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Legal Authority

Section 320.086, Florida Statutes, provides the definition of ancient or antique motor vehicles.

Section 328.72(2)(a), Florida Statutes, provides the definition of antique vessel.

Section 319.22(2)(b), Florida Statutes, provides the documentation required for transfer of title.

Section 319.23(3)(c), Florida Statutes, provides the documentation required for transfer of

ownership of an ancient or antique motor vehicle.
Section 328.72(4)(b), Florida Statutes, provides the documentation required for transfer of

ownership of an antique vessel.
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Description and Use

This procedure provides information and instructions to assist the employees of the tax collector,
license plate agency, and Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) in issuing titles for
ancient or antique motor vehicles or antique vessels.

As of July 01, 2023, FLHSMV has updated the Form HSMV 82040 Application for Certificate of Title
With/Without Registration. HSMV 82040 82040 has been updated into three separate forms:

e HSMV 82040 MV - Application for Certificate of Motor Vehicle Title - HSMV 82040 MV

HSMV 82040 MV should be used when processing applications for certificate of title for the following
vehicle types:

TO - Tools

TR - Truck

TT - Travel Trailers
VT - Vehicle Trailers

AU - Auto

BS - Bus

MC - Motorcycle
OH - Off-Highway

o O o 0O
o O o 0O

HSMV 82040 VS - Application for Certificate of Vessel Title - HSMV 82040 VS

HSMV 82040 VS should be used when processing applications for certificate of title for the following
vehicle type: VS - Vessel

e HSMV 82040 MH - Application for Certificate of Mobile Home - HSMV 82040 MH

HSMV 82040 MH should be used when processing applications for certificate of title for the following
vehicle type: MH - Mobile Home

Effective July 01, 2023, all certificate of Florida titles issued for Vessels will be required to be
processed using Form HSMV 82040 VS - Application for Certificate of Vessel Title. The signed Form
HSMV 82041 will no longer be accepted in lieu of Form HSMV 82040 VS.

FLHSMV anticipates accepting the current HSMV 82040 - Application for Certificate of Title
With/Without Registration for Motor Vehicles and Mobile Homes until December 31, 2023.

Effective January 01, 2024, all certificate of Florida titles issued for Motor Vehicles and Mobile Homes
will be required to be processed using Forms HSMV 82040 MV - Application for Certificate of Motor
Vehicle Title and HSMV 82040 MH - Application for Certificate of Mobile Home Title.
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General Information

A motor vehicle manufactured for private use, manufactured in a model year 1945 or earlier, is
defined as an ancient vehicle. A motor vehicle manufactured for private use, manufactured in a
model year after 1945 and of an age of 30 years or more after the model year, is defined as an antique
motor vehicle. If the vessel is used only for recreational purposes, at least 30 years old, and powered
by the vessel’s original-type power plant it may be titled and registered as an antique.

If the seller of the ancient or antique motor vehicle or antique vessel is a resident of Florida, they
must first obtain a Florida title in their name before they can sell, trade, or otherwise dispose of the
ancient or antique motor vehicle or antique vessel to a person or entity.

Proof of Ownership

Proof of ownership for an ancient or antique motor vehicle or an antique vessel includes the
following: a certificate of title; or a bill of sale and a registration in the name of the seller or a letter
from the last state of title or registration reflecting the seller as the last owner of record; or a bill of
sale and a Hold Harmless Affidavit from the current owner who is the seller.

Certificate of Title

When a customer presents a certificate of title for an ancient or antique motor vehicle or antique
vessel in their name, or the title presented has been reassigned into their name, the title will be
processed as an Original Used Title (OUT), per Procedure TL-10 or as a Florida Title Transfer (TRT),
per procedure TL-11.

Bill of Sale and Registration or Letter from Last State Record

Pers.319.22(2)(b), a sale or transfer shall be reported in the form prescribed by the department,
HSMV 82050. However, if the customer is unable to present HSMV 82050, the bill of sale presented
must contain a complete description of the motor vehicle or vessel to include the vehicle
identification number or hull identification number and the engine number for the motor vehicle or
vessel, if appropriate. The year, make, model, body type, color, selling price, address of the seller
and the purchaser along with their printed names and signatures, and the date of the sale. The bill of
sale must be notarized or contain a perjury clause.

