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Legal Authority 

Section 319.14(1)(c)4, Florida Statutes, reads: "Assembled from parts" means a motor vehicle or 
mobile home assembled from parts or combined from parts of motor vehicles or mobile homes, new 
or used. "Assembled from parts" does not mean a motor vehicle defined as a "rebuilt vehicle" in 
subparagraph 3, which has been declared a total loss pursuant to s. 319.30, Florida Statutes. 

Section 319.23, Florida Statutes, provides for the application and issuance of certificates of title for 
motor vehicles and mobile homes. 

Section 319.30(3)(b), Florida Statutes, provides for the issuance of a certificate of destruction in lieu 
of a salvage un-rebuildable title. Motor vehicles or mobile homes with certificates of destruction are 
only good for parts or scrap. When such motor vehicle or mobile home is disassembled and acquired 
for parts, such parts may be used in assembly of various motor vehicles. 
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82040 MV should be used when processing applications for certificate of title for the following 

vehicle types: 

o AU-Auto o TO - Tools 

o BS- Bus o TR- Truck 

o MC - Motorcycle o TT - Travel Trailers 

o OH - Off-Highway o VT - Vehicle Trailers 

Section 319.30(8)(c), Florida Statutes, states “For the purpose of enforcement of this section, the 
department or its agents and employees have the same right of inspection as law enforcement 
officers as provided in s. 812.055.” 

Section 319.32(1), Florida Statutes, provides that if an application for a certificate of title is for a 
vehicle that is required by s. 319.14(1)(b) to have a physical examination, FLHSMV shall charge an 
additional fee of $40 for the initial examination and $20 for each subsequent examination. 

Section 319.33(5), Florida Statutes, provides for any approved replacement manufacturer's 
identification number plates or serial plates or any decal to be issued by FLHSMV or any state. 

Description and Use 

The procedure provides information and instructions to assist employees of tax collector, license 
plate agent and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) in 
processing applications for a certificate of title for motor vehicle, mobile home, motorcycle, or trailer 
assembled from parts. 

As of July 01, 2023, FLHSMV has updated the Form HSMV 82040 Application for Certificate of Title 
With/Without Registration. HSMV 82040 has been updated into three separate forms: 

• HSMV 82040 MV – Application for Certificate of Motor Vehicle Title - HSMV 82040 MV 

• HSMV 82040 VS – Application for Certificate of Vessel Title – HSMV 82040 VS 

HSMV 82040 VS should be used when processing applications for certificate of title for the following 
vehicle type: VS – Vessel 

• HSMV 82040 MH – Application for Certificate of Mobile Home – HSMV 82040 MH 
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HSMV 82040 MH should be used when processing applications for certificate of title for the following 
vehicle type: MH – Mobile Home 

Effective July 01, 2023, all certificate of Florida titles issued for Vessels will be required to be 
processed using Form HSMV 82040 VS – Application for Certificate of Vessel Title. The signed Form 
HSMV 82041 will no longer be accepted in lieu of Form HSMV 82040 VS. 

FLHSMV anticipates accepting the current HSMV 82040 – Application for Certificate of Title 
With/Without Registration for Motor Vehicles and Mobile Homes until December 31, 2023. 

Effective January 01, 2024, all certificate of Florida titles issued for Motor Vehicles and Mobile Homes 
will be required to be processed using Forms HSMV 82040 MV – Application for Certificate of Motor 
Vehicle Title and HSMV 82040 MH – Application for Certificate of Mobile Home Title. 

General Information 

ASPT (assembled from parts) is a designation for motor vehicles, mobile homes, motorcycles, 
trailers, and off-highway vehicles that are assembled from parts of other motor vehicles, mobile 
homes, motorcycles, trailers, or off-highway vehicles, new or used, and placed on an existing frame 
or a frame that is homemade. Parts from a Certificate of Destruction (CD) may be used; however, 
the vehicle will only be considered as an ASPT as long as 49% or less of the parts come from a 
single Certificate of Destruction (CD) vehicle. These vehicles are inspected in the Regional 
Office and a FLA number is assigned. The make will be an ASPT and the model year will be the 
year the vehicle was assembled. A three-wheel motorcycle made from a motor vehicle is also 
designated as ASPT. 

