Authorized Service Providers
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the difference between ETR and EFS?
Electronic Temporary Registration (ETR) provides a method to issue a temporary license plate (or tag) or an electronic temporary plate transfer. Electronic Filing System (EFS) allows authorized EFS agents to process title and registration transactions for products they sell in addition to temporary tags or temporary transfers.
Is participation mandatory?
Yes; effective July 1, 2008, ALL Florida dealers must issue electronic temporary registrations for vehicles they sell from their licensed location. ETR is mandatory for all department-authorized issuers of temporary license plates (i.e. dealers, tax collectors, etc.). It also requires that the temporary license plate be issued using a print-on-demand process.
What happens if I try to update the record and the department's computer system is down?
An offline process is in place that will enable temporary license plates to be issued and electronic submission to be reported within 1-business day excluding holidays and weekends.
What are the costs involved?
The costs to participate in this program will depend on the vendor you choose.
What kind of equipment do I need?
You will need a computer, internet access, access to your vendor, a printer, and temporary license plate stock.
Will STOPS (Drivers Licenses, Tickets) affect the issuance of temporary tags?
Is the accounting for a second temporary plate done by deal, by VIN or other? Meaning if the client returns the first car, on a Temp Tag, and then selects another car can the second vehicle then receive two temporary tags if necessary?
We will not allow the same customer to get more than 2 temporary plates for the same vehicle.
Will the dealer be completely restricted from registering temporary tags to a vehicle for which they do not have the title?
A dealer should not sell a vehicle without the title.
What restrictions, if any, are placed on the timing of issuance of a temporary tag and a permanent plate for the same vehicle?
A temporary plate is issued for 30 days. A permanent plate may be issued at any time during the 30 days or even after. However, once a metal plate is issued the temporary plate becomes invalid in our database.
In addition to the $2.00 fee the dealer collects for the state, is there a state approved fee that the dealer can pass on for a print on demand temp tag? How should the dealer account for the $2.00 tag fee and the vendor fee? (on the Buyers Order)
There is no state approved fee beyond the $2.00 (and the $2.50 service charge if processing through a tag agency). These state approved fees can be included in the state assessed title and registration fees. Dealers are authorized by statute to charge an additional fee for print on demand temporary tags. The dealer may account for the additional fee as it chooses; however, such a fee must not be represented as a fee collected for the state.
What are the Florida Statutes and Rules which require criminal history checks?
Sections 320.131(8) F.S., authorize the Department to adopt rules for the administration of the ETR system. Section 320.03(10), Florida Statutes authorizes the Department to adopt rules for administration of the EFS. The Department adopted the following rules, which require a criminal history check by any principal or authorized user of either system:
ETR – Rule 15C-16.006(2), Florida Administrative Code
EFS – Rule 15C-15.010(1), Florida Administrative Code
Who is required to have a criminal history check?
All principals and authorized users of the EFS and ETR systems must have a Level 1 criminal history check.
How do I perform a criminal history check?
The criminal history checks are to be obtained BY THE DEALER through the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE). Criminal history checks must be done for all principals and any users of either the EFS or ETR systems. You can find more information by visiting the FDLE website at www.fdle.state.fl.us or by clicking on the following link: FDLE Obtaining Criminal History.
When do I need to have the criminal history screening completed by?
The criminal history screening must be performed by the DEALER for all principals and authorized users through the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and completed before any users will be granted access to the ETR or EFS information systems. Please consult with your ETR Vendors and EFS Certified Service Provider for details.
I have employees that have criminal records. Can they use the EFS or ETR system?
Rule 15C-16.010(1)(f), F.A.C states:
The entity’s principal and all prospective users of the system must have no convictions involving a felony for the last 7 years except as provided in Section 112.011(1)(b), F.S. Regardless of the passage of time since the conviction and notwithstanding restoration of civil rights, anyone convicted of a felony involving dishonesty, including but not limited to identify theft, embezzlement or other economic crimes is not eligible to become an EFS agent or have access to an EFS agent’s system. This does not include any felony convictions involving the actual operation of a motor vehicle. For more information about EFS agent participation requirements, please refer to Rule 15C-16.010(1)(f), F.A.C.
Rule 15C-16.006(2), F.A.C. states:
A dealer must provide verification to the ETR provider that criminal history checks are performed on all principals or prospective users and meet the requirements set forth in this rule prior to the ETR provider allowing access to the system and registering authorized users. The dealer’s principals or prospective users must have no convictions involving a felony for the last 7 years except as provided in Section 112.011(1)(b), F.S. Regardless of the passage of time since the conviction and notwithstanding restoration of civil rights, anyone convicted of a felony involving dishonesty, including but not limited to, identity fraud, embezzlement or other economic crimes is not eligible to be granted authorization to use the ETR system. For more information about dealer requirements, please refer to Rule 15C-16.006(2), F.A.C.
What happens if an approved agent allows an unauthorized user access to the system(s)?
Only authorized users who have completed the Level 1 criminal history check are permitted to access the EFS or ETR system.
EFS Rule 15C-16.013, F.A.C. and ETR Rule 15C-16.005, F.A.C. detail the enforcement authority for any failure to comply with the rules.
I received my license in April of this year. I'm the only person who does the ETR work. Since I had a criminal history report done to get my license, do I need to do another one for this new policy?
If you’ve had a Level 1 criminal history check within the last 3 years and have a current license, you do not need another criminal history check. In the future, if you add personnel who will require access to either the ETR or EFS system, they will be required to have the Level 1 criminal history check prior to being given access to the system.
What should an entity or dealer do with the criminal history check once the dealer receives it back from the Florida Department of Law Enforcement?
The dealer should keep copies of the criminal history screening in their records for a period of five fiscal years. 15C-16.004(4)(F). The ETR vendor or EFS Certified Service Provider is required to verify that all principals and authorized users have had the criminal history check.
Dave Kerner, Executive Director