The registration must be in the name of the person or entity that is selling the motor vehicle or
vessel.

In lieu of a registration, a letter on letterhead from the state where the motor vehicle or vessel was
last titled or registered can be provided and accepted only if the information in the letter reflects the
seller was the last person to register or title the motor vehicle or vessel in that state, and that the
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motor vehicle or vessel is no longer eligible for a title or registration, due to the age of the motor
vehicle or vessel.

Bill of Sale and Hold Harmless Affidavit

Pers.319.22(2)(b), a sale or transfer shall be reported in the form prescribed by the department,
HSMV 82050. However, if the customer is unable to present HSMV 82050, the bill of sale must contain
a complete description of the motor vehicle or vessel to include the vehicle identification number or
hull identification number and the engine number for the motor vehicle or vessel, if appropriate.
The year, make, model, body type, color, selling price, address of the seller and the purchaser along
with their printed names and signatures, and the date of the sale. The bill of sale must be notarized
or contain a perjury clause.

The Hold Harmless Affidavit must include a statement from the seller that they are the owner of the
motor vehicle or vessel, there are no liens or encumbrances on the title, and that the seller (current
owner) will defend the title against all claims. The affidavit must be notarized or include a perjury
clause.

Note: The Hold Harmless Affidavit cannot be included on the bill of sale, or any other document that
includes the signatures of both the seller and the purchaser.

Requirements for all Ancient or Antique Motor Vehicle or Antique Vessel Transactions

Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without Registration, is required to be
submitted for all ancient and antique title transactions. The application must be legible, accurately
completed, and signed by the purchaser or a person with a Power of Attorney to sign for the
purchaser.

Vehicle Identification Number Inspections

If the Florida title is issued as original used for the ancient or antique motor vehicle, a VIN
inspection is required and may be completed by the owner and one of the following:

e Military Police Officer or Law Enforcement Officer from any state

e Licensed Florida Dealer

e Notary Public commissioned by the State of Florida

e DMS Compliance Examiner/Inspector or DMS/Tax Collector employee or agent

e A sworn affidavit or HSMV 82042 Part A, signed by the purchaser and seller verifying the

identification number shown on the motor vehicle.
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Identification

A copy of the identification of the purchaser, seller, and anyone presenting a power of attorney or
letter of authorization to sign on behalf of the purchaser or seller. The copy of the identification
document must be clear and legible.
e Theidentification must be a valid driver license or identification card issued by Florida or
another state, or a valid passport.

Title Services or Individuals

Title services or individuals who create the title documents on behalf of the seller or purchaser must
also provide a copy of their valid identification as identified above, with each transaction. In
addition to personal identification, they must also provide a copy of their current Florida business
license (SunBiz) or current business license from their county or city government.

Expedited Title

If the customer requests an Expedited Title (fast title) and the customer is other than the purchaser
of the motor vehicle or vessel, the customer will need to provide the Authorization Release Affidavit,
a power of attorney or notarized/perjury clause affidavit signed by the owner allowing the recipient
to pick up the title, must be submitted. The recipient must also provide photo ID before the title
certificate can be released to them. Whether it is the purchaser or a person acting on behalf of the
purchaser, they must sign the office fast title ledger and provide identification as described above,
prior to receiving the title per Procedure TL-46.

Ancient or Antique Motor Vehicle Special License Plates and Antique Vessel Decals

Section 320.086, Florida Statutes, allows for special license plates for ancient or antique motor

vehicles. This provision includes special fees for ancient or antique motorcycles, automobiles, and
trucks, which may be obtained through the local tax collector’s office or license plate agency. Proof
of Florida insurance is required to obtain a license plate. A Horseless Carriage or Permanent Antique
license plate must be issued through the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle.

Section 328.72(2), Florida Statutes, allows for an antique vessel to receive a decal that identifies the

vessel as an antique.
Revision(s)

07/06/23 Moved “If the Florida title is issued as original used for the ancient or antique motor
vehicle, a VIN inspection is required and may be completed by the owner and one of the
following: Military Police Officer or Law Enforcement Officer from any state, Licensed Florida
Dealer, Notary Public commissioned by the State of Florida, DMS Compliance
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Examiner/Inspector or DMS/Tax Collector employee or agent, A sworn affidavit or HSMV 82042
Part A, signed by the purchaser and seller verifying the identification number shown on the
motor vehicle.” From Certificate Of Title to Vehicle Identification Number Inspection. Removed
“The HIN inspection must be completed by a member of the Florida Fish and Wildlife
Conservation Commission (FFWCC).” From Vehicle Identification Inspection section. Updated
Exhibit B Ancient or Antique Motor Vehicle or Ancient Vessel Checklist.

