Effective January 1, 2004, all drivers
who are 80 years of age or older and who
are in the process of renewing their driver
license are required to pass a vision test.
The test may be taken at a Florida
driver license office at no additional
charge. Should you elect to have your vision
tested at a driver license office, please
schedule an appointment so that we can
serve you more efficiently.
Your other option is to have a doctor licensed
to practice in Florida administer the vision
test. He or she must be a medical doctor,
osteopathic physician, or an optometrist.
If the vision test is administered by your
doctor a Mature
Driver Vision Test Form (HSMV 72119)
must be completed and submitted to the department.
The doctor completing the form must be licensed
in Florida or licensed at a federally established veterans hospital. Out-of-state doctors are not
authorized to provide this information.
Upon passing the vision test, you can
complete the renewal process. However, if
the test reveals a problem, you will be
requested to have an eye specialist licensed
in the state of Florida complete a Report
of Eye Examination (HSMV 72010) and
submit it to the department prior to renewing
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Who is required to have the vision
test under the new law?
Everyone 80 years of age or older as of
January 1, 2004, must have a vision test
under the new law when the person is in
the renewal process.
2. When should the test be completed?
Within 1 year from the date of renewal
of a license.
3. I will be 80 years old in three months.
Will I lose my license then? Should I take
a test before then?
No. Your license is valid for the duration
specified on your license. You will be required
to take a test only when you renew the next
4. Who is authorized to give the test?
Driver License office will give a free
test. A medical doctor, osteopathic physician,
or optometrist who is licensed to practice
in Florida or licensed at a federally established veterans hospital may also give the test.
5. How long after I take the
vision test must I apply to renew my license?
The form is valid for a year from the test
date. If you passed the test at a driver
license office, you can get the license
6. How long will it take for
me to get a license after passing the vision
You can get it immediately if you passed
at a driver license office. If your doctor’s
office electronically transfers the results
to us, you can renew by mail or Internet
on the same day. If the results are mailed
in, allow a week, primarily for mail time.
7. I am blind in one eye. Will
I lose my license?
Not necessarily. Just like any other driver,
if you are blind in one eye, the other eye
has an acuity reading of 20/40, and your
combined vision is 20/40, you will be eligible
to receive a driver license. Consult your
optometrist for further evaluation.
8. What eyesight (acuity) readings
must I have to receive a driver license?
Applicants or licensed drivers who have
20/50 vision or worse in either eye, with
or without corrective lenses, are referred
to an eye specialist for possible improvement.
20/70 vision or better in either eye or
with both eyes may pass with or without
corrective lenses, if vision cannot be improved.
However, if one eye is blind or 20/200 or
worse, the other eye must be 20/40 or better.
The minimum acceptable field of vision is
9. How am I supposed to get around
if I fail the test?
You may still be eligible to receive a
restricted driver license, based on your
eye specialist's evaluation. If you become
totally ineligible, you may wish to contact
the Commission on Transportation Disadvantaged
for information regarding alternative transportation
by calling 1-800-983-2435.
Community transportation coordinators are
responsible for the coordination of transportation
in one or more counties throughout the state
and are identified at:
10. I submitted a Mature Driver
Vision Test completed by my doctor. Why
am I now being requested to have a Report
of Eye Exam completed by an eye specialist?
Applicants or licensed drivers who have
20/50 vision or worse in either eye or have
an eye disease, are referred to an eye specialist
for possible improvement.
10. I have a question regarding my vision
renewal. Who do I contact?
If you have any questions regarding your
vision renewal, please email DDL-P&I@flhsmv.gov
. If you need to submit your vision renewal
form and renewal fee, please mail directly
to the Process and Issuance section, P.O.
Box 5775, Tallahassee, FL 32314-5775. The
form is part of the renewal packet.
12. I have a question regarding my vision
report. Who do I contact?
If you have a specific question regarding
your vision report, please email firstname.lastname@example.org
or call (850) 617-2000.
Telephone: Customer Service Center (850)
By E-Mail: email@example.com