International Registration Plan (IRP)
Florida is a member of the International Plan. The International Registration Plan (IRP) is a reciprocal agreement that authorizes the proportional registration among the jurisdictions (states) of commercial motor vehicles. The IRP is a reciprocal agreement which serves to promote and encourage the fullest possible use of the highway system by authorizing the proportional registration of Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMV), and the recognition of CMVs proportionally registered in other states and Canadian provinces, which are referred to as jurisdictions. The purpose of the IRP is to allow you to purchase only one license plate which registers your vehicle in all member jurisdictions in which you declare that you will be operating. All CMVs based in Florida and engaged in interstate commerce are required to be registered under the provisions of the IRP and must display apportioned license plates. Section 320.01, Florida Statutes defines an Apportionable Vehicle as:
- Any vehicle which is not owned or operated by a governmental entity, which uses special fuel or motor fuel on the public highways, and which has a gross weight which exceeds 26,000 pounds; or
- Has 3 or more axles, regardless of weight; or
- Is a power unit and trailer with a combined gross vehicle weight which exceeds 26,000 pounds.
To qualify as a Florida-based apportionable vehicle:
- The vehicle must be a part of a declared fleet that operates or intends to operate in Florida and at least one other IRP jurisdiction transporting persons or property; and
- The carrier must have an established place of business in Florida. Mileage must be accrued in Florida by the fleet and operational records of the fleet must be maintained or made available in Florida.
A Trip Permit is required for all out-of-state registered vehicles eligible for apportioned registration, but not apportioned with Florida. This permit should be obtained prior to entry into the state and must remain with the vehicle while in Florida. A duplicate or photocopy is not acceptable. This permit is valid for 10 days for a fee of $30 (plus wire service fees) and is available through the various wire services. The permit allows interstate and intrastate operation in Florida. Florida-based carriers not apportioned to travel in another IRP jurisdiction must contact that jurisdiction to obtain any needed Trip Permit and information regarding other requirements for operation.
If your truck is not registered with this state or for this state with any other IRP jurisdiction, or the registration is found to be expired, or the vehicle is improperly registered, Florida law requires a penalty assessment of $.05 per pound for all weight over 10,000 pounds, except loaded truck tractor-semitrailer and tandem trailer combinations, which will be assessed for all weight over 35,000 pounds. When the registered declared gross vehicle weight for your truck is exceeded, a penalty of $.05 per pound will be assessed for all weight over the registered gross vehicle weight.
International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA)
Florida is a member of the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA). IFTA is a base-state fuel tax agreement. Upon application, the carrier’s base jurisdiction will issue credentials (license and decals), which will allow the IFTA licensee to travel in all participating member jurisdictions. Florida is your base jurisdiction for IFTA licensing and reporting if:
- You have an established place of business in Florida from which motor carrier operations are performed
- You maintain the operational control and records for qualified motor vehicles in Florida or can make those records available in Florida
- You have qualified motor vehicles which actually travel on Florida highways
- You operate in at least one other IFTA jurisdiction
All states in the continental United States and most of the Canadian provinces are members of IFTA. Carriers based in one of those jurisdictions would still need to obtain Florida Fuel Use Decals or Temporary Fuel Use Permits before operating in the State of Florida. All qualified motor vehicles licensed in Florida and engaged in interstate commerce in at least one other member jurisdiction must license under IFTA. A qualified motor vehicle is a motor vehicle that is used, designed, or maintained for the transportation of persons or property, and:
- Having two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds
- Having three or more axles regardless of weight
- Used in combination when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight
IFTA exempts the following vehicles from registration:
- Government-owned vehicles
- Recreational vehicles not used in connection with any business endeavor.
If a carrier is found operating a qualified motor vehicle without an IFTA license, the vehicle operator may be subject to the purchase of a $45 emergency fuel permit and a $50 penalty. Failure to properly display the IFTA decals may subject the vehicle operator to the purchase of a $45 emergency fuel permit and a $50 penalty.
Florida Trip and Fuel Permits
Effective November 1, 2021, Florida Temporary Trip and Fuel Permits will be issued only by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles through its Commercial Vehicle Permit Portal located at https://vendorservices.flhsmv.gov/IcfsPermits. The Portal may also be found by going to https://www.flhsmv.gov/ and searching for trip or fuel permits. The Portal will be available beginning on October 28th. After October 31st the Department will no longer utilize designated authorized agents to issue such permits on behalf of the State of Florida.
Information about Florida trip and Fuel Permits may be obtained by contacting the Bureau of Commercial Vehicle and Driver Services at (850) 617-3711 weekdays from 8-4:30.
Florida Straight Plate
If you are operating your commercial motor vehicle solely in Florida, an IRP and IFTA will not be required. You can purchase your tag at your local tax collector’s office.