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Legal Authority

Section 319.17(1), Florida Statutes, Rules; forms; indexes and records - The department has authority to

adopt rules pursuant to ss. 120.536 (1) and 120.54 to implement the provisions of this chapter, including

rules that allow alternative methods of proof of satisfaction of liens.

Section 319.24(5)(a), Florida Statutes, Upon satisfaction of any first lien, judgment lien, or encumbrance

recorded at the department or upon lapse of a judgment lien, the owner of the motor vehicle or mobile
home, as shown on the title certificate, or the person satisfying the lien is entitle to demand and receive
from the lien holder a satisfaction of the lien.

Section 319.24(5)(b), Florida Statutes, Following satisfaction of a lien or upon satisfaction or lapse of a

judgment lien, the lienholder shall enter a satisfaction thereof in the space provided on the face of the
certificate of title.

Section 319.24(5)(c), Florida Statutes, If the certificate of title shows a subsequent lien not then being

discharged, an executed satisfaction of the first lien shall be delivered by the lienholder to the person
satisfying the lien and the certificated of title showing satisfaction of the first lien shall be forwarded by the
lien holder to the department within 10 days of satisfaction of lien.
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Section 319.24(5)(d), Florida Statutes, If, upon receipt of a title certificate showing satisfaction of the first
lien, the department determines from its records that there are no subsequent liens or encumbrances upon
the motor vehicle or mobile home, the department shall forward to the owner, as shown on the face of the
title, a corrected certificate showing no liens or encumbrances.

Section 319.24(8), Florida Statutes, If there are one or more liens or encumbrances on the motor vehicle or
mobile home, the department shall electronically transmit the lien to the first lienholder and notify the first
lienholder and notify the first lienholder of any additional liens.

and encumbrances.

Sections 328.16(4), Florida Statutes, If there are one or more liens, security interests, or encumbrances on a

vessel, the department shall electronically transmit the lien or security interest to the first lienholder or
secured party and notify the first lienholder or secured party of any additional liens or security interests.

Section 319.241, Florida Statutes, Removal of lien from records - The owner of a motor vehicle or mobile

home upon which a lien has been filed with the department or noted upon a certificate of title for a period
of 5 years may apply to the department in writing for such lien to be removed from the department files or
from the certificate of title.

Section 319.32(1), Florida Statutes, Fees; service charges; disposition. - The department shall charge the
following fees: Original certificate of title, $70 (except for motor vehicle for hire registered under s. 320.08(6),
$49; Duplicate copy of certificate of title, $70 (except for motor vehicle for hire registered under s. 320.08(6),
$49; Salvage certificate of title, $2; Assignment by a lienholder, $3 each; Noting a lien on a title certificate,

2.

Section 328.15, Florida Statutes, Notice of lien on vessel; recording. - Upon the payment of a lien, the debtor

or the registered owner of the motorboat shall be entitled to demand and receive from the lienholder a
satisfaction of the lien which shall likewise be filed with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor
Vehicles.

Section 328.15(5), Florida Statutes, When the original certificate of the title cannot be returned to the
department by the lienholder and evidence satisfactory to the department is produced that all liens or
encumbrances have satisfied, upon application by the owner for a duplicate copy of the certificate of title,

upon the form prescribed by the department, accompanied, by the fee prescribed in this chapter, a
duplicate copy of the certificate of title without statement of liens or encumbrances shall be issued by the
department and delivered to the owner.

For additional information about FLHSMV’s Electronic Lien and Titling (ELT) system please visit the
following link: https://www.flhsmv.gov/motor-vehicles-tags-titles/electronic-lien-titles.
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Description and Use
This procedure provides information and instructions to assist employees of the tax collector, license plate

agents, and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) for establishing
requirements for lien satisfactions and alternate methods of removing recorded liens.

As of July 01, 2023, FLHSMV has updated the Form HSMV 82040 Application for Certificate of Title
With/Without Registration. HSMV 82040 has been updated into three separate forms:

e Application for Certificate of Motor Vehicle Title - HSMV 82040 MV

HSMV 82040 MV should be used when processing applications for certificate of title for the following vehicle

types:
o AU -Auto TO -Tools
o BS-Bus TR - Truck

TT - Travel Trailers
VT - Vehicle Trailers

o MC- Motorcycle
o OH - Off-Highway

O O O O

e Application for Certificate of Vessel Title - HSMV 82040 VS

HSMV 82040 VS should be used when processing applications for certificate of title for the following vehicle
type: VS - Vessel

e Application for Certificate of Mobile Home - HSMV 82040 MH

HSMV 82040 MH should be used when processing applications for certificate of title for the following vehicle
type: MH - Mobile Home

Effective July 01, 2023, all certificate of Florida titles issued for Vessels will be required to be processed using
form Application for Certificate of Vessel Title - HSMV 82040 VS. The signed Form HSMV 82041 will no longer
be accepted in lieu of Form HSMV 82040 VS.

FLHSMV anticipates accepting the current HSMV 82040 - Application for Certificate of Title With/Without
Registration for Motor Vehicles and Mobile Homes until December 31, 2023.

