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Legal Authority 

Section 328.03(3), Florida Statutes, provides for the transfer of a vessel certificate of title 

Chapter 538, Florida Statutes, pertains to Secondhand Dealers who enter into pawn and buy-
sell transactions. Pawnbrokers licensed under the Florida Pawnbroker Act must follow 
Chapter 539 of the Florida Statutes (See VSTL-32). 

Section 538.16, Florida Statutes, provides for the sale or disposal of vessels by a Secondhand 
Dealer when a pawn or buy-sell agreement is in default. 

Description and Use 

This procedure provides information and instructions to assist Tax Collector Employees and the 
Florida Department of Highway Safety And Motor Vehicles in processing applications for the transfer 
and issuance of certificates of title to secondhand dealers. 

Documentation Required and Special Instructions 

A. When a pawn for a "loan of money" is in default (the vessel has not been redeemed and no
payment has been made on the account for a period of 90 days), the secondhand dealer must
submit the following documentation:

1. The Florida or out-of-state certificate of title, or official proof of ownership.

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.03.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0538/0538ContentsIndex.html&StatuteYear=2021&Title=%2D%3E2021%2D%3EChapter%20538
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0539/0539ContentsIndex.html&StatuteYear=2021&Title=%2D%3E2021%2D%3EChapter%20539
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/ves/vstl/vstl-32.pdf
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NOTE: The title does not have to be completed for transfer. 

2. A form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without Vehicle Registration, or
HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration, accurately
completed by the purchaser (if sold), or by the secondhand dealer, if the vessel is not sold.

NOTE: The secondhand dealer does NOT have to obtain a title in their name prior to
selling the vessel. 

3. A copy of the pawn ticket, showing a complete description of the vessel including the year,
make, vessel identification number, the date and the following information from s. 538.16,
Florida Statutes:

(1) Any personal property pawned with a pawnbroker, whether the pawn is a loan of money or
a buy-sell agreement, is subject to sale or disposal if the pawn is a loan of money and the
property has not been redeemed or there has been no payment on the account made for a
period of 90 days, or if the pawn is a buy-sell agreement and the property has not been
repurchased from the pawnbroker or there has been no payment on the account within 60
days.

(2)Every pawn ticket and receipt for such pawn shall have printed thereon a notice of the
provisions of subsection (1), notice of sale or disposal, notice of intention to sell or dispose
of the property without further notice, and consent to the sale or disposal. Any such sale or
disposal shall terminate all liability of the pawnbroker and shall vest in the purchaser the
right, title, and interest of the seller or borrower and the pawnbroker.

5. An affidavit stating the date of the last payment and that no payment has been made on the
account for a period of 90 days.

6. A bill of sale from the secondhand dealer to the purchaser, if applicable. The bill of sale should
state that the vessel was sold pursuant to s. 538.16, Florida Statutes.

7. Lien satisfaction(s) for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of this or any other
state.

8. Sales tax (if sold), or if not sold, the secondhand dealer must specify on form HSMV 82040,
Application for Certificate of Title with/without Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application
for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration, "Obtained per s. 538.16, Florida
Statutes, for the disposal of pawned vessels."

9. A Florida registration number transferred to or issued for the vessel, or a
nonuse affidavit.

10. Title fees.

https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82040.pdf
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B. When the pawn for a "buy-sell agreement" is in default (the vessel has not beenredeemed and 

no payment has been made on the account within 60 days), thesecondhand dealer must submit 
the following to the tax collector's office: 

 
1. The Florida or out of state certificate of title, or official proof of ownership, accurately 

completed for transfer showing the secondhand dealer as the purchaser. 
 
2. A form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without Vehicle Registration, or 

HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel certificate of Title and/or Registration, accurately 
completed by the purchaser (if sold), or by the secondhand dealer, if the vessel is not sold. 

 
NOTE: The secondhand dealer does NOT have to obtain a title in their name prior to 
selling the vessel. 
 
