Effective January 1, 2004, all drivers who are 80 years of age
or older and who are in the process of renewing their driver
license are required to pass a vision test. The test may be
taken at a Florida driver license
office at no additional charge. Should you elect to have
your vision tested at a driver license office, please
schedule an appointment so that we can serve you more
Your other option is to have a doctor licensed to practice
in Florida administer the vision test. He or she must be a
medical doctor, osteopathic physician, or an optometrist.
If the vision test is administered by your doctor a Mature
Driver Vision Test Form (HSMV 72119) must be completed
and submitted to the department. You can also ask your doctor
the form electronically to our web site. The doctor completing
the form must be licensed in Florida, out-of-state doctors
are not authorized to provide this information.
Upon passing the vision test, you can complete the renewal process.
However, if the test reveals a problem, you will be requested
to have an eye specialist licensed in the state of Florida
complete a Report
of Eye Examination (HSMV 72010) and submit it to the department
prior to renewing your license.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Who is required to have the vision test under the new law?
Everyone 80 years of age or older as of January 1, 2004, must
have a vision test under the new law when the person is in the renewal
2. When should the test be completed?
Within 1 year from the date of renewal of a license.
3. I renewed my license on December 1, 2003. Is this still valid?
Absolutely. If you renewed your driver license before January 1,
2004, it is valid for the duration specified on the license. A test
will be required at the time of your next renewal.
4. I mailed my renewal forms before January 1, 2004, and am
waiting to receive them. Do I now have to take a vision test?
No. All applications received with a post-mark of December
31, 2003, or earlier, will be processed without a vision test.
The test will be required at your next renewal.
5. I will be 80 years old in three months. Will I lose my license
then? Should I take a test before then?
No. Your license is valid for the duration specified on your license.
You will be required to take a test only when you renew the next
6. Who is authorized to give the test?
Any Florida Driver License office will give a free test. A medical
doctor, osteopathic physician, or optometrist who is licensed to
practice in Florida may also give the test.
7. How long after I take the vision test must I apply
to renew my license?
The form is valid for a year from the test date. If you passed
the test at a driver license office, you can get the license immediately.
8. How long will it take for me to get a license after
passing the vision test?
You can get it immediately if you passed at a driver license office.
If your doctor's office electronically transfers the results to
us, you can renew by mail or Internet on the same day. If the results
are mailed in, allow a week, primarily for mail time.
9. I am blind in one eye. Will I lose my license?
Not necessarily. Just like any other driver, if you are blind in
one eye, the other eye has an acuity reading of 20/40, and your
combined vision is 20/40, you will be eligible to receive a driver
license. Consult your optometrist for further evaluation.
10. What eyesight (acuity) readings must I have to receive
a driver license?
Applicants or licensed drivers who have 20/50 vision or worse in
either eye, with or without corrective lenses, are referred to an
eye specialist for possible improvement. 20/70 vision or better
in either eye or with both eyes may pass with or without corrective
lenses, if vision cannot be improved. However, if one eye is blind
or 20/200 or worse, the other eye must be 20/40 or better. The minimum
acceptable field of vision is 130 degrees.
11. How am I supposed to get around if I fail the test?
You may still be eligible to receive a restricted driver license,
based on your eye specialist's evaluation. If you become totally
ineligible, you may wish to contact the Commission on Transportation
Disadvantaged for information regarding alternative transportation
by calling 1-800-983-2435.
Community transportation coordinators are responsible for the coordination
of transportation in one or more counties throughout the state and
are identified at: http://www.dot.state.fl.us/ctd/.
12. I submitted a Mature Driver Vision Test completed by my doctor. Why am I now being requested to have a Report of Eye Exam completed by an eye specialist?
Applicants or licensed drivers who have 20/50 vision or worse in either eye or have an eye disease, are referred to an eye specialist for possible improvement.
By Telephone: Customer Service
Center (850) 617-2000
By E-Mail: Vision@flhsmv.gov