Effective January 01, 2024, all certificate of Florida titles issued for Motor Vehicles and Mobile Homes will be
required to be processed using forms Application for Certificate of Motor Vehicle Title - HSMV 82040 MV and
Application for Certificate of Mobile Home Title - HSMV 82040 MH.
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Required Documentation and Special Instructions
A. Statutory Requirements:

Upon satisfaction of any first lien recorded by FLHSMV, the owner of the motor vehicle, mobile home,
or vessel as shown on the certificate of title or the person satisfying the lien shall be entitled to
demand and receive from the lienholder a satisfaction of the lien.

Following satisfaction of a lien, the lienholder shall enter a satisfaction in the space provided on the
front of the certificate of title. If there are no subsequent liens shown, the certificate of title must be
delivered by the lienholder to the person satisfying the lien. A properly completed lien satisfaction
on a form provided by the department shall be forwarded to the department by the lienholder within
10 days of satisfaction of the lien.

1. Ifthe lienholder requests the title when satisfying an electronic lien, the title will be printed, and
the applicable fee collected. If the lienholder does not request the title when satisfying an
electronic lien, the title will remain electronic until the registered owner requests to have it
printed.

2. When a customer submits a certificate of title to a tax collector’s office or license plate agency
indicating that the lien(s) was satisfied on the face of the title, a new certificate of title showing
no liens will be issued if the motor vehicle issuance system reflects no subsequent lien(s) on the
title. The applicable fee is charged for shipping and mailing the title. An additional fee is charged
if the owner requests a fast title.

a. Forlienson file, process this as a Lien Add/Delete/Reassign.
b. Forno liens on file, process this as a Title Correction.

3. When the lien shown on the face of the title is satisfied by an entity other than the one shown on
the title, a copy of the merger papers or the corporate charter must be submitted unless the tax
collector’s office or license plate agency can determine that the entities are the same.

B. Methods for Removal of a Recorded Liens (Paper and Electronic):

1. Toremove arecorded lien, complete the lien satisfaction section on the front of the certificate of
title or form Lien Satisfaction - HSMV 82260.
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2. Ifthe certificate of title shows a subsequent lien, the first lienholder should provide a properly
completed lien satisfaction for the first lien to the person satisfying the lien. The lienholder must
forward the certificate of title to FLHSMV within 10 days of satisfaction of the lien.

3. When satisfying or updating an existing non-ELT that does not have an ELT Exception on file, you
must select the applicable ELT Exception to continue with the transaction. See TL-69 for the ELT
notification letter. See ELT modifications and exception reasons at the link below.

Important Notice — February 8, 2013 FRVIS Release - ELT Modifications

4. None of the following scenarios require completion of the certificate of title or form HSMV 82260:

a. When alien is secured through the ELT program, the lienholder is responsible for
electronically releasing the lien. If the lienholder has difficulty trying to release a lien
through the ELT program, the lienholder should contact its third-party vendor. The
Division of Motorist Services (MS) cannot release a lien that is secured through the ELT
program even when it has a paper lien satisfaction. So, if a customer submits form HSMV
82260, or a letter showing a “satisfaction of lien,” it should be rejected. If form HSMV
82260 is being presented as alternate proof of lien satisfaction due to unsuccessful
attempts to contact the lienholder, contact the Field Support Center for assistance. Some
financial branches may not know that their company participates in the ELT program. Tax
collector offices or license plate agencies should encourage these branches to contact
their headquarters for guidance and direction. For a list of ELT third party service
providers, visit the website below. https://www.flhsmv.gov/motor-vehicles-tags-

titles/dealers-installers-manufacturers-distributors-importers/authorized-service-
providers/electronic-lien-and-titles/

b. If the lienholder has been issued a permit to use a perforation, the title or form HSMV
82260 may be perforated. This perforation must show: (1) name of the lienholder; (2) the
word “Paid”; and (3) the date of satisfaction.

| PAID |
12 o1 20 |
| GMAC
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c. Ifthelienholder has been assigned a permit number to use a stamp, the title or form
HSMV 82260 may be stamped. This stamp must show: (1) name of the lienholder; (2) the
word “Paid”; (3) the date of satisfaction; and (4) the permit number issued by FLHSMV.

ANYWHERE BANK AND TRUST
SOMEWHERE USA

0 )/x\ []

March 01, 2020

LA

NUMEER 000

d. Ifthe lienholder has not been assigned a permit number but uses a stamp for satisfying a
lien on the title or form HSMV 82260, the stamp must show: (1) name of the lienholder; (2)
the word “Paid”; (3) the date of satisfaction; and (4) the complete signature of the
authorized representative of the lienholder.

Tallahassee, FL, USA

PAID

dm.%mgaaﬂ A’fmﬂi‘f% Leenkslter

Satisfied: ©3/0//2020

Some Bank and Trust ]
|

|

The lienholder’s PAID stamp may not look exactly like the ones shown above or on the previous
page. Regardless, the stamp must contain the name of the lienholder and the date the lien was
paid in full.

If a lienholder holds more than one lien recorded on the certificate of title and intends to remove
one of the liens, the lienholder should not use a paid stamp or perforation because it will remove
all liens. The lienholder should show the satisfaction of lien on the certificate of title or complete
a separate lien satisfaction.

