Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | EspaƱol | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations

Obtaining Your Florida Driver's License or Identification Card

About Driver Licenses and ID Cards Menu


  General Information
The Division of Driver Licenses, Bureau of Field Operations, has driver license offices located throughout the state. Appointments are provided at all full service offices. Check our Driver License Office Directory for addresses, telephone numbers, days and operating hours. Appointments are recommended.

The following tests are given at the driver license offices and may or may not be required for the license or identification card you are seeking. The testing chart located in this information will help you determine the test(s) you will be required to complete.
  • Hearing - Drivers applying for a license who are deaf, or cannot hear conversation spoken in a normal tone of voice, are restricted to driving with an outside rearview mirror which should be mounted on the left side of the vehicle, or wearing of a hearing aid.
  • Vision - Vision testing, using an eye machine located on the counter, is conducted in all driver license offices. Visual acuity readings worse than 20/40 are referred to an eye specialist. Color blindness will not cause any special condition for licensing.
  • Knowledge Exam - 50 multiple choice questions about traffic laws and traffic signs.
  • Driving Test - You must provide a vehicle for the driving test. The vehicle must have a valid tag, proof of insurance, and pass a vehicle inspection. During the driving test, the examiner will observe your ability to control the vehicle and how well you obey traffic laws.


Driver license handbooks, motorcycle handbooks and commercial driver license handbooks are available for your use from your local driver license offices. There is no charge for the handbooks and may be returned for re-use. These handbooks can be viewed online.

Note: Customers applying for a commercial driver license should consider that the commercial driver license is a professional license with more testing requirements than other licenses. If you wish to apply for a commercial driver license, please obtain a study manual before testing.

Back



What Type of License Do You Need and What are the Exam Requirements for each?

Commercial Driver Licenses

  • Class A: Commercial motor vehicles - trucks or truck combinations weighing with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 lbs. or more, provided towed vehicle is more than 10,000 lbs.
Class A Exam Requirements - Minimum age 18.
General Knowledge test
Combinations vehicle test
Air Brakes
Applicable Endorsement Exams
Vision - 20/40 in each eye
Hearing - must hear a whisper
Pre-Trip
Basic Skills
Driving
Note: Drivers under 21 years of age will be restricted to Intrastate operation only.
  • Class B: Commercial motor vehicles - straight trucks weighing 26,001 lbs. Gross Vehicle Weight Rating or more.
    Class B Exam Requirements
    General Knowledge test
    Air Brakes if applicable
    Vision - 20/40 in each eye
    Hearing - must hear a whisper
    Pre-Trip (not required for Class C)
    Basic Skills (not required for Class C)
    Driving
    Note: Drivers under 21 years of age will be restricted to Intrastate operation only.
  • Class C: Vehicles transporting placardable amounts of hazardous materials, or vehicles designed to transport more than 15 persons including the driver with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of less than 26,001 lbs.
    Class C Exam Requirements
    General Knowledge test
    Air Brakes if applicable
    Vision - 20/40 in each eye
    Hearing - must hear a whisper
    Pre-Trip (not required for Class C)
    Basic Skills (not required for Class C)
    Driving
    Note: Drivers under 21 years of age will be restricted to Intrastate operation only.

    For more information on Commercial licenses, please refer to the department's handbook.

    Non-Commercial Driver Licenses

  • Class E: Any non-commercial motor vehicles with Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) less than 26,001 pounds, including passenger cars, 15 passenger vans including the driver, trucks or recreational vehicles and two or three wheel motor vehicles 50 cc or less, such as mopeds or small scooters. (see below). Farmers and drivers of authorized emergency vehicles who are exempt from obtaining a commercial driver license must obtain a Class E license.
    Class E Exam Requirements - Minimum Age 16
    Road Rules
    Road Signs
    Driving
    Vision
    Hearing

    Note: A new resident exchanging a valid out-of-state license for a Florida license will be required to pass the vision and hearing tests only. If you are under 18 and are not married, your license application must be signed by one parent or legal guardian. Step-parents may not sign for you unless they have legally adopted you.

    Note: Teens applying for their full operator's (Class E) license will be required to:
    • hold learner's license for 12 months
    • not incur any traffic convictions
    • be certified by parent or guardian to have at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training, at least 10 of which must be at night.

    Teens issued a traffic citation can elect to attend a traffic driving school to avoid a conviction.
  • Learner's Restricted: Any of the vehicles listed under Class E being driven by a person 15 years of age, or persons learning to drive.
    Class E Learner's Restricted Exam - Minimum Age 15
    Road Rules exam
    Road Signs exam
    Vision exam
    Hearing exam

    If you are under 18 and are not married, your license application must be signed by one parent or legal guardian. Step-parents may not sign for you unless they have legally adopted you.

