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Legal Authority 
 
Section 328.03(3), Florida Statutes, provides for the transfer of a vessel certificate of title. 
Section 539.001(1), Florida Statutes, states, This section may be cited as the "Florida 
Pawnbroking Act." 
 
Section 539.001(9)(c), Florida Statutes, states that all goods delivered to a pawnbroker in a 
pawn or purchase transaction must be securely stored and maintained in an unaltered 
condition within the jurisdiction of the appropriate law enforcement official for a period of 
30 calendar days after the transaction. Those goods delivered to a pawnbroker in a purchase 
transaction may not be sold or otherwise disposed of before the expiration of such period. 
 
Section 539.001(10), Florida Statutes, provides that pledged goods not redeemed within the 
30-day period following the maturity date of a pawn are automatically forfeited to the 
pawnbroker; absolute right, title, and interest in and to the goods shall vest in and shall be 
deemed conveyed to the pawnbroker by operation of law; and no further notice is 
necessary. 
 
Section 539.002, Florida Statutes, states, Chapter 538, Florida Statutes, does not apply to 
pawnbrokers licensed under the Florida Pawnbroking Act. Section 538.03(1)(a), Florida 
Statutes, defines a secondhand dealer as, any person, corporation, or other business 
organization or entity which is not a secondary metals recycler, which is engaged in the 
business of purchasing, consigning, or pawning secondhand goods. However, secondhand 
dealers are not limited to dealing only in items defined as secondhand goods in paragraph 
(g). Except as provided in subsection (2), the term means pawnbrokers, jewelers, precious 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.03&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.03.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=539.001&URL=0500-0599/0539/Sections/0539.001.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=539.001&URL=0500-0599/0539/Sections/0539.001.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=539.001&URL=0500-0599/0539/Sections/0539.001.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=539.002&URL=0500-0599/0539/Sections/0539.002.html
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metals dealers, garage sale operators, secondhand stores, and consignment shops. 

Description and Use 

This procedure provides information and instructions to assist Tax Collector Employees, and the 
Florida Department of Highway Safety And Motor Vehicles in processing applications for the 
transfer and issuance of certificates of title to pawnbrokers. 

General Information 

If the pawn or purchase transaction involves a vessel, the vessel must be delivered into the 
possession of the pawnbroker. 

When the pawnbroker enters into any pawn or purchase transaction, the pawnbroker must 
complete a "pawnbroker transaction form" for the transaction, including an indication of 
whether the transaction is a pawn or a purchase. The pledgor or seller must sign the 
completed form. 

Any vessel pledged to a pawnbroker which is not redeemed within 30 days following the 
maturity date of the pawn, if the 30th day is not a business day, then the following business 
day, is automatically forfeited to the pawnbroker by operation of law and no further notice 
is necessary. 

Documentation Required and Special Instructions 

A.  When a "pawn" is in default (not redeemed within 30 days following the maturity date of 
the pawn), the pawnbroker must submit the following documentation to the tax 
collector's office:

1. The Florida or out-of-state certificate of title, or official proof of ownership.

The title does not have to be completed for transfer.

2. A form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without Vehicle 

Registration, or HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or 

Registration, accurately completed by the pawnbroker.

The pawnbroker must obtain a title in their name prior to selling the vessel.

3. A copy of the Pawnbroker's Certificate of Registration issued by the Florida 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services pursuant to the requirements of 
Chapter 539, Florida Statutes.

https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82040.pdf
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4. A copy of the "pawnbroker transaction form" indicating the pawn. See Exhibits C & D 
concerning the "Pawnbroker Transaction Form." 

5.  An affidavit stating the vessel has not been redeemed within the 30 day period 
following the maturity date of the pawn. 

 
6. Lien satisfaction(s) for any liens, as shown on the vessel records of this or any other 

state. 
 
7. Specify on form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 

Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title 
and/or Registration, "Obtained pursuant to Chapter 539, Florida Statutes." 

 
8.  A Florida registration number transferred to or issued for the vessel, or a non-use 

affidavit. 
 
