

Division of Motorist Services

Procedure VSRS-06

Motor Vehicle Procedure Manual

Registration

Change of Vessel Classification

Table of Contents

Legal Authority	1
Description and Use	1
Documentation and Special Instructions	1
Miscellaneous Information	2
Revision (s)	2
Exhibit A	3

Legal Authority

Section 328.72(6), Florida Statutes, provides for a change of classification on a vessel from recreational to commercial or from commercial to recreational. The owner should forward their current registration certificate to a county tax collector's office with the appropriate fee. A new registration certificate will be issued in the owner's name.

Description and Use

This procedure provides information and instructions to assist employees of the tax collector, license plate agents and the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) for protecting home addresses and other personal information for specific active and former public officials, victims of domestic violence and current or former servicemembers and their families serving since September 11, 2001.

Documentation and Special Instructions

The owner must submit form <u>HSMV 87015</u>, "Application for Duplicate Registration, Replacement Decal and Change of Classification," along with the current registration to the tax collector's office. If the owner cannot provide the current registration, be sure the appropriate certification block has been checked indicating why the original certificate of registration is not available.

Miscellaneous Information

- A. The completed application should be retained by the tax collector's office or license plate agency for a period of 12 months.
- B. An applicant requesting a change of use from recreational to commercial for a vessel weighing five net tons or more should be advised that federal law may require the vessel to be federally documented.
- C. The service fee is retained by the county tax collector's office, and the FRVIS fee is sent to the department. When a vessel owner is a nonresident or alien (see Exhibit A), a \$50 non/resident/alien commercial fee will be charged for each vessel that is changed from a recreational use to a commercial use.
- D. The completed form HSMV 87015, does not need to be submitted to the department.

Revision (s)

8/12/22: added the "completed application should be retained by the tax collector's office or license plate agency for a period of 12 months".

ALIEN: A person who is not a citizen of the United States.

NONRESIDENT: A citizen of the United States who has not established residence in this state and has not continuously resided in this state for one year and in one county for six months immediately preceding the initiation of a vessel titling or registration action.