    Note: Teens applying for their full (Class E) operator's license will be required to:
    • hold learner's license for 12 months
    • not incur any traffic convictions
    • be certified by parent or guardian to have at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training, at least 10 of which must be at night.
    Teens issued a traffic citation can elect to attend a traffic driving school to avoid a conviction.
  • Motorcycles: Any class license which includes a motorcycle endorsement. All first-time customers for a motorcycle endorsement must complete a department-approved Motorcycle Safety Education Course.
    Motorcycle Licensing Requirements - Minimum age 16
  • Moped: Class E license or higher- motorcycle endorsement is not required. Note: Passengers under 16 years of age must wear approved protective headgear. A Moped tag is required. Personal Injury Protection insurance is not required.

  • Scooters 50 cc or less: Class E License or higher - scooter must be street legal, (i.e., require proper operating equipment- brake lights, headlight, mirror etc. per S. 316 F.S., and tag, title and registration.

    Back

  • What do I need to bring to obtain a Florida Driver License or Identification Card?


    Under Age 18
    • Proof of completion of a Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course or license from another state, country, or jurisdiction.
    • Parental Consent Form - must be notarized or signed in the presence of a driver license examiner.
    • Please visit our GatherGoGet website for a detailed listing of the remaining documents needed and other information related to obtaining your driver license.
    Age 18 or Older
    • Proof of completion of a Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course or license from another state, country, or jurisdiction.
    • Please visit our GatherGoGet website for a detailed listing of the remaining documents needed and other information related to obtaining your driver license.
    New Resident
    Lost or Stolen Licenses/Identification Cards
    • Please visit our GatherGoGet website for a detailed listing of the remaining documents needed and other information related to obtaining your driver license or ID card.
    • For current fees, view the fee schedule

    Back

  • Replacement Licenses
    • Florida law requires residents, within 10 days of changing their name or address, to obtain a replacement license. The incorrect license must be surrendered to the Division.
    • United States Citizens: Address changes may be done by online or by mail.
    • For current fees, view the fee schedule
    • Non-United States Citizen requirements.

    Back

  • Florida Identification Card
    • Please visit our GatherGoGet website for a detailed listing of the documents needed and other information related to obtaining your ID card.
    • Any person who is 5 years of age or older, or any person who has a disability, regardless of age, who applies for a disabled parking permit under s. 320.0848, may be issued an identification card.
    • No test required.
    • For a list of our current fees, please view our fee schedule
    • For an original identification card, apply in person at a driver license office.
    • To renew an identification card, apply on-line or in person at a driver license office.
    • For a replacement identification card, apply on-line or in person at a driver license office.
    • For Change of Address, apply on-line, by mail, or in person at a driver license office.

    Identification Cards Online
    You may apply online using the GoRenew for the following Identification Card services:

    • Renewal ID Card.

    • Replacement ID Card if yours was lost/stolen/destroyed or if you need an address change.


    Note: Giving false information on an application for a driver license or identification card is a third degree felony which may result in arrest, and includes a one-year suspension of the driving privilege. Proof of correct address may be required, for example, cancelled mail envelope received.


    License and Identification Card Fees

    All state-operated (DHSMV) offices accept American Express, Master Card and Discover credit cards. Not all County Tax Collector's Offices do. Please contact the office you intend to visit in advance if you have questions about the use of credit cards.
    For a list of our current fees, please view our fee schedule.

    Back


    References to Florida Law
    The laws which govern the requirements in this document are covered in the following Florida Statutes (F.S.): Sections 322.54 and 322.57, F.S. - License Classes and Endorsements
    Sections 322.12 and 322.221, F.S. - License Examinations
    Section 322.16, F.S. - License Restrictions
    Section 322.051, F.S. - Identification Card Provision
    Section 322.095(1), F.S. - Name and Identification Requirements
    Section 322.08, F.S. - Social Security Number Requirements
    Sections 322.21, 322.17, 322.051, F.S. - Fees for Licenses and Identification Cards
    Section 322.095(1), F.S. - Completion of Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course Requirement
    Section 322.0601, F.S. - Proof of Current School Enrollment Under 18
    Section 322.03(1)(B), F.S. - Surrender of License and Valid-in-Florida Only
    Section 322.13, F.S. - Examiner and Re-examination Authority
    Sections 322.32, 322.33, 322.212, F.S. - False Application and Suspension Authority
    Section 316.614(4), F.S. - Seat Belt Use Requirement
    Section 320.02, F.S. - Registration Required

    Back



  • FLORiDA Card : More than a license
    Go Renew : Renew Online
    Gather. Go. Get.
    OASIS : Make an Appointment
    Link to MyFlorida.comMyFlorida.com       Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

    Copyright ©2009 State of Florida