Size and Permit Enforcement
If your vehicle, or vehicle and load, is determined to be oversize without a valid permit, Florida law provides for a penalty not to exceed $1,000 per violation for width, height, or length, based on the number of feet, or portion of a foot, over the legal width, height, and/or length of the vehicle. If your vehicle, or vehicle and load is determined to be overweight without a valid permit, Florida law provides for a penalty of $.05 per pound for all weight over the legal weight for the vehicle. An overweight/oversize permit is required to move a vehicle or combination of vehicles (including load) of a size or weight that exceeds the maximum size or weight established by law over state highways. These permits may be obtained from the Florida Department of Transportation Permits Office.
Florida Department of Transportation Permits
Except for certain vehicles exempted by law, any vehicle which exceeds the following size or weight limitations will not be allowed to move without a permit:
- If maximum WIDTH of vehicle or vehicle combination and load exceeds 102″ or exceeds 96″ on less than 12′ wide travel lane.
- If maximum HEIGHT of vehicle or vehicle combination and load exceeds 13’6″ or 14’ for automobile transporters.
- If maximum LENGTH of
- Single-unit vehicle exceeds 40′
- Truck Tractor with semi-trailer which exceeds 48′ with a kingpin distance which exceeds 41′, measured from the center of the rear axle, or group of axles, to the center of the kingpin of the fifth wheel connection
- Straight Truck with trailer when the combination exceeds 68′
- Truck Tractors hauling automobiles with semi-trailer exceeding 50′ as a qualifying auto transporter (able to transport automobiles on the power unit) when the exceptions in section 316.515, Florida Statutes are exceeded
- Front end overhang exceeds 3′
- If gross WEIGHT of vehicle or vehicle combination and load exceeds the legal limits established in section 316.535, Florida Statutes.
A trip permit can be issued to cover a move from a single point of departure to a single destination. This permit allows the hauler ten days to make the single trip. A blanket permit can be issued to cover multiple trips for a period of time not to exceed 12 months.
Please see Florida Administrative Code 14-24 for the safety regulations and permit fees for overweight and overdimensional vehicles.
Dave Kerner, Executive Director