4. A copy of the buy-sell agreement, showing a complete description of the vessel including the 

year, make, vessel identification number, the date and the following information from s. 
538.16, Florida Statutes: 

 
(1) Any personal property pawned with a pawnbroker, whether the pawn is a loan of money or a 

buy-sell agreement, is subject to sale or disposal if the pawn is a loan of money and the 
property has not been redeemed or there has been no payment on the account made for a 
period of 90 days, or if the pawn is a buy-sell agreement and the property has not been 
repurchased from the pawnbroker or there has been no payment on the account within 60 
days. 

 
(2) Every pawn ticket and receipt for such pawn shall have printed thereon a notice of the 

provisions of subsection (1), notice of sale or disposal, notice of intention to sell or dispose of 
the property without further notice, and consent to the sale or disposal. Any such sale or 
disposal shall terminate all liability of the pawnbroker and shall vest in the purchaser the right, 
title, and interest of the seller or borrower and the pawnbroker. 

 
5. An affidavit stating the date of the last payment and that no payment has been made on the 

account within 60 days. 
 
6. A bill of sale from the secondhand dealer to the purchaser, if applicable. The bill of sale should 

state that the vessel was sold pursuant to s. 538.16, Florida Statutes. 
 
7. Lien satisfaction(s) for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of this or any other 

state. 
 
8. Sales tax (if sold), or if not sold, the secondhand dealer must specify on form HSMV 82040, 

Application for Certificate of Title with/without Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application 
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for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration, "Obtained per s. 538.16, Florida 
Statutes, for the disposal of pawned vessels." 

 
9. A Florida registration number transferred to or issued for the vessel, or a nonuse affidavit. 
 
10. Title fees. 
 

Miscellaneous Information 
 
A. If an owner repurchases a vessel from a secondhand dealer pursuant to a "buy-sell agreement" 

and sells the vessel to a new buyer, the owner must give the buyer an affidavit. The affidavit must 
explain why the certificate of title was assigned to the secondhand dealer, state that the transfer 
to the secondhand dealer is null and void and state the name of the new purchaser. This affidavit 
must be submitted to the license plate agency along with the certificate of title and application 
for title. 

 
B. When a secondhand dealer executes a buy-sell agreement, ownership of the vessel is transferred 

to the secondhand dealer. The secondhand dealer gives the owner 60 days to repurchase the 
vessel. A buy-sell agreement is not a loan of money; therefore, no interest is charged. 

 
C. If the secondhand dealer sells the vessel to a purchaser and the purchaser does not apply for title 

within 30 days (after the date of the bill of sale), a penalty fee would be applicable. However, if the 
secondhand dealer is taking title, a penalty fee is not applicable. 

D. A "Information Concerning Secondhand Dealers" page is attached as Exhibit A. 
 
E. A documentation check list is attached as Exhibit B. 
 
F. A "Definitions" page is attached as Exhibit C. 
 
G. See Forms Appendix for a sample of the HSMV forms referred to in this procedure. 
 
 
List of Exhibits 
 
A.  Information Concerning Secondhand Dealers 
B.  (Secondhand Dealer) Pawn for "Loan of Money" Check List 
C.  Definitions 

     
 

 
 

EXHIBIT A 
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INFORMATION CONCERNING SECONDHAND DEALERS 
 
 

A secondhand dealer, as defined in Chapter 538, must be registered with the Department of 
Revenue.  They must also obtain a local occupational license. 
 
A secondhand dealer does two types of transactions, which are: 
 
1. Pawn for Loan of Money Secondhand dealer may sell without taking title. 
2. Buy-sell Agreement  Secondhand dealer may sell without taking title. 
 
The instruments used for the two transactions are: 
 
• Pawn for loan of money  Pawn ticket. 
• Buy-sell Agreement  Buy-sell agreement. 
 
The certificate of title does not have to be signed over for a "pawn for loan of money." 
 
The certificate of title does have to be signed over for a "buy-sell agreement." 
 
The vessel must be in possession of the secondhand dealer. 
 
