

Division of Motorist Services

Procedure VSRS-05

Motor Vehicle Procedure Manual

Registration

Replacement Vessel Decal

Table of Contents

Legal Authority	1
Description and Use	1
Documentation Required and Special Instructions	1
Miscellaneous Information	2
Revision(s) to Procedure	2

Legal Authority

<u>Section 328.48(6)</u>, Florida Statutes, provides that when a vessel decal has been stolen, the owner of the vessel for which the decal was issued shall make application for a replacement. The application shall contain the decal number being replaced and a statement that the item was stolen. If the application includes a copy of the police report prepared in response to a report of a stolen decal, such decal shall be replaced at no charge.

<u>Section 328.48(7), Florida Statutes</u>, states that any decal lost in the mail may be replaced at no charge. The service charge shall not be applied to this replacement; however, the application for a replacement shall contain a statement of such fact, the decal number and the date issued.

<u>Section 328.72(5)</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, provides that a decal may be issued to replace a lost or misplaced decal by submitting \$2.25 with a request from (by the registered owner or an appointed representative) for such replacement decal to a county tax collector's office.

Description and Use

This procedure provides information and instructions for the issuance of a replacement vessel decal.

Documentation Required and Special Instructions

Applications for replacement decals can be processed at any tax collector's office or license plate agency. The customer must submit the following:

A. Form <u>HSMV 87015</u>, Application for Duplicate Registration, Replacement Decal and Change of Classification, must be completed and signed. If the registration is in joint ownership, only one owner Revision Date: 04/19/19 Page 1 of 2

Effective Date: Immediately

must sign the application. B. If the decal was stolen, a copy of the police report must be submitted for the decal to be replaced at no charge. If the decal was not stolen, then a service fee of \$2.25 must be submitted with the request.

Miscellaneous Information

A. The completed application should be retained by the tax collector's office or license plate agency for a period of 12 months.

B. When issuing a replacement decal, process the transaction as a registration replacement decal. The vessel owner should either turn in the old registration certificate or check the appropriate block on the <u>HSMV 87015</u> indicating why the original certificate of registration is not available.

Revision(s) to Procedure

10/10/22 Added the procedure to the new format.

Statutory Review. Updated Statute 328.72 (5). Added "If decal is not stolen, then \$2.25 must be submitted with request". Added Historical Revisions section and links to statutes and forms. 11/10/03 Added Sections 328.48(6) and 328.48(7), F.S., to clarify how the license plate agencies need to process a replacement decal when it has been reported stolen. Added information on page 1 and created second page for miscellaneous information.