Education & Courses
Driver Improvement Schools
- All course providers electronically report all Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV)-approved school completions to the FLHSMV. Please allow 24 to 72 hours for school completions to be posted.
- FLHSMV does not accept paper certificates for any licensing purpose.
- If a driver has been ordered by a court to attend a driver improvement school, they must notify the court once they have completed the school and also provide the necessary documentation to the court.
Commercial Driving Schools Providing Behind the Wheel Training
- Teaches new and or inexperienced drivers on rules of the road and behind-the-wheel skills for drivers of non-commercial vehicles such as cars, small trucks, SUV’s and vans in the company of a certified instructor. Prepares drivers to take the Class E skills exam.
- Provides the 4-hour behind the wheel training as part of the 3 crashes in 3 years per section 322.0261(1)(c), Florida Statutes
- For a list of schools, visit our Commercial Driving Schools Providing Behind the Wheel Training page.
Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE)
- All first-time drivers must take and pass the TLSAE course. Driver Education Licensing Assistance Program (DELAP)/high school driver education classes teach the drug and alcohol training and a successful DELAP student is exempt from having to take the TLSAE.
- The course provider will electronically submit course completion information to the FLHSMV, which will be accessible at all driver license issuing offices. A physical copy of the course completion certificate is not required when obtaining a license.
- Visit our TLSAE page to read more.
Three Crashes within Three Years
- Requires drivers who have been convicted of, or plead nolo contendere (no contest) to a third traffic offense that caused a crash within 36 months to complete a Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) approved driver improvement course.
- This course must include behind-the-wheel training and an assessment of driving ability.
- Visit our Three Crashes in within Three Years page to read more.
Basic Driver Improvement Course
- If a driver receives a non-criminal moving violation and does not have a commercial driver license, they may elect to attend a FLHSMV-approved basic driver improvement school once every 12 months or a total of five times within their lifetime.
- Drivers must voluntarily elect to attend basic driver improvement school within 30 days of the traffic citation. If an election is not made, their right to elect school is forfeited and points are assessed.
- Within the 30-day window, the driver must pay the fine and fees for the traffic citation. Upon payment, drivers should also notify the court if they are electing to attend basic driver improvement school. If the fee is not paid within 30 days, their license will be suspended for failure to pay.
- Drivers must complete the traffic school course within the court-required time period. If the court-required time is not met, their license will be suspended for failing to attend course.
- Drivers must provide required proof of course completion and documentation of the paid fines and fees to the court. It is the driver’s responsibility to meet the court reporting requirements.
- Visit our Basic Driver Improvement Course page to read more.
Mandatory School Requirements
Drivers with a valid Florida driver license who have been convicted of the following offenses in Florida per section 322.0261, Florida Statutes or in another state (sections 322.24 and 322.44, Florida Statutes), are required to attend a basic driver improvement course.
- Offenses include:
- Failure to obey a traffic control signal;
- Failure to obey a steady red light;
- Failure to stop for a school bus;
- Racing on the highway;
- Racing on the highway – spectator; and
- Reckless driving.
Drivers have 90 days from the citation date to complete the required school or the driving privilege will be canceled. The license will remain canceled until the school requirement is completed.
Advanced Driver Improvement Course
- Drivers must complete an Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) course if their driver license was suspended in Florida for accumulation of points, as a habitual traffic offender (non-DUI related), or by court order.
- To be suspended for points, a driver accumulates:
- 12 points within 12 months (30 day suspension);
- 18 points within 18 months (3 month suspension); or
- 24 points within 36 months (1 year suspension).
- Visit our Advanced Driver Improvement Course page to read more.
Wireless Communications Device Course
- If a driver receives a citation while using a wireless communications device in a handheld manner in a school or work zone, they may elect to attend a FLHSMV wireless communications device course.
- For a first offense a driver may choose to participate in a wireless communications device safety program to avoid fines, fees and the assessment of points.
- Drivers must provide proof of course completion and documentation to the court in the county where they received the citation. It is the driver’s responsibility to meet the court reporting requirements.
- Click here to read more about Wireless Communications Device Courses.
Third Party Driver License Knowledge Exams
The driver license knowledge exams can be taken through FLHSMV-approved third-party providers. Students of all ages may take the knowledge exams with a provider in an in-person, proctored setting. Students under 18 years of age may take the knowledge exam online, which must be proctored by a parent or legal guardian.
IMPORTANT: There is a license issuance fee for the learners license credential (card).
Upon completion of a driver license exam through an approved provider, completion information is automatically submitted by the provider to FLHSMV, and this information is available at all driver license/tax collector offices.
Pursuant to section 322.56(3)(b)(e), Florida Statutes, a customer who pass the learner license exam(s) through an approved provider may be randomly selected for a no-fee, mandatory re-test without prior notice. Once a re-test with a passing score is completed in a driver license or tax collector office, the learner license will be issued. A failed mandatory re-test will require a re-exam fee be collected at the next exam attempt.
Mature Driver Discount Course
- Drivers who are 55 years of age or older can complete a Mature Driver (Senior Citizen) Discount course that is approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). Upon successful completion of the course, the driver can provide the completion certificate to their insurance company for an insurance discount. The amount of the discount is at the discretion of each insurance company and will typically last for three years as long as the driver:
- Is not involved in a crash for which the insured is cited; and
- Is neither convicted, nor pleads guilty or nolo contendere (no contest) to a moving violation.
- Visit our Mature Driving Discount Course page to read more.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Visit our Frequently Asked Questions page for more information.