06/26/23: Added instructions for the new Form HSMV 82040s

03/02/23 Removed “If the seller provides a certificate of title to the purchaser, the transaction would

be processed either as an Original Used Title (OUT), per Procedure TL-10, or as a Florida Title Transfer
(TRT), per Procedure TL-1.” Added When a customer presents a certificate of title for an ancient or
antique motor vehicle or antique vessel in their name, or the title presented has been reassigned into
their name, the title will be processed as an Original Used Title (OUT), per Procedure TL-10 or as a
Florida Title Transfer (TRT), per procedure TL-11. If the Florida title is issued as original used for the
ancient or antique motor vehicle, a VIN inspection is required and may be completed by the owner
and one of the following: a Military Police Officer or Law Enforcement Officer from any state, a Licensed
Florida Dealer Notary Public commissioned by the State of Florida, a DMS Compliance
Examiner/Inspector or a DMS/Tax Collector employee or agent, or

A sworn affidavit or HSMV 82042 Part A, signed by the purchaser and seller verifying the identification
number shown on the motor vehicle. A HIN inspection is not required for an antique vessel
transaction where a certificate of title is presented as indicia of ownership. AHIN Inspection is not
required for an antique vessel transaction where a certificate of title is presented as indicia of
ownership.”_ Removed “A vehicle identification number (VIN) verification is required for all ancient or
antique motor vehicles obtaining an original Florida title. The VIN verification must be obtained at
the local Dealer Services Regional Office. Revision Date: 10/05/22 Page 4 of 7 Effective Date:
Immediately A hull identification number (HIN) inspection is required for all antique vessels
obtaining an original Florida title. The HIN inspection must be obtained by a member of the Florida
Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FFWCC). Added “When a customer presents indicia of
ownership, that is other than a certificate of title for an ancient or antique motor vehicle or an
antique vessel, a VIN or HIN inspection is required. The VIN inspection must be obtained at the local
Dealer Services Regional Office. The HIN inspection must be completed by a member of the Florida
Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FFWCC).”

10/12/22 added If the person receiving the title is not the owner of record, the Authorization Release
Affidavit, a power of attorney or notarized/perjury clause affidavit, signed by the owner allowing the
recipient to pick up the title, must be submitted. The recipient must also provide photo ID, before
the title certificate can be released to them.

10/05/22: Added A Horseless Carriage or Permanent Antique license plate must be issued through
the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle.

09/12/22: Created brand new Procedure.

Revision Date: 07/06/23 Page 6 of 8
Effective Date: Immediately



Exhibit A
SAMPLE - Hold Harmless Affidavit

DATE:

YEAR: MAKE: MODEL:

VIN/HIN:

l, am the owner (seller) of the above referenced motor

vehicle or vessel which is free and clear of all liens or encumbrances, and | agree to defend the title against all

claims.

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have read the foregoing document and that the facts stated

in it are true.

Signature of Seller Printed Name of Seller
Address of Seller
Telephone Number of Seller Driver License or ID Card Number
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Exhibit B
Ancient or Antique Motor Vehicle or Ancient Vessel Checklist

All documents must be accurately completed, signed and legible:

Form HSMV 82040

Form HSMV 82042, or VIN Inspection completed on form HSMV 82040

Proof of Ownership

Certificate of Title
_____ Billof Sale and Hold Harmless Affidavit
OR
______ Billof Sale and Out of State Registration
OR
__ Billof Sale and Letter on Letterhead (Out of State)

______ Proof of valid identification
___ Power of Attorney or Letter of Authorization/Release Affidavit
__ Florida Business License (State, County, or City)
__ Expedited Title, if applicable
License plate number or non-use affidavit
Proof of Florida Insurance, if applicable
__ SalesTaxor sales tax registration number, if applicable

Title Fees

Registration Fees, if applicable
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