Troop Boundaries & Information

Troop I

Major Erick McGuire
Troop Commander
Contact Information

Captain Charles Smalley
Compliance Review
Contact Information

Captain Matthew Blansit
Panama City/Pensacola Office
Contact Information

Captain Bobby Cates
Ocala/Jacksonville Office
Contact Information

Captain Kevin Pace
Tallahassee/Lake City Office
Contact Information

Troop I Headquarters is currently located in Tallahassee, commanded by Major Erick McGuire. Troop I oversees commercial vehicle enforcement operations for Florida’s northern region encompassing Troops A, B, C, and H.

Troop I is separated into three districts: Panama City, Lake City, and Ocala. Panama City, which oversees Florida’s Panhandle is commanded by Captain Matthew Blansit. Lake City, which covers the “Big Bend”, is commanded by Captain Kevin Pace. Ocala, which covers the I-75 corridor, is commanded by Captain Bobby Cates.

Troop I is comprised of 133 sworn and 12 non-sworn members. Troop I strategic goals support the Florida Highway Patrol’s broad highway safety mission and troopers strive to save lives by reducing the number and severity of commercial motor vehicle involved traffic crashes and removing high risk motor carriers and drivers from Florida roadways. Troopers enforce provisions of Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations related to the operation of commercial motor vehicles and Florida laws focused on commercial vehicle load, size, weight, fuel tax, hazardous material safety, traffic regulations, driver licensing, and vehicle registrations.

Contact Information

Northern Region CVE
2900 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL 32399

Follow us on Social Media

Instagram – FHP Commercial Vehicle Enforcement

X – FHP Commercial Vehicle Enforcement

Additional Resources