am registering a vehicle for the first time in Florida. Is automobile
Yes. If you own a vehicle with at least four wheels and are registering
it, you must have Florida insurance.
What type of insurance is required to purchase
and maintain a Florida license plate and registration?
Florida's minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection
(PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) as long as you
have a valid Florida license plate.
What is "Personal Injury Protection" (PIP) insurance?
Also called Florida No Fault Insurance, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance covers you - regardless of fault
(i.e. whether or not you cause the crash) - up to the limits of your policy. Your PIP will also cover your child,
members of your household, certain passengers who lack PIP Insurance as long as they do not own a vehicle. People
riding in your vehicle who carry PIP will receive coverage under their own PIP for their injuries, and certain licensed
drivers who drive your vehicle with your permission. PIP also covers your child if he or she suffers an injury while
riding on a school bus. PIP coverage protects you while in someone else's vehicle, as a pedestrian, or bicyclist if you
suffer an injury in a crash involving a motor vehicle. The Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law, requires all owner/registrants
of a motor vehicle with four wheels or more to carry a minimum of $10,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 of
property damage liability (PDL) if you own a motor vehicle in Florida. Florida law requires you to maintain PIP/PDL insurance
continuously throughout the licensing and registration period.
What is " Bodily Injury Liability" (BIL) insurance?
Bodily Injury Liability coverage pays for serious and permanent
injury or death to others when you cause a crash involving your
automobile. Your insurance company will pay for injuries up to the
limits of your policy and provide legal representation for you if
you get sued. In particular, your company pays for injuries caused
by you or members of your family who live with you, even if they were
driving someone else's vehicle. It may also cover others who drive
your automobile with your permission. This coverage also provides
you with legal defense in the event you are sued by the injured party.
What is "Property Damage Liability" (PDL) insurance?
This coverage pays for damages you or members of your family cause
(and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving
a motor vehicle.
What is meant by "Florida Coverage"?
Florida coverage is an insurance policy delivered or issued for
delivery in Florida by an insurance company licensed by the Florida
Department of Financial Services.
Can I maintain my current policy issued in my
previous state of residence?
No. The minimum required insurance must be issued through a Florida
agent with an insurance company licensed to sell in Florida. Most
insurers have Florida agents and are licensed to issue policies
in Florida. Just ask your agent to transfer your current insurance
to Florida when you register a vehicle in Florida.
What if I fail to keep insurance on my vehicle
that I have registered in Florida?
The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is authorized
to suspend your driving privilege, including your vehicle license plate and
registration, for up to three years or until proof of Florida insurance
is provided, whichever is first.
If my driving privilege is suspended because
I am not properly insured, is there a penalty to reinstate my license?
Yes. A reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500, for subsequent violations,
must be paid and you must provide proof of current Florida insurance.
I live outside Florida for six months a year.
When not in Florida, my vehicle is in storage and not used. Must
I maintain automobile insurance?
Yes. Any vehicle holding a valid Florida license plate and registration must
be covered by a Florida insurance policy throughout the entire registration
period. When you leave Florida, you may surrender your license plate and registration
at the nearest driver license or Tax Collector office to avoid maintaining
your policy. You can always register your vehicle upon your return
to Florida, at which time you can provide proof of Florida insurance.
I am not a resident of Florida but I have business
that keeps me in Florida sometimes for several months at a time.
Must I comply with Florida's insurance laws?
Yes. Any person who has a vehicle in Florida for more than 90 days
during a 365-day period must purchase personal injury protection
and property damage liability insurance coverage. The 90 days do
not have to be consecutive.
I own multiple vehicles. Some are not used
for different reasons, but the county I live in requires that the
vehicles remain registered. Must I maintain insurance coverage on
Yes, as long as you have a valid Florida tag, then you must maintain continuous
Florida insurance on the vehicle. It does not matter if the vehicle is being driven,
but because there is a valid registration for the vehicle, it must be insured.
What can I do to avoid a driving privilege
suspension when I choose not to insure a vehicle?
To avoid a driving privilege suspension, surrender the vehicle's
license plate and registration at any Florida driver license or Tax Collector office,
prior to canceling your insurance policy.
If my driving privilege is suspended for no
insurance, will I be granted a temporary driver license for Business
or Employment purposes?
No. There is no provision in Florida's motor vehicle insurance
laws for the issuance of any sort of temporary or restricted driver
license for financial responsibility suspensions.
I am self-employed as a taxi driver and the
only vehicle I own is registered as a taxicab. Must I carry automobile
Yes. You must carry Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) coverage of $125,000
per person, $250,000 per occurrence and $50,000 for property damage
liability (PDL) coverage.
I am moving out of state and will not be registered in Florida any more. Can I cancel my insurance?
Do not cancel your insurance until you have registered in the other state. Florida insurance is required as long as you are registered in Florida, regardless of whether you drive in Florida. Once you are registered in the other state, you can cancel Florida insurance and comply with the insurance requirements of the state you have moved to. If you are retaining the same carrier, they can switch you simultaneously with registration change.