no-fault insurance law requires vehicle owners to carry at least $10,000
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 Property Damage Liability
(PDL). All licensed insurance companies electronically report to DHSMV
when policies providing PIP coverage are cancelled or taken out, so
most of the time, owners do not need to notify the department at all.
If your insurance company notifies us that you cancelled a policy,
and no other active policy is reported by another insurance company,
we send a letter notifying you we need insurance information. This
is sent to the address that you have provided to the department.
It’s important to make sure this address is current in order
to be sure you’ll receive important mail from us.
The policy may be cancelled because you failed to pay the insurance
premium and the insurance company cancelled the policy or you changed
insurance companies. If this occurs you must prove you have PIP/PDL
insurance for every vehicle you have registered in Florida. There
is no reinstatement fee if you provide insurance information in
effect before the suspension date. If you don’t have proof
of insurance before the suspension date you must pay a $150 reinstatement
fee for the first offense, $250 for a second offense within three years and $500 for all subsequent
The suspension will affect the driver license, tag and registration
of the suspended person.
There are several methods of providing insurance information. The
fastest way is to update your insurance information online.
You also may mail in your response to the letter, take proof of
insurance to a driver license office
or call (850) 617-2000 and use the automated system to update your
If you no longer own the vehicle, surrender the Florida tags and
registration immediately upon cancelling the Florida insurance.
If you have been involved in a crash and desire the insurance coverage for the other party, you may obtain the information by mailing your request to:
Customer Service Correspondence Center
2900 Apalachee Parkway, Room A216, MS 99
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0585.
You must include a copy of the complete crash report, front and back, or the driver exchange form. These forms will provide the department with the necessary information needed to expedite your request. You may fax the crash report to fax number 850-617-5216.
Please allow ten working days for research and reply.