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Legal Authority 
 
Section 328.66, Florida Statutes, provides that any county may impose an annual registration fee on 
vessels registered, operated, used, or stored on the water of this state within its jurisdiction. The fee 
shall be 50 percent of the applicable state registration fee. However, the first $1 of every registration 
imposed under this subsection shall be remitted to the state for deposit in the Save the Manatee Trust 
Fund within the Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission and used as specified in s. 379.2431(4). All 
other monies received from the fee shall be expended for the patrol, regulation, and maintenance of 
the lakes, rivers, and waters and for other boating-related activities of the municipality or county. 
Description and Use 
 
This procedure provides information and instructions to assist tax collector employees, license plate 
agency employees and Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles who have opted to charge the 
county registration fee. 
 
General Information  
 
A county that elects to impose an annual vessel registration fee must notify the department of its 
intent, at least 30 calendar days prior to the activation of the fee. This notification must include the 
fee implementation date and the name of the county tax collector responsible for collecting the fee.  
 
This notification should be sent to the attention of the Director of the Division of Motorist Services. 
 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.66&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.66.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=379.2431&URL=0300-0399/0379/Sections/0379.2431.html


Revision Date:  01/11/10  Page 2 of 2 
Effective Date:  Immediately 

 
 
Documentation Required and Special Instructions 
 
The county tax collector authorized to impose the county registration fee shall remit to the 
department all monies collected for the preservation of manatees pursuant to section 328.66, 
Florida Statutes. 
  
Miscellaneous Information 
 
The submission of the monies collected for the preservation of the manatee shall be a part of the 
state’s vessel title and registration process. 
 
Revision(s) to Procedure 
 
10/10/22 Added the procedure to the new format.  
 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.66&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.66.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.66&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.66.html
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