Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations

Driver Improvement Courses - Frequently Asked Questions

 

Who may choose to attend a Driver Improvement course?

Any person charged with a moving or non-moving traffic violation that would result in points being assessed to their driving record, may choose to attend a driver improvement course.

  • Exclusions:
  • All criminal violations
  • Drivers that hold a CDL (commercial driver license) regardless of the type of vehicle they are driving

What is the benefit of attending a driver improvement course?

Attending a driver improvement course to satisfy the violation is entered on your driver record as "adjudication withheld." In other words:

  • no points will be assessed against your driver license,
  • your insurance company cannot impose an additional premium or refuse to renew a policy for motor vehicle insurance solely because the insured committed a non-criminal traffic infraction with the exceptions of a second infraction within 18 months, a third infraction in 36 months, or exceeding the speed limit by more than 15 mph.

Do I have to pay the civil fine when I attend a driver improvement course?

Yes. For the exact cost of the civil fine, contact the Traffic Division of the Clerk of Court in the county where you received your citation.

How can I choose to attend a driver improvement course?

You may go to the Clerk's office in the county where you received the citation or if the officer provided you with an envelope when you were cited for the violation, you may use it to indicate your intention to attend a driver improvement course. Read the affidavit attached to the envelope carefully.

Within 30 calendar days of the date your ticket was issued, complete the affidavit, have your signature notarized and return the affidavit to the Clerk's office in the county where you received your citation. Mail the affidavit early enough to ensure it is received in the Clerk's office within the 30 calendar days.

Check with the Clerk's office in the county where you received your citation to see if the civil fine accompanies the election affidavit. You will have between 60 and 90 days from the date of the ticket to complete an approved course and submit the completion certificate to the traffic division of the Clerk's office.

For exact information, consult the traffic division in the Clerk's office where you received your citation. (In the phone book, look under your county government listing for Clerk of the Court.)

Do I have to pay to attend a driver improvement course?

Yes. The cost ranges between $22.95 and $45.

Do I need to do anything else after I attend a driver improvement course?

Yes. You must present the completion certificate to the Clerk's office in the county where you received your citation. Please consult with the traffic division in the Clerk's office in the county where your received your citation for their exact requirements.

Can I change my mind after I sign the affidavit to attend a driver improvement course?

No. Once you notify the clerk of your intention to attend a course, you have between 60 and 90 days from the date of the citation to complete the course and present proof of completion. Please consult with the traffic division in the Clerk's office in the county where your received your citation for their exact requirements.

What happens if I choose to attend and do not?

A person who chooses to attend a driver improvement course and has paid the civil fine, but fails to attend the school within the time specified by the court is considered to have admitted the infraction and is adjudicated guilty. In this case, the person must pay the clerk of the court the amount deducted because of the election to attend a course, a $10 processing fee and a $16.00 late fee. No additional penalties or court costs are imposed. The clerk of court will notify the department of the person's failure to attend the driver improvement course and points for the violation are then added to the individual's driving record.

How many times can I choose to attend a driver improvement course?

You can choose to attend a driver improvement course once in any 12-month period and no more than 5 times in a lifetime.

Where can I get more information about choosing to attend a driver improvement course?

For the specific requirements, please contact the traffic division of the Clerk's office in the county where you received your citation. (In the phone book, look under your county government listing for Clerk of the Court.) A listing of driver improvement schools is also available in your local telephone directory, under "driving instruction".

If I live in a county different than the one where I got my citation, what do I do?

Contact the traffic division of the Clerk's office in the county where you received your citation for their specific requirements.

If I choose to attend a driver improvement course and do not attend, does this count as one of the five times I am allowed to choose this option?

Yes. Once the affidavit is signed and recorded by the court you may not choose the school option again for 12 months and all payments are forfeited.

Where can I find information on where to attend an approved driver improvement course?

You can look in your local telephone directory for a listing of driving improvement schools, under "driving instruction".

Are procedures and fees the same in all Florida counties?

No. Each county has its own procedures for this process. If you have any questions, contact the traffic division in the Clerk's office in the county where you received the citation.



FLORiDA Card : More than a license
Go Renew : Renew Online
Gather. Go. Get.
OASIS : Make an Appointment
Link to MyFlorida.comMyFlorida.com       Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Copyright ©2009 State of Florida