License Plates & Registration

Voluntary Contributions

Seleccione aquí para Español

After a voluntary contribution is approved by the legislature, it will be included on the motor vehicle and/or driver license renewal notice.  Below, you will find a list of all voluntary contribution programs:

 

AVAILABLE MOTOR VEHICLE VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS

Autism Programs

Auto Club Group Traffic Safety Foundation

Blind Babies and Blind Youth Services

Child Safety Seat Fund

Children’s Hearing Help Fund

End Breast Cancer

End Hunger

Family First

Florida Sheriffs Youth Ranches

Help the Homeless

League Against Cancer/La Liga Contra el Cancer (League Against Cancer only is acceptable)

Manatee Fund

Mothers Against Drunk Drivers (MADD is acceptable)

Organ and Tissue Donor Education

Prevent Blindness Florida

Prevent Child Abuse

Prevent Child Sexual Abuse

Ronald McDonald House

Southeastern Guide Dogs, Inc.

State Home for Veterans Trust Fund

Stop Heart Disease

Support Our Troops

Support Wildlife

Take Stock In Children

The Arc of Florida

Transportation Disadvantaged

Turtle Fund

 

AVAILABLE DRIVER LICENSE VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS

Autism Programs

Auto Club Group Traffic Safety Foundation

Children’s Hearing Help Fund

Disabled American Veterans

End Breast Cancer

Family First

Florida Council of the Blind

Hearing Research Institute

Help the Homeless

Juvenile Diabetes Research

League Against Cancer/La Liga Contra el Cancer

Organ and Tissue Donor Education

Prevent Blindness Florida

Prevent Child Sexual Abuse

Ronald McDonald House

Senior Vision Services

State Home for Veterans Trust Fund

Stop Heart Disease

Support Our Troops

The Arc of Florida

 

How to Establish a Voluntary Contribution Organization

Legislation must be enacted into law before a voluntary contribution can be added to the motor vehicle registration or driver license renewal notice.  Listed below are the requirements to create a voluntary contribution.  They are the same for motor vehicle and driver license.  The application fee is $10,000 for motor vehicle registration renewal notices and $10,000 for driver license renewal notices.

  1. A letter of request for the proposed voluntary trust fund fees describing the voluntary contribution.  The letter must include:
    • Name, and address of the organization requesting the trust fund.
    • Name, address, and telephone number for the contact person.
    • Specify the minimum amount of the proposed amount to be collected by the individual.
    • The name of the recipient of funds; if the recipient will make redistribution, that organization must also be identified.
  2. Specify the use of the trust fund.
  3. An application fee of $10,000 ($20,000 for both) payable to the Division of Motorist Services to defray the department’s cost for reviewing the application and developing the voluntary contribution. State funds may not be used by any organization to pay the application fee.  If the voluntary fee requested by the organization is not approved by the legislature, the application fee shall be refunded.
  4. A marketing strategy outlining short-term and long-term marketing plans and a financial analysis outlining the anticipated revenues and the planned expenditures of the revenues.
  5. Submit proof that the organization is operating under the Solicitation of Contributions Act, if required by chapter 496, before funds may be distributed.

These application requirements must be submitted at least 90 days before the convening of the next regular session of the legislature.

If you have any questions, please contact SpecialtyLicensePlateUnit@flhsmv.gov or 850-617-3001.

 

Organization Auditing

Any organization expending less than $750,000 of state funds, no matter if the funds are received from one or more state agencies for different purposes, within a fiscal year must submit an annual compliance affidavit. Pursuant to section 320.08062, Florida Statutes the annual affidavit shall be submitted to the department at the below address within nine months after the end of the organization’s fiscal year.

Any organization expending more than $750,000 of state funds, no matter if the funds are received from one or more state agencies for different purposes, within a fiscal year should have a Florida Single Audit performed by a CPA pursuant to section 215.97, Florida Statutes. Copies of the single audit report package must be submitted to the Auditor General and to the department at the below address within 45 days after delivery of the audit to the entity, but no later than nine months after the end of the entity’s fiscal year.

Click here to see procedures and requirements for the use of funds.