

Division of Motorist Services

Procedure VSRS-01

Motor Vehicle Procedure Manual

Registration

Antique Vessel (30 Years or Older) Registration and Decal

Table of Contents

Legal Authority	1
Description and Use	1
Application requirements for obtaining an antique registration	
Application requirements for obtaining an antique decal	2
Miscellaneous Information	2
List of Exhibits	3
Revision (s) to Procedure	3
Exhibit A	4

Legal Authority

<u>Section 328.72(2)(a)</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, provides for antique vessel (30 years old or more) and antique vessel decals.

 $\underline{Section\,328.72(14), Florida\,Statutes,} exempts\,antique\,vessels\,from\,an\,annual\,registration\,fee.\,If\,the\,vessel\,does\,not\,have\,an\,FL\,number,\,a\,number\,will\,be\,assigned\,by\,the\,system\,along\,with\,a\,state\,decal.\,The\,only\,fees\,charged\,are\,the\,service\,fees\,for\,the\,registration.$

Definitions

A vessel that meets all the following requirements qualifies to be registered as an antique vessel:

- A. At least 30 years old.
- B. Used for noncommercial (recreational) purposes only.
- C. Powered by the vessel's original type power plant.

Description and Use

This procedure provides information and instructions to assist employees of tax collectors, license plate agents, and Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) with the issuance of antique vessel (30 YEARS OR OLDER) registrations and decals.

Revision Date: 01/30/20 Effective Date: Immediately

Application requirements for obtaining an antique registration

- A. Form <u>HSMV 87243</u>, Certification for an Antique Vessel Registration, completed by the owner or a licensed marine surveyor. This document certifies that the vessel meets or exceeds the standards established in <u>s.328.72(2)(a)</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>.
- B. Submitform <u>HSMV 87243</u> to a Tax Collector office or a License Plate Agent.

Application requirements for obtaining an antique decal

After acquiring a vessel registration indicating exempt antique vessel status as described in Section III., the applicant may obtain an antique decal to display on the vessel.

The following must be submitted to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (Department):

- A. A copy of the most current certificate of vessel registration in the customer's name.
- B. The same previously completed form <u>HSMV 87243</u>, Certification for an Antique Vessel Registration, that was returned to the applicant with his/her new antique vessel registration.
- C. Mail these documents to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, 2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS# 72, Tallahassee, Florida 32399.
- D. The Department will issue the decal at no charge. For an example of an Antique Decal see Exhibit A.

Miscellaneous Information

- A. Antique vessels are exempt from the annual base registration fee. However, a Certificate of Registration, numbers, and decal must be issued upon application and payment of service fees. When issuing the registration certificate, ensure that "EA" which designates antique is entered as the "Reg Use" to exempt it from base registration charges. Service fees will be charged annually upon each renewal of the state decal and registration.
- B. The registration number for an antique vessel shall be permanently attached to each side of the forward half of the vessel as provided in <u>s. 328.48</u> and <u>328.54</u>. The antique decal shall be placed within three inches of the registration number.
- C. If there is a change in ownership, the application shall be accompanied by either a Certificate of Title, a bill of sale and a registration, or if no Florida title has been previously issued, abill of sale and an affidavit by the owner defending the title from all claims. The bill of sale must contain a complete vessel description to include the hull identification number and engine number, if appropriate; the year, make, and color of the vessel; the selling price; and the

Revision Date: 01/30/20 Page 2 of 4

Effective Date: Immediately

signatures of the seller and purchaser. The Certificate of Title and registration must be transferred into the name of the purchaser.

- D. In the event an antique vessel decal is lost, destroyed, or mutilated, the owner of the vessel may apply to the Department for a replacement decal at no charge.
- The antique decal will remain current for the life of the vessel provided the vessel E. continues to conform to the definition of an antique vessel. The antique decal shall not exempt an antique vessel from other title and registration requirements established by Florida Statutes.

List of Exhibits

1. Exhibit A is an example of an Antique Vessel Decal.

Remainder of page intentionally left blank.

Revision (s) to Procedure

10/10/22 Added the procedure to the new format.

Statutory Review. Added links to statutes and form. Corrected requirements for Change of Ownership under Miscellaneous (C). Added Exhibit A.

04/13/12 Added new Section III, application requirements for obtaining an antique vessel registration and corrected & clarified new Section IV for obtaining an antique decal.

Revision Date: 01/30/20 Effective Date: Immediately

Page 3 of 4

Antique Vessel Decal



Effective Date: Immediately

Revision Date: 01/30/20 Page 4 of 4