If the transaction is a "pawn for loan of money," the vessel may be sold if it has not been redeemed 
and no payment has been made on the account for a period of 90 days. 
 
If the transaction is a "buy–sell agreement," the vessel may be sold if it has not been redeemed and 
no payment has been made on the account for a period of 60 days. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
EXHIBIT B 
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(SECONDHAND DEALER) PAWN FOR "LOAN OF MONEY" CHECK LIST 
       

The secondhand dealer does not have to take title in their name prior to selling the 
vessel. 

 
 FORMS: 
 
 FLORIDA RECORD    OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 
   
 _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041   _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041 
   
 _______ Florida Certificate    _______ Out-of-state proof of 
ownership 
     of Title           
 
  NOTE:  Title does not have to be completed for transfer. 
 
 _______ Copy of the pawn ticket 
  
 _______ Affidavit stating no payment has been made for a period of 90 days. 
 

_______ A bill of sale from the secondhand dealer to the purchaser, if applicable.  The 
bill of sale should state that the vessel was sold pursuant to s. 538.16, Florida 
Statutes. 

 
_______ Sales tax (if sold), or if not sold, the secondhand dealer must specify on form 

82040 or 82041, "Obtained per s. 538.16, Florida Statutes, for the disposal of 
pawned vessels." 

   
_______ A Florida registration number transferred to or issued for the vessel, or a 

nonuse affidavit. 
   
 _______ Title fees. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 EXHIBIT B, con’t 
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(SECONDHAND DEALER) "BUY-SELL AGREEMENT" CHECK LIST 
 

The secondhand dealer does not have to take title in their name prior to selling the 
vessel. 

 
FORMS: 
 
 
 FLORIDA RECORD    OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 
   
 _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041  _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041 
   
 _______ Florida Certificate   _______ Out-of-state proof of ownership 
     of Title       
 
   NOTE:  Title must be completed for transfer. 
 
 _______ Copy of the buy-sell agreement. 
  
 _______ Affidavit stating no payment has been made within 60 days. 
 

_______ A bill of sale from the secondhand dealer to the purchaser, if applicable.  The 
bill of sale should state that the vessel was sold pursuant to s. 538.16, Florida 
Statutes. 

 
_______ Sales tax (if sold), or if not sold, the secondhand dealer must specify on form 

82040 or 82041, "Obtained per s. 538.16, Florida Statutes, for the disposal of 
pawned vessels." 

   
_______ A Florida registration number transferred to or issued for the vessel, or a 

nonuse affidavit. 
   
 _______ Title fees. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

EXHIBIT C 
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DEFINITIONS 
 
BAILOR     A person who delivers personal property in 
bailment. 
 
BAILMENT     The delivery of personal property that may be  
      returned to the bailor after being held for some 
       purpose. 
 
"PAWN" - means either of the following: 
 
BUY-SELL AGREEMENT   An agreement whereby a purchaser agrees to hold 

     property for a specified period of time and allows the 
     seller exclusive right to repurchase the property.  A 
     buy-sell agreement is not a loan of money. 

   
LOAN OF MONEY    A written or oral bailment of personal property as 

     security for an engagement or debt, redeemable on 
     certain terms and with the implied power of sale on 
     default. 

 
PLEDGE      Any pawn or buy-sell agreement. 
 
SECONDHAND DEALER   Any person, corporation, or other business 
      organization or entity which is engaged in the  
      business of purchasing, consigning, or pawning 
      secondhand  goods.  The term also means  
      pawnbrokers (not licensed  under the Florida  
      Pawnbrokers Act, Chapter 539, Florida   
      Statutes),jewelers, precious metals dealers, garage 
      sale operators, second hand stores and consignment 
      shops. 
 
SECONDHAND GOODS Personal property previously owned or used, which 

is purchased, consigned or pawned as used 
property. 

 
TRANSACTION Any purchase, consignment or pawn of secondhand 

goods by a secondhand dealer. 
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