9.  Title fees. 
 

B. When the pawnbroker has held a vessel for a period of 30 calendar days after a "purchase 
transaction," and the pawnbroker is taking title, the pawnbroker must submit the 
following documentation to the tax collector's office: 

 
1.  The Florida or out-of-state certificate of title, or official proof of ownership, accurately 

completed for transfer to the pawnbroker.  The title MUST be completed for transfer to 
the pawnbroker. 

 
2.  A form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without Vehicle 

Registration, or HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or 
Registration, accurately completed by the pawnbroker.  The pawnbroker must obtain 
a title in their name prior to selling the motor vehicle. 

 
3. A copy of the Pawnbroker's Certificate of Registration issued by the Florida 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services pursuant to the requirements of 
Chapter 539, Florida Statutes. 

 
4.  A copy of the "pawnbroker transaction form" indicating the purchase. See Exhibits C & 

D concerning the "Pawnbroker Transaction Form." 
 
5.  An affidavit stating the vessel has been held by the pawnbroker for a period of 30 

calendar days after the date of the "purchase" transaction. 
 
6.  Lien satisfaction(s) for any liens, as shown on the vessel records of this or any other 

state. 
 
7.  Specify on form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 

Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title 
and/or Registration, "Obtained pursuant to Chapter 539, Florida Statutes." 
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8.  A Florida registration number transferred to or issued for the vessel, or a non-use 

affidavit. 
 
9.  Title fees. 

 
Miscellaneous Information 
 
A.  The pawnbroker transaction form will indicate whether the transaction was a pawn 

or a purchase. 
 
B.  If the pawnbroker is taking title, a penalty fee is not applicable, as this is an operation 

of law transaction. 
 
C.  Pawnbrokers may extend the maturity date for a transaction and must give the pledgor 

a written memorandum (which may be a new transaction form) specifying the new 
default date. 

 
D.  If an owner repurchases a vessel from a pawnbroker pursuant to a "purchase 

transaction" and sells the vessel to a new buyer, the owner must give the buyer an 
affidavit. The affidavit must explain why the certificate of title was assigned to the 
pawnbroker, state that the transfer to the pawnbroker is null and void and state the 
name of the new purchaser. This affidavit must be submitted to the license plate agency 
along with the certificate of title and application for title. 

 
E.  A "Information Concerning Pawnbrokers" page is attached as Exhibit A. 
 
F.  A documentation check list is attached as Exhibit B. 
 
G.  A "Definitions" page is attached as Exhibit C. H. S. 539. 001(8), Florida Statutes 

(PAWNBROKER TRANSACTION FORM), is attached as Exhibit D. 
 
I.  A "Pawnbroker Transaction Form" is attached as Exhibit E. 
 
List of Exhibits 

 
A. Information Concerning Pawnbrokers 
B. Pawn Check List 
C. Definitions 
D. S. 539. 001(8), Florida Statutes: Pawnbroker Transaction Form 
E. Sample Pawnbroker Transaction Form 
 
Revision(s) to Procedure 
 
Revised the entire procedure. 
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EXHIBIT A 

 
Information Concerning Pawnbrokers 

 
A "pawnbroker," as defined in Chapter 539, must be licensed by the Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services. This license is renewed annually. They must also obtain a local occupational 
license. 
 
A pawnbroker does two types of transactions for vessels, which are: 
1. Pawn Pawnbroker must take title. 
2. Purchase Pawnbroker must take title. 
 
The certificate of title does not have to be signed over for a "pawn." 
 
The certificate of title does have to be signed over for a "purchase." 
 
The motor vehicle must be in possession of the pawnbroker. 
 
The instrument used by a pawnbroker to record a "pawn" or a "purchase" is a "Pawnbroker 
Transaction Form." 
 
If the transaction is a "pawn," the vessel may be titled to the pawnbroker if the vessel is not 
redeemed within the 30-day period following the maturity date of the pawn. 
 
If the transaction is a "purchase," the vessel may be titled to the pawnbroker if the vessel is not 
redeemed for a period of 30 days after the date of the purchase transaction. 
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EXHIBIT B 

 
Pawn Check List 

 
The pawnbroker must obtain a title in their name prior to selling the motor vehicle. 
 
