Commercial Driver License Third Party Testing

Third Party Administrator Insurance Requirements

Seleccione aquí para Español

All Third Party Administrators who are not entities of state or local government or public school districts must provide proof of the following:

  1. Commercial Automobile Liability: The Third Party Administrator shall secure and maintain Commercial Automobile Liability insurance on all vehicles owned or leased by the Third Party Administrator and used for testing applicants.
    • This insurance shall include hired and non-owned Liability coverage for all claims that may arise from all operations under the signed Third Party Administrator Agreement with DHSMV, whether such operations are by the Third Party Administrator or its agents, Third Party Testers, other workers or applicants using the vehicle at the time of administering a test.
    • The coverage shall provide the following minimum liability limits:
      • $1,000,000 Automobile Liability combined Single Limits to include Personal Injury Protection (PIP) / Property Damage Liability (PDL)/Bodily Injury Liability (BIL); and
      • $750,000 Hired & Non-owned Liability
    • Other Vehicles: If the Third Party Administrator permits its Third Party Tester(s) to use applicant vehicles for conducting road tests, it must ensure prior to the test that each such vehicle is in compliance with the Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law, and has the required coverage of $10,000 for PIP and $10,000 PDL coverage as required by section 324.021(7), Florida Statutes.
  2. Commercial General Liability: The Third Party Administrator shall secure and maintain Commercial General Liability insurance for products and completed operations, for the term of the signed Third Party Administrator Agreement with DHSMV.
    • This insurance will provide coverage for all claims that may arise from operations performed under the signed Third Party Administrator Agreement with DHSMV by the Third Party Administrator, Third Party Tester(s) or other agents or workers.
    • The insurance shall indemnify DHSMV and must include the state of Florida as an additional named insured for the term of the signed Third Party Administrator Agreement with DHSMV.
    • The policy shall provide the following minimum liability limits:
      • $1,000,000 each occurrence
      • $2,000,000 aggregate
  3. Workers’ Compensation: The Third Party Administrator shall secure and maintain Workers’ Compensation Insurance for all of its employees working in connection with the signed Third Party Administrator Agreement with DHSMV unless exempted by state law.
    • This coverage must be maintained throughout the term of the signed Third Party Administrator Agreement with DHSMV.
    • The policy shall provide the following minimum liability limits:
      • $100,000 each accident
      • $500,000 policy limit
      • $100,000 each worker