Motor vehicles, mobile homes, motorcycles, trailers, and off-highway vehicles must be in their 
completed state before applying for a certificate of title. ASPT applications must be submitted to a 
Regional Office in the applicant’s region. 

The applicant should be prepared to give the Compliance Examiner all the original documents, and 
one set of photocopies in a 5x7 or 8x10 inch envelope. 

If the application is rejected, the Compliance Examiner will hold the paperwork until the reason for 
the rejection has been satisfied. 

Inspection Fee: An initial inspection fee of $40 will be charged; subsequent inspection fees (if 
applicable) are $20 per inspection. 
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Documentation Required and Special Instructions 

The MAKE will be ASPT and the model YEAR will be the year the motor vehicle, mobile home, trailer 
or off-highway vehicle is assembled. An "FLA" (Florida Assigned Vehicle Identification Number) decal 
or "FLT" (Florida Assigned Trailer Number) will be assigned by a Compliance Examiner to the motor 
vehicle, mobile home, or trailer when the application is reviewed and found to be in order. The 
motor vehicle, mobile home, trailer, or off-highway vehicle will be branded as “assembled from 
parts.” 

After the provisions of Section 319.23, F.S., have been met, the following documents must be 
submitted and screened for completeness and accuracy. 

A. To use frames from motor vehicles, mobile homes and motorcycles titled in Florida or out of state: 

1. The Florida Certificate of Title issued in the applicant's name or assigned for transfer to the 
applicant. (Once title is received, the database record will be marked "Cancelled (Junked)." If 
a certificate of title cannot be obtained, see Procedure TL-07. 

or, 

The out-of-state proof of ownership issued in the name of the applicant or accurately 
assigned/completed for transfer to the applicant. If title cannot be obtained, see Procedure 
TL-07. 

If the proof of ownership used is a certificate of destruction or salvage un-rebuildable certificate of 
title (issued prior to 10/01/00), submit a bill of sale showing the vehicle identification number along 
with a photocopy of the certificate of destruction or salvage un-rebuildable certificate of title. Do not 
submit the original certificate of destruction or salvage un-rebuildable certificate of title. 

2. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without Registration, showing the 
new "FLA" number, which was assigned by the Compliance Examiner. 

3. Form HSMV 84490, Statement of Builder, completed, by the applicant and the Compliance 
Examiner. 

4. The original bills of sale or receipts with name, address, and signature of the seller for all 
major component parts. A signature is not required on a business receipt. The identification 
number for each major component part used to assemble the motor vehicle/motorcycle must 
be shown on the bill of sale/receipt for that part. The bill of sale or receipt for any engine must 
also include the year of the engine. Receipts/bills of sale must be in the name of the 
applicant/builder. 

a. Motor vehicle major component parts are defined as: 

1. Any fender, hood and bumper 

2. The cowl assembly (fire wall, the top portion of the front part of an automobile body, 
supporting the windshield and dashboard) 

3. The rear quarter panel, trunk lid, door, decklid, and floor pan 
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4. The engine, a machine that converts energy into mechanical motion; the source of power 

5. The frame, an open structure or rim encasing, holding or bordering 

6. The transmission, an automotive assembly of gears and associated parts by which power is 
transmitted from the engine to a driving axle; a system of gears 

7. The catalytic converter 

8. The airbag. 

b. Truck major component parts are defined as all of the above listed parts and any truck bed, 
including dump, wrecker, crane, mixer, cargo box or any bed that mounts to a truck frame. 

c. Motorcycle major component parts are defined as: 

1. The body assembly (frame, fenders, and gas tanks) or any single part of the body assembly. 
Harley Davidson frames prior to 1970 do not have vehicle identification numbers. Bills of sale 
for these frames are acceptable. This does not include other makes. 

2. The engine (a machine that converts energy into mechanical motion; the source of power) 
means cylinder block, heads, engine case and crank case. 

3. The transmission (an automotive assembly of gears and associated parts by which power is 
transmitted from the engine to a driving axle; a system of gears) means drive train. 

A Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) for a crankcase or transmission case does not do 
away with the requirement for a bill of sale or receipt for the engine or transmission. 

4. The front fork assembly (or any single part of the front fork assembly). 

5. Wheels. 

d. Mobile home major component parts are defined as the frame. An "FLA" number will be 
assigned for a mobile home. 

