Driver Improvement Schools
What are 3 crashes in 3 years and how do I complete this requirement?
Section 322.0261(1)(c), Florida Statutes, requires drivers who have been convicted of, or plead nolo contendere (no contest) to a third traffic offense that caused a crash within 36 months to complete a Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) approved driver improvement course. This course must include behind-the-wheel training and an assessment of driving ability.
Drivers who were at fault in three crashes within a three-year time period, are required to:
- Complete 12 hours within an approved FLHSMV Advanced Driver Improvement course.
- Complete four hours of behind-the-wheel training from a FLHSMV-approved, Florida licensed commercial driving school (CDS).
- Pass an extended road test with a driver license examiner or tax collector licensing agent.
Failure to complete these requirements within 90 days of the conviction will result in a license cancellation.
Please note: Additional crashes will result in more requirements and penalties.