Disabled Person Parking Permits
Wheelchair License Plate
Persons with long-term mobility impairments, or who are certified as legally blind, may request a wheelchair license plate be issued for a motor vehicle registered in their name, in lieu of receiving a permanent disabled persons parking permit. The fee for a wheelchair license plate is $28 in addition to other applicable registration fees.
Under section 320.084, Florida Statutes, veterans who are confirmed 100 percent disabled from a service-connected disability by a certifying medical authority are eligible for a disabled veteran (DV) license plate at no charge.
Wheelchair license plates must be renewed annually on the applicant’s birthdate. The long-term impairment must be proved at the initial application of the license plate by a certifying medical authority (see list below).
Wheelchair license plates may only be issued for use on the following types of vehicles.
- Automobiles for private use or lease.
- Trucks weighing 5,000 pounds or less.
- Automobiles, which seat fewer than nine passengers and are for hire.
- Motor homes or truck campers not for hire or commercial use.
- Heavy trucks with a gross vehicle weight of less than 8,000 pounds.
To obtain a wheelchair symbol license plate, customers must submit the following documents to a motor vehicle service center.
- Completed form HSMV 83007, Application for International Wheelchair License Plate, or form HSMV 83039, Application for Disabled Parking Permit.
- A copy of the vehicle registration certificate.
- Proof of identification with a Florida driver license or ID card.
- Proof of Florida insurance for the vehicle.
Certifying medical authorities include:
- A physician licensed under Chapter 458, Chapter 459 or Chapter 460;
- A podiatric physician licensed under Chapter 461;
- An optometrist licensed under Chapter 463 (sight only);
- An advanced practice registered nurse licensed under Chapter 464, under the protocol of a licensed physician as stated above;
- A physician assistant licensed under Chapter 458 or Chapter 459; or
- A similarly licensed physician from another state if the application is accompanied by documentation of the physician’s licensure in the other state and a form HSMV 83039 signed by the out-of-state physician verifying his or her knowledge of this state’s eligibility guidelines.
Dave Kerner, Executive Director