Driver Improvement Schools

What is Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) and how do I find the approved listing of BDI course providers?

Seleccione aquí para Español

In order to qualify for a Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course to eliminate the assessment of points, drivers must voluntarily elect this option within 30 days (section 318.14 (4), Florida Statutes) from the citation date and, prior to attending the course, drivers must inform the clerk of court in the county where the citation was issued of this election. Drivers must also pay an election fee to the clerk of court in the county where the citation was issued. Drivers may not elect to take the BDI, in lieu of points, after the initial 30-day period from the citation date.

Drivers are required to complete a course approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), and may contact the approved  BDI course provider to register for the course.

Options for satisfying a traffic citation will be listed on the back of the citation. Drivers are required to choose one of the three options within 30 days of the citation date.

A BDI course is mandatory when cited for one of the following reasons:

  • Electing to attend BDI school instead of having points assessed from a citation;
  • Drivers who were cited for a crash in which they were found at fault and resulted in anyone being transported to the hospital;
  • Drivers with two crashes within a two-year period that resulted in property damage greater than $500; or
  • Drivers who were convicted of one of the following (in Florida or in another state while they held a Florida driver license):
    • Passing a school bus when it displayed a stopped signal;
    • Racing on a highway;
    • Highway racing – spectator;
    • Reckless driving; or
    • Running a red light.

If, as a result of a moving violation, a driver elects to attend and complete a BDI course, he/she will receive the following benefits:

  • Points may not be added to the driver license record and adjudication of guilt is withheld. Drivers may not make an election to attend a BDI course if they have:
    • Made an election to attend a BDI course in the preceding 12 months;
    • Made five elections in a lifetime;
    • A Commercial Driver License (CDL); or
    • Been cited for going 30 mph above the posted speed limit.
  • Civil penalty (Fine) will be reduced
  • Insurance companies cannot impose or request an additional premium, cancel a policy, or issue a non-renewal notice on any insurance policy or contract because of any traffic infraction when adjudication has been withheld and no points have been assessed for a traffic infraction unless the traffic infraction involved a traffic crash in which the insurer was at fault and the insurance company incurred a loss.


The Point System

Points are assessed for moving violations where an adjudication of guilt is found, which can cause the loss or restriction of driving privileges. If too many points are accumulated during a certain period of time (12 points within 12 months, 18 points within 18 months or 24 points within 36 months), your license will be suspended.

If you choose to pay the civil penalty or are adjudicated guilty by a judge, your driver record will be assessed as follows:
Moving Violations3 points
Speeding 15 m.p.h or less over posted speed3 points
Speeding more than 15 m.p.h. over posted speeds4 points
Passing stopped school bus4 points
Moving violation (non-speeding) resulting in an crash4 points
Unlawful speed resulting in a crash6 points
Reckless driving (criminal traffic violation)4 points
Leaving scene of crash with damage6 points
Littering3 points
Violation of child restraint laws3 points


Drivers 15–17 Years of Age

Drivers with a Florida learner’s license must hold it for at least 12 months without receiving a traffic conviction before they can apply for a Florida Class E driver license. Drivers may avoid conviction by electing to complete a BDI course approved by the FLHSMV.

Any driver under the age of 18 who accumulates six or more points within a 12 month period is automatically restricted to driving for “Business Purposes Only” for one year.  If additional points are accumulated, the restriction is extended by 90 days for every additional point received.


Approved BDI Course Providers

NameDelivery MethodContact Information
(Miami-Dade Citations Only)
Provider's Website
Miscrianti (Miami-Dade County Citations Only)Internet415-800-1906
Provider's Website
FLORIDA FUN TRAFFIC SCHOOLClassroom, Internet, DVD, Booklet866-455-8054
Provider's Website
Comedy Driving Traffic SchoolClassroom, Internet866-357-2020
Provider's Website
American Safety Institute, Inc.Classroom, Internet, DVD800-800-7121
Provider's Website
BEST PRICE TRAFFIC SCHOOLClassroom, Internet888-810-0119
Provider's Website
Florida Educational Driving SchoolClassroom, Internet888-497-1755
Provider's Website
1SafeDriver.comClassroom, Internet888-750-6400
Provider's Website LLCInternet888-237-5669
Provider's Website
Highway Traffic School
(Miami-Dade County Citations Only)
Provider's Website
WISE TRAFFIC SCHOOLInternet877-885-8843
Provider's Website
(Miami Dade county Citations Only)
Provider's Website
National Highway Safety Administration
(Miami-Dade County Citations Only)
Internet (Additional Languages Available)800-829-3727
Provider's Website
FUNNY IN FLORIDAClassroom, Internet, DVD, Booklet
(Additional Languages Available)
Provider's Website
Metro Traffic SchoolClassroom800-901-3687
Provider's Website
National Safety CouncilInternet800-237-0676
Provider's Website
Florida Safety CouncilClassroom, Internet800-372-3335
Provider's Website, Inc.Internet800-991-0310
Provider's Website
Funny Driving LLC (Orange and Osceola County Citations Only)Internet
Provider's Website
Dummies Traffic School .comInternet877-382-3700
Provider's Website
$15 Florida BDI (Miami/Dade County Only)Internet844-812-8512
Provider's Website
LOWEST PRICE TRAFFIC SCHOOLClassroom, Internet800-729-1495
Provider's Website
I DRIVE SAFELYInternet, Classroom800-723-1955
Provider's Website
Traffic School Online.comInternet800-800-3579
Provider's Website
U-Drive SafeClassroom850-461-3723
Provider's Website
Traffic Safety ConsultantsInternet800-998-8533
Provider's Website
Defensive Drivers Discount
(Broward County Citations Only)
Classroom877-697-2331, ext. 1
Provider's Website
Provider's Website
DriveSafe Inc.Internet866-544-2732
Provider's Website
Online Traffic Education
(Orange and Osceola County Citations Only)
Provider's Website
National Traffic Safety Institute - NTSI Corp.Classroom, Internet
(Additional Languages Available)
Provider's Website
Comedy Defensive DrivingClassroom, Internet866-540-0584
Provider's Website
Driver Training Associates, IncClassroom, Internet
(Additional Languages Available)
Provider's Website
(Hillsborough County Citations Only)
Internet (Additional Languages Available)813-602-1555
Provider's Website
Traffic School by The Improv Comedy ClubInternet (Additional Languages Available)800-660-8908
Provider's Website
American Safety CouncilClassroom, Internet, DVD800-732-4135
Provider's Website
Gold Traffic School
(Miami-Dade County Citations Only)
Provider's Website