optometrist licensed under Chapter 463 (sight only);
- An advanced practice registered nurse licensed under Chapter 464, under the protocol of a licensed physician as stated above;
- A physician assistant licensed under Chapter 458 or Chapter 459; or
- A similarly licensed physician from another state if the application is accompanied by documentation of the physician’s licensure in the other state and form HSMV 83039 signed by the out-of-state physician verifying his or her knowledge of this state’s eligibility guidelines.
Disabled person parking permits:
- Must only be used by the permit holder. The permit holder must have their Florida driver license or ID card on-hand when using the permit.
- Must be hung from the rear-view mirror, with the permit number visible from the front of the vehicle, when the vehicle is parked. The permit should not hang from the rear-view mirror when the vehicle is in motion.
- Must have a valid, yellow registration decal attached to both sides of the permit.
- Must display on one side, the permit holder’s driver license or ID card number, or the authorized organization’s FEID number.
Dave Kerner, Executive Director