

Division of Motorist Services

Procedure VSTL-12

Motor Vehicle Procedure Manual

Vessel Title

Vessels Junked by Owners

Table of Contents

Legal Authority	1
Description and Use	1
Documentation Required and Special Instructions	
Title Cancelled Junk in Error	
Revision(s) to Procedure	

Legal Authority

Section 328.03(4), Florida Statutes, provides that a certificate of title is prima facie evidence of the ownership of the vessel. A certificate of title is good for the life of the vessel so long as the certificate is owned or held by the legal holder. If a titled vessel is destroyed or abandoned, the owner, with the consent of any recorded lienholders, shall, within 30 days after the destruction or abandonment, surrender to the department for cancellation any and all title documents. If a titled vessel is insured and the insurer has paid the owner for the total loss of the vessel, the insurer shall obtain the title to the vessel, and within 30 days after receiving the title, forward the title to FLHSMV for cancellation. The insurer may retain the certificate of title when payment for the loss was made because of the theft of the vessel.

Description and Use

This procedure is provided to assist employees of the tax collector, license plate agent and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) with requirements when a vessel is junked.

Documentation Required and Special Instructions

When a vessel is declared "Junk" by the owner because it has been destroyed, abandoned, or the insurance company has paid the owner for a total loss, the certificate of title must be surrendered to the tax collector's office or license plate agent for cancellation.

A cancelled, or "junked", transaction generates form HSMV 82041. Form HSMV 82041, along with the title "junked" stamped or handwritten across the face, should be placed with the rest of the day's work in the Transaction Summary Report.

Revision Date: 06/25/21 Effective Date: Immediately

- 1. When a vessel is titled in Florida and the certificate of title is available, submit the following documentation to the tax collector's office or license plate agent:
 - a. Florida Certificate of Title with the notation "junked", with the signature(s) of the owner(s) shown on the face of the certificate of title.
 - b. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of thisor any other state, if applicable.
 - c. No title fee is required.
- 2. When the vessel is titled in Florida and the certificate of title is not available, submit the following documentation to the tax collector's office or license plate agent:
 - a. Form <u>HSMV 82101</u>, Application for Duplicate or Lost in Transit/Reassignment for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Title Certificate, must be completed by the owner. See Division of Motorist Services Procedure TL-05.

When the duplicate certificate of title is received, follow instructions under section (1), of this procedure.

- When the insurer pays a total loss claim on the vessel, they must take the title in their name prior to the title being cancelled.
- 4. When a Florida certificate of title has been re-assigned, the re-assignment to the new owner must be processed prior to the title being cancelled.
- 5. A new owner is defined as tow company, metal recycler, or a vessel salvage yard.

Title Cancelled Junk in Error

If the certificate of title was submitted and junked in error, an affidavit signed by the registered owner stating that fact with form <u>HSMV 82101</u>, must be submitted to:

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles ATTN: Direct Mail and Issuance, Rm. A330, MS #72 2900 Apalachee Parkway Tallahassee, FL 32399

Duplicate title fees are required.

Revision Date: 06/25/21 Effective Date: Immediately

Revision(s) to Procedure Added #5 "A new owner is defined as tow company, metal recycler, or a vessel salvage yard." on page 2. 04/20/20: Statutory Review. Added links to statute and forms. Updated Direct Mail address, Sections I and II (3)-(4). Added historical section. 10/17/05: Updated information on page 1.

Revision Date: 06/25/21 Effective Date: Immediately