Driver Education Licensing Assistance Program (DELAP) Overview

Requirements to Become a Driver Education Licensing Assistance Program (DELAP) Administrator

In order to become a DELAP administrator, the program must:

  1. Be a public or private educational institution providing secondary education and approved by the Florida Department of Education (DOE).
  2. Employ at least one instructor who has a valid DOE teacher certification and a Driver Education endorsement.
  3. All DELAP schools that are not entities of state or local government, or local school districts, must carry the following insurance coverages:
    1. Commercial Automobile Liability:
      • The DELAP administrator agrees that all vehicles used to conduct the driving skills exam have the required coverage of $10,000 for Personal Injury Protection per person, $20,000 of Bodily Injury Liability per crash and $10,000 Property Damage Liability coverage, prior to conducting the driving skills exam.
    2. Commercial General Liability:
      • Minimum Limits of Liability: $1,000,000 each occurrence
      • $2,000,000 Aggregate
    3. Workers’ Compensation:
      • Minimum Employers Liability Limits: $100,000.00 each accident
      • $500,000 policy limit
      • $100,000 each employee
      • The DELAP administrator must indemnify and hold harmless the state of Florida, Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), and DHSMV employees from and against all losses, claims, demands, payments, suits, actions, recoveries and judgments of every nature and description brought or recoverable against it or them by reason of any act or omission of the driver education administrator or the driver education administrator’s agents, driver education specialists, or other employees in the execution of the work or in consequence of any negligence or carelessness in guarding the same.
      • Pursuant to chapters 624 and 626, Florida Statutes, all insurance must be purchased and countersigned by a Florida resident insurance agent. Please see the DELAP Administrator Contract for additional terms and conditions.
    4. When the above criteria is met, the following must be submitted to the DHSMV for approval:

The DHSMV must receive all required original and completed documentation before approval is considered. Once all documentation is received and reviewed, the contract package will be submitted for approval and processing.

Mail all documents for processing to:

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Bureau of Motorist Compliance
Driver Education Licensing Assistance Program
2900 Apalachee Parkway
Room A208A, Mail Station #97
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0500

Driver education testing is prohibited until the applicant receives a copy of the approved contract package, their tester identification number and state of Florida DELAP certificate, as well as access to the Automated Driver License Testing System (ADLTS).