Licensing Requirements for Teens, Graduated Driver License Laws and Driving Curfews
Required Forms for Teens
Requirements for Minors Obtaining a Florida Driver License
The following forms are required to be completed in order for a teen to obtain a learner’s and/or driver license in Florida.
Parent/Guardian On-line Test Proctoring Form (71144) must be completed if the minor child completed the Class E Knowledge Exam online through a third party administrator. This form must be completed and signed in the presence of a driver license examiner, or notarized if parent or guardian will not be present.
Padres Supervisando En-Lina Evaluacion de Licencia de Conduccion A Un Menor (71144SP) supervisión del Padre de la Prueba en línea del CARNET de conducir de un menor de edad.
Parental Consent Form (71142) for a minor child to obtain a learner’s license. (Step-parents may not sign unless they have legally adopted the minor child.)
Formulario A de Consentimiento Paterno (71142SP) bajo 18 años – para una aplicacion de conductor de un menor.
NOTE: Customers under age 18 who are not married must have their parent or legal guardian sign their license application in front of the driver license examiner/agent or a notary public.* Married minors must show certified marriage certificate. Emancipated minors must show certified court order.
The parent or legal guardian who signs the application agrees to take responsibility for the minor’s driving. If the signer decides to rescind responsibility, the minor’s license will be canceled. To cancel the license, the signer must write a letter to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles requesting to withdraw their consent for the minor driver. The statement must include the minor driver’s complete name, date of birth and driver license number. Mail or fax statement to:
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Bureau of Motorist Compliance
Division of Motorist Services
2900 Apalachee Parkway
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0575
Fax Number: (850) 617-3939
*A foster parent, authorized representative of a residential group home or a guardian ad litem may sign for the minor if the minor is enrolled in licensed out-of-home care.
Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form (71143) for a minor child to obtain a driver license. This form must be completed and signed in the presence of a driver license examiner, or notarized if parent or guardian or other responsible adult over the age of 21 will not be present. This certifies that the minor driver has at least 50 hours of driving experience, of which 10 hours were at night.
Formulario B de Consentimiento Paterno (71143SP) bajo 18 años – Certificaciòn de la experiencia de conducciòn de un menor de edad.