Not all course providers offering Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Courses (TLSAE) require the consumer/student to purchase a
completion certificate in order to take the course. Please know that you do not need a paper certificate to obtain your driver license.
Driver Change Course
||Three Crashes in Three Years Law:
What you must do to avoid driver license cancellation:
- Effective January 1, 2010, section 322.0261(1)(c)
requires that if you were convicted of, or plead nolo
contendre to, your third traffic offense that caused
a crash within 36 months, you must complete a department
approved driver improvement course that includes behind-the-wheel
training and an assessment of your driving ability.
- The department notifies you of this requirement
based on a qualifying third at-fault crash occurring
on or after January 1, 2010.
- The notification directs you to complete the course
within 90 days to avoid driver license cancellation.
||If your driver license was suspended in
the state of Florida for points or as a habitual traffic
offender (non-DUI related), or by court order, you must
complete an advanced driver improvement course.
Note: If you hold a Florida driver license and receive
a ticket for a moving violation in Arizona, the state
of Arizona may withhold adjudication if you complete
a state-approved advanced driver improvement course.
|Basic Driver Improvement/Collision
||You must complete a basic driver improvement
course (Traffic Collision Avoidance Course) if you want
to retain your driver license in the following circumstance:
- You were a driver in a crash and are found at
- someone was transported to the hospital or
- you had two crashes in a two-year period,
which resulted in property damage greater than
- Passed a stopped school bus
- Highway Racing
- Highway Racing - Spectator
- Reckless Driving
- Running a red light
If you receive a ticket for a non-criminal moving violation,
and you do not hold a commercial driver license, you may
elect to attend a basic driver improvement course in lieu
of points on your driving record.
In some cases, you may choose to attend a basic driver
improvement course to receive insurance discounts. This
discount is solely at the discretion of your insurance
Electing to Attend Traffic School
Drivers with a Class A, B, or C license may not make
an election under this subsection.
If, as a result of a moving violation, you elect to
attend and complete a basic driver improvement course,
you will receive the following benefits:
- Your insurance rates cannot go up and your policy
cannot be cancelled because of this violation, unless
this involved a crash where you were at fault.
- Points may not be added to your driver license record,
adjudication of guilt is withheld, and safe driver
status is maintained if applicable. You may not make
an election under this subsection if you have made
this election in the preceding 12 months. A person
may make no more than five elections in a lifetime.
Within 30 days from the date you received the traffic
citation and prior to attending class, you must:
You may contact the traffic school of your choice to register
for class. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and
Motor Vehicles must approve the course. Traffic schools
are listed in your local telephone directory under "driving
instruction" or "traffic schools." Approved
course providers are also listed below. To locate an approved
on-line basic driver improvement course, refer to your
local telephone directory, or contact the course providers
- inform the Clerk of Court in the county where you
received the citation that you want to go to traffic
- pay an election fee to the Clerk of Court in the
county where you received the citation.
A full list of your options for satisfying your traffic
citation is on the back of the citation. You are required
to choose one of the three options within 30 days of
receiving the citation.
the Wheel Training
||Commercial Driving Schools Providing Behind the Wheel
||In some cases, you may choose to attend
a basic driver improvement course to receive insurance
discounts. This discount is solely at the discretion of
your insurance company.
|| Driver license exams (road rules or road signs) are
also available from providers approved by the Dept. of
Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The on-line service
is available to students under 18 years of age. Students
of all ages may take the exams with a provider who offers
the exams in an in-person setting.
There is a license issuance
fee associated with the actual issuance of the learners
license whether the exams are taken at the Driver License
or Tax Collector’s office or via one of the approved providers.
No additional certificates needed!
Once you complete a Driver License Exam through an approved
provider your completion information is automatically
submitted to our department and this information is available
at all Driver License Offices! Paper certificates are
no longer required at the driver
Per Florida Statute 322.56(3)(b)(e), a customer passing the learner license exam(s) through an approved provider may be randomly selected for a mandatory re-test without prior notice.
Once a re-test with a passing score is completed in a driver license or tax collector office our system will allow for the issuance of the learner license. A failed mandatory
re-test will require a re-exam fee be collected at the next exam attempt.
||The Bureau of Motorist Compliance provides
the oversight for 26 licensed programs. The Bureau administers
Rule 15A-10, F.A.C., including instructor certification
and training, investigating complaints, processing client
appeals, conducting site visits, maintaining quality assurance,
coordinating trust fund, and evaluating programs' effectiveness.
|Frequently Asked Questions
||Driver Improvement Courses - Frequently Asked Questions
||COURSES APPROVED FOR THE PURPOSES OF SECTION
627.0652, FLORIDA STATUTES
SENIOR CITIZEN DISCOUNT INSURANCE COURSES
|Requirements to Open a Commercial
||Requirements to open a Commercial Driving School and
requirements for becoming a certified instructor.
& Substance Abuse Education Course Schools
|If you have never held a regular driver
license in any state, country, or jurisdiction, you must
complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course
before applying for a temporary driving permit (restricted
driver license) in the state of Florida. The driver education
courses offered by some county school boards may substitute
for this requirement. Please contact your local school
board for further information.
If you are under 21 years old and receive a notice
of suspension for driving with a BAL of .02 to .05,
you must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse
Education course in order to reinstate your driver license
on a hardship basis.