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Legal Authority 

Section 328.48, Florida Statutes, requires that only canoes propelled by motors be registered. 

Section 327.02(5), Florida Statutes, defines the term “canoe. 

Description and Use 

This procedure provides information and instructions to assist employees of the Tax Collector, License Plate 

Agency, and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) for the registration of 

canoes. 

Revision Date: 06/11/19 Page 1 of 3 

Effective Date:  Immediately 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.48&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.48.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=327.02&URL=0300-0399/0327/Sections/0327.02.html


      
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

    

   

  

  

 

 

  

 

  

 

  

     

   

  

 

 

 

 

  

Definitions 

This procedure provides information and instructions for registration of canoes. 

Documentation and Special Instructions 

A. Canoe classification criteria 

Provided all other characteristics remain constant, the key to determining whether a squared 

transom (back) canoe-like vessel is a canoe, is determined by the width of its transom. If the width of 

the transom is less than 45 percent of its beam (width at widest point), the vessel is considered a 

canoe. Example: If the beam of a squared back canoe-like vessel is 36 inches, its transom cannot 

exceed 45 percent or 16.2 inches. 

B. The annual registration fee, service fees and the FRVIS fee. 

C. To charge canoe fees, you must select "CN" as the vessel type. 

D. To reflect the registration, use of the vessel, enter "PL" for pleasure or the applicable commercial use 

code for canoe if it is being used for commercial purposes. When issuing a certificate of registration to 

a manufacturer or dealer, the registration should be created on the motor vehicle issuance system as 

a "dealer registration," therefore, no vessel information would be necessary. 

Revision(s) to Procedure 

10/10/22 Added the procedure to the new format. 
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Statutory Review. Added statue which defines canoe. Added links in statues. 

10/23/2001 Revised information in section III, B. 
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