DUI and IID
Ignition Interlock Program
Disclaimer: This summary was prepared by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) and should be used for reference only. Please refer to the full text of any laws referenced below for complete and comprehensive legal information.
Section 316.193, Florida Statutes, mandates ignition interlock devices (IID) be installed on the vehicles of certain persons convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI).
The IID program affects those arrested and convicted of DUI after July 1, 2002, upon eligibility for reinstatement of a permanent or restricted driver license. The IID is also required when a driver convicted of DUI applies for a restricted license for work or business purposes, as authorized in section 322.271, Florida Statutes.
If a person is otherwise eligible, a driver license will be issued with a “P” restriction indicating an IID is required. The required time period for an IID begins on the day the “P” restriction is issued.
FLHSMV-Approved IID Service Providers
Drivers who are required to install an IID must contact one of the following providers for installation. The service providers listed below meet the requirements provided in 15A-9.007, F.A.C., the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Standards, and section 316.1938, Florida Statutes.
|Contracted Provider||Contact Information||Approved Devices|
|Model #: AMS 2000|
|Model #: L250|
|Model #: SSI 2030|
|Model #: Alcolock LR|
|Low Cost Interlock, Inc||844-276-0554|
|Model #: LCI-777|
|Model #: 1001A|
|Draeger - Nationwide Interlock||866-694-6099|
|Model #: Draeger Interlock 7000|
Court Reporting Requirements
Most courts electronically report DUI convictions to the FLHSMV. The court order should reflect both the time of the suspension and the IID requirement. Please verify with the clerk of court that the court’s electronic reporting includes this IID requirement.
If the court determines that the convicted person is unable to pay for the installation of the IID, the court may order that a portion of the fine paid by the person for a violation of section 316.193, Florida Statutes, be allocated to defray the cost of installation.
When an IID is Required
Section 316.193, Florida Statutes, requires an IID to be installed in the vehicle(s) of certain persons convicted of DUI, as indicated by the chart below.
|DUI Conviction||Ignition Interlock Required|
|First Conviction||If court ordered|
|First Conviction if BAL is 0.15 or above, or minor in car||At least 6 months|
|Second Conviction||At least 1 year|
|Second Conviction if BAL is 0.15 or above, or minor in car||At least 2 years|
|Third Conviction||At least 2 years|
|Four of More Convictions (Condition of Hardship License)||At least 5 years|