Member Recognition

2013 Trooper of the Year

Sgt. Feola, Tpr. Ivey with Governor Scott, Cabinet and FHP Exec. Staff

Trooper of the Year  Awarded to Two of Florida’s Finest

The Florida Cabinet, honored Sergeant Alvaro Feola and Trooper Robert Ivey as the Florida Highway Patrol’s 2013 Troopers of the Year.

On January 14, 2012, Feola and Ivey responded to a traffic crash that occurred on the Florida Turnpike in St. Lucie County. When they arrived at the scene, they found a driver trapped inside a vehicle that was on fire. As the vehicle was filling up with smoke, Feola was able to break out out a window of the vehicle and Ivey proceeded to enter the smoke-filled car and cut the seat belt, freeing the driver. Both Troopers then pulled the driver from the burning vehicle and to a safe location. Within seconds of dragging the driver out of the vehicle, the vehicle became fully engulfed. Without their quick response and decisive actions, there could have been grave consequences.