5. Accurately complete form HSMV 82040 Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title 
and/or Registration for Florida sales tax, or to specify the sales tax exemption information. 

Sales tax must be collected according to the purchase price of the motor vehicle and the 
purchase price of all component part bills of sale where sales tax was not collected. 

6. A certified weight slip for the completed vehicle (unless it is a motorcycle or a mobile 
home/trailer - HS, TV, CA, etc.), which is registered according to the length and not the 
weight. 

7. All title fees should be submitted to the Tax Collector’s office or the license plate agent. 
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The applicant will be given the original copies of both HSMV 82040 and HSMV 84490, as well 
as photocopies of all bills of sale/receipts for all major component parts, which must be 
presented to the Tax Collector’s office or license plate agent. The documentation will be in a 
5x7 or 8x10 envelope, which has been sealed by the Compliance Examiner. The examiner will 
place their regional stamp over the sealed area of the envelope. If the seal appears to be 
broken, do not accept the documentation in the envelope. They must be referred to the 
Regional Office. If the envelope is acceptable, the Tax Collector personnel must verify that the 
bills of sale submitted to them are the same number as those indicated on the HSMV 84490. 
At that time, the applicant can transfer or purchase a metal license plate. All documentation 
must be submitted to FLHSMV by the Tax Collector’s office or License Plate Agent. 

When the title transaction is processed, the processing agent must enter the Region number 
of the Region inspecting the vehicle and the audit number of the FLA decal affixed to the 
vehicle or mobile home in the “Comment Desc.” field. 

If the application is processed in the Regional Office, all documentation must be submitted 
to: 

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

High-Speed Scanning Unit, Clara H. Adams Bldg. MS #71,. 

2968 Apalachee Parkway Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0500 

B. When the frame used is homemade, the following items must be submitted to a Tax 
Collector’s office or license plate agent: 

1. An affidavit describing the construction of the frame, as well as verifying that the 
frame is homemade. 

2. All documentation listed in Section III, A, 2-7. 

C. When a motorcycle has previously been titled in another state showing the make as 
the original Manufactured Brand Name (example: HD, etc.), and the VIN shown is for 
an aftermarket frame vehicle identification number, the below needs to be submitted 
to a Tax Collector’s office or license plate agent: 

1. Out-of-state proof of ownership issued in the name of the applicant or accurately 
assigned/completed for transfer to the applicant. 

2. Form HSMV 82040 showing the new "FLA" number, which was assigned by the DMS 
Compliance Examiner. 

3. Form HSMV 84490 completed by the DMS Compliance Examiner. 

4. Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax exemption information on a completed HSMV 
82040. 

5. Title fees should be submitted to the Tax Collector’s office or license plate agent. 
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The applicant will be given the original HSMV 82040 and the original HSMV 84490, which must be 
presented to the Tax Collector’s office or license plate agent. The documentation will be in a 5x7 or 
8x10 envelope, which has been sealed by the Compliance Examiner. The examiner will place their 
regional stamp over the sealed area of the envelope. 

If the seal appears to be broken, do not accept the documentation in the envelope. They must be 
referred to the Regional Office. If the Tax Collector personnel finds the envelope acceptable, the 
applicant can transfer or purchase a metal license plate for the motorcycle. 

All documentation must be submitted to FLHSMV by the Tax Collector or License Plate Agent. 

When the title transaction is processed, the processing agent must enter the Region number of the 
Region inspecting the vehicle and the audit number of the FLA decal affixed to the motorcycle in the 
“Comment Desc.” Field. 

If the application is processed in the Regional Office, all documentation must be submitted to 
FLHSMV for imaging to: 

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

High-Speed Scanning Unit, Clara H. Adams Bldg. MS# 71, 

2968 Apalachee Parkway Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0500 

D. Assembled from Parts Trailers (TL body type, Weighing 2,000 pounds or more): 

The documentation for the trailer (TL) must be submitted to a Regional Office servicing the area in 
which the applicant resides. A temporary license plate may be issued by the Regional Office for the 
customer to transport the trailer to be weighed or inspected. When issuing a temporary license plate 
in the motor vehicle issuance system, please follow these steps: 

- Go to “Registration”, then “Original”; Select “Regular”. 