FLORIDA RECORD                                                                                 OUT-OF-STATE RECORD  
_______ HSMV 82040 or 82041                                                        _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041  
_______ Florida Certificate                                                               _______ HSMV 82042, or the VIN                 

 verification of Title section on  
form HSMV 82040 

_______ Out-of-state proof of ownership  
 
NOTE: Title does not have to be completed for transfer. 
 
_______ Copy of the "Pawnbroker's Registration Certificate" issued by the Florida 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 
 
_______ Copy of the "pawnbroker transaction form" indicating the "pawn." 
 
_______ An affidavit stating the motor vehicle has not been redeemed within the 30 day 

period following the maturity date of the pawn.  
 
_______ Specify on form 82040 or 82041, "Obtained pursuant to Chapter 539, Florida Statutes." 
 
_______ The Florida registration number transferred to or issued for the vessel, or non-use 

affidavit. 
 
_______ Title fees. 
 

Purchase Check List 
 
The pawnbroker must obtain a title in their name prior to selling the motor vehicle. 
 
FLORIDA RECORD                                                                                 OUT-OF-STATE RECORD  
_______ HSMV 82040 or 82041                                                        _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041  
_______ Florida Certificate                                                                _______ Out-of-state proof of ownership  
 
 
NOTE: Title must be completed for transfer. 
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_______ Copy of the "Pawnbroker's Registration Certificate" issued by the Florida Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

EXHIBIT B, con’t 
 
_______ Copy of the "pawnbroker transaction form" indicating the "purchase." 
 
_______ An affidavit stating the vessel has been held by the pawnbroker for a period of 30 calendar 
days after the date of the "purchase" transaction.  
 
_______ Specify on form 82040 or 82041, "Obtained pursuant to Chapter 539, Florida Statutes." 
 
_______ The Florida registration number transferred to or issued for the vessel, or non-use affidavit. 
 
_______ Title fees. 
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Exhibit C 
 

Definitions  
 

DEFAULT DATE                                                    The date upon which the pledgor's right of 
redemption expires and absolute right, title, and 
interest in and to the pledged goods shall vest in 
and shall be deemed conveyed to the pawnbroker 
by operation of law. 

 
PAWN                                                                              An advancement of funds on the security of 

pledged goods on condition that the pledged 
goods are left in the possession of the 
pawnbroker for the duration of the pawn and 
may be redeemed by the pledgor on the terms 
and conditions contained in Chapter 539. 

 

PAWNBROKER                                                           Any person who is engaged in the business of 
making pawns; who makes a public display 
containing the term "Pawn," "pawnbroker," or 
"pawnshop" or any derivative thereof; or who 
publicly displays a sign or symbol historically 
identified with pawns. A pawnbroker may also 
engage in the business of purchasing goods which 
includes consignment and trade. 

 

PAWNBROKER TRANSACTION                         The instrument on which a pawnbroker record              
pawns and purchases. 

FORM    
 

PAWNSHOP                                                               The location at which a pawnbroker conducts 
business. 

 
PERMITTED VENDOR                                             A vendor who furnishes a pawnbroker with an  

invoice specifying the vendor's name and address, 
the date of the sale, a description of the items sold, 
and the sales price, and who has an established 
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place of business, or, in the case of a secondhand 
dealer as defined in s. 538.03, has represented in 
writing that such dealer has complied with all 
applicable recordkeeping, reporting, and retention 
requirements pertaining to goods sold or otherwise 
delivered to a pawnbroker. 

 

PLEDGED GOODS                                                     Tangible personal property that is deposited with, 
or otherwise delivered into the possession of a 
pawnbroker in connection with a pawn. "Pledged 
Goods" does not include titles or any other form of 
written security in tangible property in lieu of 
actual physical possession. 

 
PLEDGOR                                                                       An individual who delivers pledged goods into the 

possession of a pawnbroker in connection with a 
pawn. 

