Commercial Vehicle Enforcement

Recreational Vehicles

Florida statutes require that non commercial vehicle combinations consist of no more than two units and such combinations may not exceed a total length of 65 feet. section 316.515(3), Florida Statutes

Drivers of recreational vehicles are exempt from the requirement to obtain a commercial drivers license. section 322.53(2) (d), Florida Statutes

Florida statutes are available at: http://www.leg.state.fl.us

Maximum length diagram
65′ maximum length

Florida statute limits the overall length of a ‘motor home’ to 45 feet exclusive of bumpers and safety devices. section 316.515 (15), Florida Statutes

Florida statute limits the length of a ‘private motor coach’ to 50 feet, exclusive of safety devices. section 316.515 (9), Florida Statutes In combination, the vehicles’ overall length cannot exceed 65 feet and only one trailer can be towed. section 316.515(3), Florida Statutes

Florida statute limits the length of a’ travel trailer’ to no more than 40 feet. section 320.01 (1)(b)1, Florida Statutes

Florida statutes allow only one trailer to be towed. section 316.515(3), Florida Statutes


Commercial Vehicle Enforcement | Cargo Theft | Compliance Review | Domestic Security | Florida USDOT Number FAQ | Florida USDOT Number | Hours of Service Rules | Protesting a Commercial Vehicle Citation | Recreational Vehicles | Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Enforcement