- Choose “Menu” at the top and “Create a TIN Number.” 

The system will create a TIN number, which will identify the trailer until the new FLT is assigned. If 
found to be in order, a Compliance Examiner will assign an "FLT" number to the trailer. The "FLT" 
number must be either die-cut (1/4-inch stamp) or be welded to the trailer in a permanent and 
visible location (usually on the tow hitch or near the front portion of the trailer). The die-cut or 
welded number must include the prefix "FLT". The placement of the "FLT" identification number on 
all ASPT trailers must be inspected by a Compliance Examiner. If the trailer identification number is 
not legible, the certification will not be approved. 

Only trailers (TL) weighing 2,000 pounds or more are required to be titled. Trailers (TL) with a net 
weight of 1,999 or less are not allowed to be titled. 
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Any ASPT trailer (TL) weighing 2,000 pounds or more, which is titled according to the weight of the 
trailer will be assigned an "FLT" number. Any trailer NOT titled according to the weight of the trailer 
(TV, CA, HS, etc.) will be assigned an "FLA" number. 

The owner is responsible for the construction and safety of the trailer. 

If only repairs have been made on a factory-built trailer, it will not be considered an assembled from 
parts trailer. 

1. The following documentation is required for an FLT number to be assigned by the 
Regional Office: 

a. Form HSMV 82040 completed by the purchaser(s). 

b. An affidavit outlining the assembly process and stating the trailer is road worthy. 

c. An affidavit stating the frame is homemade and describing the construction of the 
frame. 

d. The original bills of sale or receipts with the name, address and signature of the seller 
for all major component parts. A signature is not required on a business receipt. 

Trailer component parts are defined as: 

1. The axle, a supporting shaft or member on which a wheel or wheels revolve. 

2. The frame, an open structure or rim encasing, holding, or bordering. 

3. The body, or the cargo-carrying part of a trailer. 

Inspection Fee: An initial inspection fee of $40 will be charged; 
subsequent inspection fees (if applicable) are $20 per 
inspection. 

2. When the inspection and “Florida Trailer (FLT) Serial Number Assignment” form have 
been completed by the Compliance Examiner, the applicant should submit the following 
to the Tax Collector’s office or license plate agent: 

a. “Florida Trailer (FLT) Serial Number Assignment” form, showing the “FLT" 
(Florida Licensed Trailer) number assigned to the trailer, accurately completed 
by a Compliance Examiner. 

b. Original HSMV 82040 accurately completed by the purchaser(s). 
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c. The certified weight slip for the completed trailer. 

d. Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax exemption information on a completed 
HSMV 82040 Sales tax must be collected according to the purchase price of the 
motor vehicle and the purchase price of all component part bills of sale where 
sales tax was not already collected. 

e. Title fees. 

The applicant will be given the original HSMV 82040 and “Florida Trailer (FLT) 
Serial Number Assignment” form, along with photocopies of all bills of 
sale/receipts for all major component parts, which must be presented to the 
Tax Collector’s office or License Plate Agent. The documentation will be in a 
5x7 or 8x10 envelope, which has been sealed by the Compliance Examiner. The 
examiner will place their regional stamp over the sealed area of the envelope. If 
the seal appears to be broken, do not accept the documentation in the 
envelope. The customer must be referred to the Regional Office. If the 
envelope is acceptable, the applicant can transfer or purchase a metal license 
plate. All documentation must be submitted to FLHSMV by the Tax Collector’s 
office or license plate agent. 

When the title transaction is processed, the processing agent must enter the Region number of the 
Region inspecting the trailer. 

If the trailer was assigned an FLA number (instead of an FLT), the audit number of the FLA decal 
(when applicable) must be entered in the “Comment Desc.” Field. Any ASPT trailer (TL) weighing 
2,000 pounds or more, which is titled according to the weight of the trailer, will be assigned an "FLT" 
number. 

Any trailer NOT titled according to the weight of the trailer (TV, CA, HS, etc.) will be assigned an "FLA" 
number. 