 
PURCHASE                                                                    The tranfer and delivery of goods, by a person 

other than a permitted vendor, to a pawnbroker by 
acquisition for value, consignment, or trade for 
other goods.    
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Exhibit D 
 

S. 539. 001(8), Florida Statutes: PAWNBROKER TRANSACTION FORM. 
 

(a) At the time the pawnbroker enters into any pawn or purchase transaction, the 
pawnbroker shall complete a pawnbroker transaction 
form for such transaction, including an indication of whether the transaction is a pawn or a 
purchase, and the pledgor or seller shall 
sign such completed form. The agency must approve the design and format of the 
pawnbroker transaction form, which must be 81/2 
inches x 11 inches in size and elicit the information required under this section. In completing 
the pawnbroker transaction form, the 
pawnbroker shall record the following information, which must be typed or written indelibly 
and legibly in English. 
 
(b) The front of the pawnbroker transaction form must include: 
 
1. The name and address of the pawnshop. 
2. A complete and accurate description of the pledged goods or purchased goods, including 
the following information, if applicable: 
a. Brand name. 
b. Model number. 
c. Manufacturer's serial number. 
d. Size. 
e. Color, as apparent to the untrained eye. 
f. Precious metal type, weight, and content, if known. 
g. Gemstone description, including the number of stones. 
h. In the case of firearms, the type of action, caliber or gauge, number of barrels, barrel 
length, and finish. 
i. Any other unique identifying marks, numbers, names, or letters. 
Notwithstanding sub-subparagraphs a.-i., in the case of multiple items of a similar nature 
delivered together in one transaction which 
do not bear serial or model numbers and which do not include precious metal or gemstones, 
such as musical or video recordings, 
books, and hand tools, the description of the items is adequate if it contains the quantity of 
items and a description of the type of items 
delivered. 
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3. The name, address, home telephone number, place of employment, date of birth, physical 
description, and right thumbprint of the 
pledgor or seller. 
 
4. The date and time of the transaction. 
5. The type of identification accepted from the pledgor or seller, including the issuing agency 
and the identification number. 
6. In the case of a pawn: 
a. The amount of money advanced, which must be designated as the amount financed; 
b. The maturity date of the pawn, which must be 30 days after the date of the pawn; 
c. The default date of the pawn and the amount due on the default date; 
d. The total pawn service charge payable on the maturity date, which must be designated as 
the finance charge; 
e. The amount financed plus the finance charge that must be paid to redeem the pledged 
goods on the maturity date, which must be 
designated as the total of payments; 
f. The annual percentage rate, computed according to the regulations adopted by the Federal 
Reserve Board under the federal Truth in 
Lending Act; and 
g. The front or back of the pawnbroker transaction form must include a statement that: 
 
(I) Any personal property pledged to a pawnbroker within this state which is not redeemed 
within 30 days following the maturity date 
of the pawn, if the 30th day is not a business day, then the following business day, is 
automatically forfeited to the pawnbroker, and 
absolute right, title, and interest in and to the property vests in and is deemed conveyed to 
the pawnbroker by operation of law, and no 
further notice is necessary; 
(II) The pledgor is not obligated to redeem the pledged goods; and 
(III) If the pawnbroker transaction form is lost, destroyed, or stolen, the pledgor must 
immediately advise the issuing pawnbroker in 
writing by certified or registered mail, return receipt requested, or in person evidenced by a 
signed receipt. 
(IV) A pawn may be extended upon mutual agreement of the parties. 
7. In the case of a purchase, the amount of money paid for the goods or the monetary value 
assigned to the goods in connection with 
the transaction. 
8. A statement that the pledgor or seller of the item represents and warrants that it is not 
stolen, that it has no liens or encumbrances 
against it, and that the pledgor or seller is the rightful owner of the goods and has the right to 
enter into the transaction. Any person 
who knowingly gives false verification of ownership or gives a false or altered identification 
and who receives money from a 
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pawnbroker for goods sold or pledged commits: 
a. If the value of the money received is less than $300, a felony of the third degree, punishable 
as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, 
or s. 775.084. 
b. If the value of the money received is $300 or more, a felony of the second degree, 
punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, 
or s. 775.084. 
(c) A pawnbroker transaction form must provide a space for the imprint of the right 
thumbprint of the pledgor or seller and a blank 
line for the signature of the pledgor or seller. 
(d) At the time of the pawn or purchase transaction, the pawnbroker shall deliver to the 
pledgor or seller an exact copy of the 
completed pawnbroker transaction form. 
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