changes for disabled parking permit holders!
Effective July 1, 2012: Any person that loses or has
their disabled parking permit stolen must provide form HSMV
83039, Application For Disabled Person Parking Permit, completed
and signed by their certifying authority within the last 12
months. Once completed, take this form to the local county tax
collector office or license plate agency for replacement.
Effective October 1, 2012: Any person renewing their disabled
parking permit must have current certification. Before a disabled
parking permit can be renewed, the permit-holder must provide
form HSMV 83039, Application For Disabled Person Parking Permit,
completed and signed by their certifying authority within the
last 12 months. Once completed, take form to the local county
tax collector office or tag agency for replacement.
(Revised June 11, 2012)
Chapter 320.0848, Florida Statutes, allows for the issuance
of disabled Parking Permits. Basic information is provided below:
- A current certification is required on the initial issuance
of a disabled parking permit.
- Beginning July 1, 2012, any person
that loses or has their disabled parking permit stolen must provide
a form HSMV 83039, Application For Disabled Person Parking Permit,
completed and signed by their certifying authority within the
last 12 months.
- Certification must be provided by a Physician, Osteopathic Physician,
a Podiatric Physician, a Chiropractor, an Optometrist, an Advanced
Registered Nurse Practitioner licensed under Chapter 464, under
the protocol of a licensed Physician, a Physician Assistant licensed
to practice under Chapter 458 or Chapter 459, or by a similarly
licensed physician from another state. When certification is provided
on form HSMV 83039, the certifying authority's medical license
number, the state they are licensed in, and their address must
- Disabled persons must have either a current Florida driver license
or a Florida identification card issued by the Florida Division
of Driver Licenses. The driver license or ID number must be affixed
to the parking permit. NOTE: Effective November 1, 2009, an exemption
from the requirement to have a Florida driver license or identification
card is provided if the disabled person is physically unable to
visit or be transported to an office to obtain this documentation.
The disabled person must provide certification on form HSMV 83039
(revised 10/09 or later) to claim this special exception.
- The expiration date of the disabled person parking permit issued
to an individual will be issued for a period up to 4 years to
expire on the applicant's birthday.
- Beginning October 1, 2012, any
person renewing their disabled parking permit must provide a form
HSMV 83039, Application For Disabled Person Parking Permit, completed
and signed by their certifying authority within the last 12 months.
- Organizations, which provide regular transportation service to
disabled persons having disabilities that limit or impair their
ability to walk or are certified as legally blind, must provide
either a FEID number or a Florida sales tax registration number
to be affixed to the disabled parking permit.
- Subsequent or additional parking permits may be issued to persons
who are certified as a quadriplegic, or are frequent travelers.
(A frequent traveler must indicate on the application form that
they frequently travel by plane, train, bus or boat and need one
permit to park their vehicle at the place of departure and another
one to use at their destination.) Organizations may be issued
as many as they have vehicles providing transportation to disabled
- All parking permits must have a valid decal. Only parking permits
with a yellow decal are valid.
- There is no charge for a four year disabled person parking permit.
The fee for a temporary disabled person parking permit is $15,
including tax collector fees. If a second temporary disabled parking
permit is issued within a 12 month period, the second temporary
permit is issued for no fee regardless of the time period the
physician had indicated it to be issued for, not to exceed 6 months.
- After the parking permit application has been completed and
signed by the certifying authority, the applicant has the option
of requesting a wheelchair license plate at the county tax collector's
office. The current license plate is surrendered and the wheelchair
plate is issued to expire on the same date as the one surrendered.
The registration fee is required on this license plate annually
in addition to proof of Florida insurance.
The form HSMV 83039 (Revised
7/02 and later) includes the application, the certifying authority's
statement of certification and the Application By An Organization.
When you have carefully read the form on both the front and back,
complete the form and submit it to your local
county tax collector's license plate agency. For your convenience,
you may apply for your parking permit through the mail
if you previously had form HSMV 83039 completed and signed
by the certifying authority within the last 12 months or you may
apply in person at your local tax collector office or license plate
You must submit the following to your county license plate agency:
- Form HSMV 83039 completed
and signed by the certifying authority within the last 12 months
that establishes your eligibility for a disabled parking permit.
- A copy of your Florida driver license or Florida identification
- Fees for temporary permits only.
After you have been issued a parking permit, you will receive a
renewal notice before your next expiration date.
If you have any questions concerning the parking permit program,
you may call your local
county tax collector's office or our Customer Service Center
at (850) 617-2000.
PROCEDURES AND INSTRUCTIONS
Provisions of Law: Section 320.0848, Florida Statutes,
provides for the issuance of the disabled person parking permits.
The disability must be due to a condition listed in A thru F in
the certifying authority's Statement Section on Form
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR A REGULAR OR TEMPORARY PERMIT
BY THE DISABLED PERSON
The application for the disabled person parking permit must
Proof of the disability must be indicated on form HSMV 83039,
certifying authority's Statement of Certification section.
An additional permit may be issued to a disabled person who
qualifies as a frequent traveler or as a quadriplegic as follows:
A frequent traveler must indicate on the application form that
they frequently travel by plane, train, bus or boat and need
one permit to park their vehicle at the place of departure and
another one to use at their destination.
FEES: There is no charge for a four year disabled person parking
Temporary Permit may be issued up to 6 months: $15.00 regardless
of the number of days for which it is issued. No subsequent
permit is allowed.
An additional temporary permit may be issued with a new completed
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR A TEMPORARY PARKING PERMIT
BY A CITIZEN (VISITOR STATUS) OF ANOTHER COUNTRY
A copy of the visitor’s current out-of-country parking permit.
Proof of identification such as a passport or comparable identification
to verify ownership of the out-of-country parking permit. A
Florida driver license or ID card is not required.
FEES: A temporary Permit may be issued up to 6 months: $15.00
regardless of the number of days for which it is issued. No
subsequent permit is allowed.
The permit will be issued for up to four years. Additional permits
are issued with the same expiration date as the initial permit regardless
of when the additional permit is issued.
EXPIRATION DATE: Permits issued to disabled persons
will expire on the owner's birthday. Permits issued to an organization
will be issued for four years and expire on June 30th. Temporary
permits are not to exceed 6 months.
DISPLAY: The permit must be hung on the rear view
mirror of any vehicle used to transport the disabled person(s).
The permit number must be visible from the front of the vehicle.
DO'S AND DON'TS. Click on this link to view a
brief summary of the Do's and Don'ts
for using a Florida Disabled Parking Placard.
RECIPROCITY: Section 316.1958, Florida Statutes,
provides that motor vehicles displaying a license plate or parking
permit issued to a disabled person by any other state or district
subject to laws of the United States shall be recognized as a valid
plate or permit, allowing such vehicle the special parking privileges
in Florida, provided such other state or district grants reciprocal
recognition for disabled residents of this state. All of the United
States have agreed to reciprocate.
WARNING: FLORIDA DRIVER LICENSE OR FLORIDA IDENTIFICATION
CARD IS REQUIRED WHEN THIS PARKING PERMIT IS IN USE.