Frequently Asked Questions for Manufacturers, Importers and Distributors

Manufacturers, Importers and Distributors of Recreational Vehicles Frequently Asked Questions

Seleccione aquí para Español

 

  • Are manufacturers, importers or distributors of recreational vehicles required to be licensed by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) in the state of Florida?

    Yes. Manufacturers, importers or distributors of recreational vehicles are required to be licensed by the DHSMV. Please see section 320.8225, Florida Statutes, for additional information.

  • (a) Is there an available checklist of documents to be submitted with an initial application for a recreational vehicle manufacturer, importer or distributor? (b) What is the licensing fee and can it be renewed biennially? (c) what is the licensing period?

    (a) Applicants must complete form 84256. A checklist of required documents is attached to the form.

    (b) The licensing fee is $300. Individuals may choose to extend the licensure period for one additional year for a total of two years for an additional fee of $100. The renewal license is $100 for a one year renewal or $200 for a two year renewal. Please see section 320.8225(3), Florida Statutes for additional information.

    (c) The licensing period for recreational vehicle manufacturers, importers and distributors is from October 1-September 30.

  • Is a recreational manufacturer required to be licensed by the DHSMV for each plant location?

    Yes. The recreational vehicle manufacturer must submit an application on form 84256 for each plant location to be licensed by the DHSMV. Please see section 320.8225, Florida Statutes, for additional information.

  • What is the surety bond amount requirement for a recreational vehicle manufacturer?

    All recreational vehicle manufacturer applicants must submit a surety bond for $10,000 with their application and a continuation bond annually at the time of renewal. Please see section 320.8225(5)(b), Florida Statutes, for additional information. Click here to access form 86051, surety bond form for recreational vehicle manufacturers.

  • Is a separate surety bond required for each licensed location of a recreational vehicle manufacturer?

    Yes. Separate surety bond is required for each licensed plant location. Please see section 320.8225(5)(b), Florida Statutes, for additional information.

  • Will the dealers that sell new recreational vehicles be expected to meet licensing requirements?

    Yes. Dealers must be licensed by the DHSMV to sell the appropriate line-make(s). Please see sections 320.3203 and 320.771, Florida Statutes, for additional information.

  • What is the process for establishing recreational vehicle dealers in the state of Florida to sell specific line-make(s)?

    The licensed manufacturer, importer or distributor must provide written notice to the DHSMV stating their intent to establish a new dealership for the sale of their line-make. The DHSMV will contact the dealer to complete the required documents for licensing. No recreational vehicles shall be distributed until this process is complete. Please see section 320.3203, Florida Statutes, for additional information.

    The address for manufacturers, importers or distributors to mail their written notice to establish or relocate a dealer is:  Dealer License Section, 2900 Apalachee Parkway, Neil Kirkman Building, Room A 312 MS 65, Tallahassee, Florida 32399.

  • Are manufacturers, importers or distributors of park models required to be licensed?

    Yes. Manufacturers, importers and distributors of park models are required to be licensed by the DHSMV. Park models are considered to be recreational vehicles in the state of Florida.  Applicants must complete form 84256. A checklist of required documents is attached to the form.  Please see sections 320.822(18)(b), 320.8231 and 320.8225, Florida Statutes, for additional information.

  • Are conversion companies that add living quarters required to be licensed as a manufacturer, importer or distributor?

    Yes. Conversion companies that add living quarters must meet the licensing requirements as a recreational vehicle manufacturer, importer or distributor. Applicants must complete form 84256. A checklist of required documents is attached to the form. Please see section 320.8225, Florida Statutes, for additional information. For example, horse trailers retrofitted with living quarters.

  • Is National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) registration required for a recreational vehicle manufacturer?

    Yes. Recreational vehicle manufacturers are required to register with the NHTSA as a manufacturer. This is a requirement as per the Code of Federal Regulations title 49 CFR parts 565, 566 and 567.  Title 49 CFR part 565 is for Vehicle Identification Number registration; Title 49 CFR part 566 is for Manufacturer Identification registration; and Title 49 CFR part 567 is for the label that is affixed on a vehicle that states that the vehicle meets the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards.

  • Does a recreational vehicle manufacturer, importer or distributor license allow a company to sell any line-make?

    No. A manufacturer, importer or distributor license allows the licensee to sell only the line-make(s) that have been approved. To add a line-make to a license, they must submit the required documents to the DHSMV for approval. A new license application and fee are not required for additional line-makes. Form 84256 provides a checklist for adding a line-make to a license.

  • Should the Manufacturers Statement of Origin (MSO) issued by conversion companies that add living quarters to trailers, state that it is a second stage MSO on the certificate?

    Yes. A second stage MSO must be issued by conversion companies that add living quarters to trailers, and must state that it is a second stage MSO on the certificate. A sample of first stage and second stage MSOs can be found with form 84256.

  • Are trailer manufacturers and dealers required to be licensed?

    The DHSMV does not license manufacturers, importers or distributors of trailers unless:

    • The trailers have living quarters which would classify them as a recreational vehicles; or
    • A person or entity sells more than 25 trailers in a 12-month period with each trailer weighing more than 2,000 pounds (requires an independent motor vehicle dealer license).  Dealer applicants must submit a completed form 86056 with required documents and fee of $300 to the local regional office for processing the license issuance for an independent motor vehicle dealer.   Please see sections 320.27 (1)(c)(5) and 319.20, Florida Statutes, for additional information.