

Division of Motorist Services

Procedure VSRS-09

Motor Vehicle Procedure Manual

Registration

Sojourner Registration

Table of Contents

Legal Authority	1
Description and Use	1
Documentation Required and Special Instructions	1
Additional License Fee for Commercial Vessels	2
Miscellaneous Information	2
Revision (s) to Procedure	2

Legal Authority

Section 328.58, Florida Statutes, states that the owner of any vessel already covered by: a registration number in full force and effect which has been awarded by another state; by the US Coast Guard in a state without a federally approved numbering system; or, the US Coast Guard for a federally documented vessel with a valid registration in full force and effect from another state, shall record the number prior to operating, using, or storing the vessel on the waters of this state in excess of the 90-day reciprocity period. Section 328.72(3), Florida Statutes, states an additional license fee of \$50 for each 12-month period registered shall be required of all aliens or nonresidents of the state on all vessels not subject to a specific reciprocal agreement with another state, which vessels are used for commercial purposes and owned in whole or in part by such aliens or nonresidents.

Description and Use

This procedure provides information and instructions for the issuance of a sojourner registration.

Documentation Required and Special Instructions

The customer needs to submit the following documents to the tax collector's office to apply for a Sojourner Registration: A. Form HSMV 87244, "Application to Register Non-Titled Vessels," accurately completed by the customer. B. A copy of the out-of-state or Coast Guard registration to record the existing out-of-state or Coast Guard number and allow the system to issue a decal only. C. Registration fees. Revision Date: 05/07/2019 Page 2 of 2 Effective Date: Immediately Sojourner registrations are

Revision Date: 05/07/19 Page 1 of 2

Effective Date: Immediately

issued to those vessel owners who remain in Florida for more than 90 days but intend to return to their home state and take the vessel with them.

Additional License Fee for Commercial Vessels

Pursuant to <u>section 328.72(3) Florida Statutes</u>, in addition to the registration fee, an additional license fee of \$50 for each 12-month period registered will be charged to all aliens or non-residents of the state on all vessels not subject to a specific reciprocal agreement with another state, which vessels are used for commercial purposes and owned in whole or in part by such aliens or nonresidents.

Miscellaneous Information

A. It is not a requirement to have the customer complete another application at the time of renewal.

B. The completed application may be retained in the tax collector's office or returned to the customer.

Revision (s) to Procedure

10/10/22 Added the procedure to the new format.

Statutory review. Updated links to statute and form. Removed Notes and added Historical Revisions section.

Page 2 of 2

03/15/2002 – Updated and revised information in Section II and III.

Revision Date: 05/07/19

Effective Date: Immediately