If the application is processed in the Regional Office, all documentation must be submitted to 
FLHSMV for imaging to: 

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

High-Speed Scanning Unit, Clara H. Adams Bldg. MS# 71, 

2968 Apalachee Parkway Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0500 
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Miscellaneous Information 

A. Some confusion may occur when a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) for a crank case 
or transmission case is submitted. This MCO only covers the crank case or transmission case, 
not the engine or transmission. Accordingly, the submission of the crank case or transmission 
case MCO does not do away with the requirement for a bill of sale or receipt for the engine or 
transmission. 

B. Assigned "FLA" decals must be placed in the driver’s door in a conspicuous (visible) place for 
motor vehicles, and as near as possible to the right-side frame down tube for motorcycles. 
The assigned decal must be placed in the main door jam, hinge side, just below the lower 
hinge on mobile homes. Decals must not be placed on a removable part. 

C. Remove the red and white decal from the clear laminate strip and affix. Slice through the 
decal before placing the clear laminate strip on top of the decal. 

D. Applicants are responsible for scheduling an appointment with a Compliance Examiner for 
examination of their documents. 

E. The odometer reading on a motor vehicle or a motorcycle that has been assembled from 
parts will be branded NOT ACTUAL MILEAGE. 

F. If all parts for the assembled motor vehicles, mobile homes, motorcycles or assembled from 
parts trailer are provided by the builder, the builder must take title in his name, before it can 
be sold. 

G. If the assembled vehicle had a prior FLA decal number that is still attached, it must be 
removed by the Compliance Examiner when the new FLA decal number is assigned and 
affixed. 

H. An FLA number is issued to any off-highway (OH) assembled from parts vehicle. The title will 
reflect “ASPT” as the make and “OH” as the body type. It will be branded as “assembled from 
parts.” 

I. If the applicant is a legal resident of Florida but resides out of state for a portion of the year or 
is a Florida resident on active military duty out of state, the application must be submitted 
directly to the Regional Office serving the applicant's county of residence. The applicant must 
comply with all requirements listed in Section II, A, 1-7 of this procedure. An affidavit 
outlining the assembly process and stating the motor vehicle/motorcycle is road operable OR 
in the case of a mobile home, complete for occupancy (livable condition), may be submitted 
by the applicant in lieu of his/her portion of the "Statement of Builder." If the application is in 
order, an "FLA" decal number will be assigned by the Regional Office and mailed to a specific 
out of state law enforcement officer or military law enforcement authority in the applicant's 
transient state, along with a certification document for certifying that the "FLA" decal number 
has been properly affixed. The certification document must be completed/signed by the out 
of state law enforcement officer or military law enforcement authority and returned to the 
Regional Office so the certificate of title can be issued. 
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Applicant must meet the requirement of a legal resident as defined in Section 320.01(35), 
Florida Statutes, as a person who has his or her principal place of domicile in this state for a 
period of more than 6 consecutive months, who has registered to vote in this state, who has 
made a statement of domicile or who has filed for homestead tax exemption on property in 
this state. 

If the applicant is a business, the federal identification number (FEID) is required. If the motor 
vehicle or mobile home is registered to a business, 

the name and street address of the permanent residence of an owner of the business, an 
officer of the corporation, or an employee who is in a supervisory position is required. 

J. If an applicant applying for a certificate of title to an assembled from parts motor 
vehicle is no longer a legal resident of the state of Florida, an FLA decal number will 
not be assigned, and a Florida Certificate of Title will not be issued. 

K. A ten (10) day temporary license plate may be issued when a motor vehicle must be 
inspected to apply for a Florida Certificate of Title or for registration purposes (Refer to 
RS-31 for additional information). 

L. When ONLY the cab (regardless of the year and make) of a motor vehicle (non-branded 
title) has been replaced, the customer must contact a Regional Office for assistance. 
The motor vehicle will be considered as an ASPT. Therefore, the title will be branded 
as an "ASPT" and an FLA decal number will be assigned. 

M. Any heavy truck or tractor truck with a body type of TR that’s modified to a dump 
truck must be processed as an assembled from parts (ASPT) vehicle. The customer 
must be referred to a Regional Office in their county of residence. The Tax Collector’s 
office or license plate agent should NOT perform a change of body/correction 
transaction on these vehicles. The Regional Office will inspect, per Section 
319.14(1)(b), the vehicle and all associated paperwork and if the vehicle is in 
compliance, an "FLA” number will be issued. The $40 inspection fee and appropriate 
title fees will be applicable. The Regional Office may process a new certificate of title 
showing the make as "ASPT." The office may also provide the consumer with a 
sealed envelope containing all supporting documentation for submission to a tax 
collector or license plate agent for the issuance of the new title for the “ASPT.” 

