Military & Veterans Information
Motor Vehicle Registrations
Motor vehicle registrations can be renewed up to three months prior to your birth expiration date. Registration renewals and address changes can be completed online at MyDMV Portal or by visiting a local motor vehicle service center.
Florida Residents Deployed Out-of-State
Florida residents deployed out-of-state are allowed to have out-of-state vehicle insurance if the vehicle is located out-of-state. To do this, and avoid a driver license suspension, please follow the instructions found in the Military Insurance Exemption Information and the Certificate for Florida Resident Who is an Active Duty U.S. Military Member Currently Stationed in a State Other Than Florida sections on pages 4 and 5 of the Military Forms Packet. Service members who choose to insure their vehicles(s) with insurance from another state are not eligible to renew online. This process can be completed in person or via mail at a motor vehicle service center.
For additional general information on insurance, please visit the department’s What is Insurance page.
As of October 1, 2018, when you purchase or register a motor vehicle qualifying for the Hope Scholarship Program in Florida, you may designate $105 per vehicle to an eligible nonprofit scholarship-funding organization participating in the program. If the state sales tax due is less than $105, you may designate the amount of state sales tax due. Your motor vehicle dealer, county tax collector, or private tag agent will remit your contribution to the organization and remit the remaining state sales tax and surtax to the Florida Department of Revenue. To make your contribution to the Hope Program, complete the following Hope Scholarship Contribution Election Form, which may be submitted by mail along with Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration and payment of sales tax.
Early Renewals: If your registration is scheduled to expire when you are deployed or stationed outside Florida, the department encourages you to renew before you deploy or move. Florida residents may renew a registration up to three months prior to the expiration date printed on the license. For insurance requirements, please visit the department’s What is Insurance? page.
Two-year renewals: You can avoid the worry and hassle of making sure your vehicle registration is renewed during your deployment by selecting the biennial option when you renew.
Online renewals: Renewals can be completed at your convenience, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week via MyDMV Portal or on the MyFlorida app which is available to be downloaded for free via iTunes and Google Play.
Out-of-State Residents Deployed in Florida
Stationed in Florida and wondering if you have to register your vehicle here? While you have the option to purchase a Florida license plate when stationed here, the United States Federal Code for the Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Relief Act of 1940 authorizes non-resident service members to display a current license plate from their home state, so you can keep your home state plate. However, non-resident service members stationed in Florida who wish to purchase a Florida license plate are eligible to claim a fee exemption. The service member claiming the exemption must complete and sign Initial Registration Fee Exemption Affidavit (HSMV form 82002) and bring it in to a local motor vehicle service center.
Florida National Guard Members
All active Florida National Guard members are eligible for one tax-free license plate registration or renewal each year. However, the fees for any plate other than the standard Florida plates are due when applicable. The qualifying guard member and their first sergeant or commanding officer must complete Form Application for Military Service Related License Plates (HSMV form 83030) and bring it in to a local motor vehicle service center annually.