N. If a customer has built a homemade dune buggy (which they state is street legal), you 
should have them contact a local Regional Office for assistance. 

O. A customer can locate an address and telephone number for the Regional Office 
assigned to their county by using the below link: 

http://www.flhsmv.gov/locations/ 

P. A documentation check list is attached to this procedure as Exhibit A. 

Q. A list of Questions and Answers (Assembled from Parts) is attached as Exhibit B. 
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http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0300-0399/0319/0319.html
http://www.flhsmv.gov/locations/


       

 

     

 

 

    

 
     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

R. Pictures of major component parts are attached to Procedure TL-37 as Exhibit C. 

Revision(s) 

06/26/23: Added instructions for the new Form HSMV 82040s 

7/23/13 Updated the name of the form for FLT numbers on page 7, 8 & Exhibit A. Updated the “unit” 
name on pages 5, 6, & 8. Added additional information on pages 5, 6 & 8. 

Revision Date: 06/26/23 Page 12 of 15 

Effective Date:  Immediately 

https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/tl/tl-37.pdf


       

 

 

 

 

 

                                                                                                             

   
 

   

  

 

 

  

 

   

  

 

 

 

  

 

 

  

  

  

 

  

   

  

EXHIBIT A 

ASSEMBLED FROM PARTS CHECK LIST 

FORMS 

FLORIDA RECORD OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 

_______ Florida title or
ownership 

                                                                                              _______ Out-of-state proof of 

alternate proof of ownership or alternate proof of ownership 

_______ HSMV 82040 

_______ HSMV 84490, Statement of Builder 

_______ Original bills of sale and/or receipts for all major component parts 

_______ Certified weight slip for motor vehicles 

_______ Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form HSMV 82040 

_______ All title fees 

WHEN FRAME IS HOMEMADE 

_______ HSMV 82040 

_______ HSMV 84490, Statement of Builder 

_______ Affidavit stating the frame is homemade and describing construction of the frame 

_______ Original bills of sale for all major component parts 

_______ Certified weight slip for motor vehicles 

_______ Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form HSMV 82040 

_______ Florida license plate number or non-use affidavit or mobile home decal or RP decal 

Revision Date: 06/26/23 Page 13 of 15 
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_______ All title fees 

CHECK LIST FOR ASPT TRAILERS (weighing 2,000 pounds or more) 

_______ Florida Trailer (FLT) Serial Number Assignment form 

_______ HSMV 82040 

_______ Certified weight slip 

_______ Affidavit outlining assembly process and stating trailer is road worthy 

_______ Affidavit stating the frame is homemade and describing the construction of the frame 

_______ Bills of sale for all major component parts 

_______ Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form HSMV 82040 

_______ Florida license plate or non-use affidavit 

_______ All title fees 

An initial inspection fee of $40 will be charged; subsequent inspection fees (if applicable) are $20 per 
inspection. 

Revision Date: 06/26/23 Page 14 of 15 
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2. 

3. 

4. 

Q. 

EXHIBIT B 

FRE.QUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND AINSWERS (ASSEMBLED FIROM P·ARTS) 

Can I take parts from two (2) o r more vehides that have been branded as a 
Certificate of Destruction (CD) and create an ASPT from these parts? 

A No. However, you can take parts from three (3) or more CD vehicles to create an 
ASPT as long as 49% or less of the parts come from a single CD vehicle. 

Q. Can I take parts from a CD and add new aftermariket or used parts to the CD vehicle 
parts and create an ASPT? 

A Yes, if 49% or l.ess of the parts come from a single CD vehide. 

Q. At what point would it be considered that I am rebuilding the CD vehicle? 

A When 50% or more of the parts used to b1Uild theASPT came from a single CD vehicle. 

Q. Can I take parts from a CD vehicle and utilize them on another CD vehicle and 
create an ASPT? (By calling it an ASPT, we are assigning a new FLA VIN and not 
using tihe CD vehicle's original VIN.) 

A No. See Q1Uestion l above. 

EXHIBIT B 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS (ASSEMBLED FROM PARTS) 
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