Alienholder must apply to the Division of Motorist Services for authorization to use a perforated
stamp or an assigned permit number stamp. The mailing address is:

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Lienholder Authorization, MS #68
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2900 Apalachee Parkway
Tallahassee, FL 32399

If an out of state lien is recorded on a Florida certificate of title, a satisfaction of lien on letterhead
stationery from the out of state lienholder is acceptable. The signature does not have to be
notarized.

The lien satisfaction must be original and contain a complete description of the motor vehicle,
mobile home, or vessel to include year, make, vehicle identification number or hull number, and
the owner’s and lienholder’s name as it appears in the motor vehicle issuance system. No email,
photocopy or fax accepted.

If an application is received with an out of state certificate of title showing no outstanding liens
and the motor vehicle issuance system reflects a previous Florida “paper” title record with an
outstanding lien, the title application may be accepted without a lien satisfaction. The Florida
title should be issued without a lien. However, if the previous Florida title record is displaying a
current/active (not satisfied) “electronic lien” status instead of paper, do not process the title
application. Contact Field Support Center for assistance.

Alternate Method of Removal of Recorded Liens

When a lien has been paid in full and the lienholder CAN or CANNOT be located to properly satisfy the
recorded lien, the owner of the motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel must submit the following to the local

tax collector’s office or license plate agent in order to have the lien removed from the motor vehicle

issuance system.

A. The Lienis Paid in Full;

When a lien is electronic it is required to be satisfied electronically. Therefore, when an electronic

lien has not been satisfied electronically do not clear the lien by using the process below. An e-lien

representative will email the provider to contact the assigned lienholder and inform them to remove

the lien with proper documentation. If attempts to contact the lienholder have been unsuccessful,

the customer must submit proof of certified mail attempting to contact the lienholder, lien

satisfaction documentation, or follow procedure TL-07 requirements for release of lien.

1. HSMV 82040 MV, or HSMV 82040 MH, or HSMV 82040 VS, as applicable, completed by the
customer along with the Florida certificate of title, if available,
Or,
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Application for Duplicate or Lost in Transit/Reassignment for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home,
or Vessel Title Certificate - HSMV 82101, if the certificate of title is not available,
And,

2. Thereturned, undelivered, unopened, certified letter addressed to the lienholder of record
that was mailed to the lienholder and returned by the postal authorities with the envelope
showing the reason the letter was undelivered. The processing clerk is responsible for
opening the letter to verify the request for a lien satisfaction. The initials of the processing
clerk, who opened the envelope and the date it was opened must be handwritten on the
envelope.

Or,

The post office returned receipt card for the certified mail, signed by the lienholder, along
with the paid receipt for the certified mail and a photocopy of the letter that was sent. The
letter must be mailed not less than 20 days prior to the date of the application.

3. Theoriginal or a photocopy of the sales contract stamped “Paid in Full” by the lienholder and
countersigned by an authorized representative of the lienholder; or canceled checks, or
photocopies of the canceled checks made payable to the lienholder; or signed receipts from
the lienholder showing the total amount of lien was paid in full. These must be accompanied
by the owner’s copy of the sales contract, which reflects the total amount and the date of the
lien. If there was no sales contract at the time of purchase and no record of the amount of
lien, the owner must wait for the lien to be over 5 years old, then comply with instructions
provided in section Alternate Method of removal of Recorded Liens A.1-2 of this procedure or
submit a court order satisfying the lien.

4. Title fees.

B. Judgment Lien Certificate

When a second Judgment Lien Certificate is submitted for the same lienor against the same
registered owner and the same motor vehicle or vessel for which the first Judgment Lien
Certificate was recorded, s. 319. 241, Florida Statutes, requires that the first Judgment Lien
Certificate be removed and the second Judgment Lien Certificate submitted be recorded at the
end of all liens on the title. The instructions to remove the first Judgment Lien Certificate and
record the second Judgment lien Certificate are below:

1. Verify the customer submitting the second Judgment Lien Certificate meets all the
requirements found in TL-32, Documentation Required and Special Instructions section,
F.
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2. Find the first Judgment Lien Certificate by searching Title History for the vehicle or
vessel where a lien with ELT Exception of “Court Order” exists and the comment “Lien
per FS 55.205” was added.

3. While processing the title transaction delete the lien found in step 2.

4. While processing the title transaction add the lien submitted by the customer in step 1.

Miscellaneous information

A. There may be asituation where one lienholder sells a lien to another lienholder and the new lienholder
does not submit the certificate of title (along with form HSMV 82139) to a tax collector’s office or
license plate agency in order to process the assignment of lien transaction. When this happens and
the customer pays the new lienholder off. A satisfaction of lien is acceptable from the new lienholder
(in lieu of a satisfaction from the lienholder on the title) if it is submitted along with a copy of an
“assignment of mortgage/lien” contract or completed form HSMV 82139, which would provide proof
of the lien assignment.

B. A“computer generated” signature on a lien satisfaction is not acceptable.

C. The original form HSMV 82260, or a certified copy is acceptable. An emailed, photocopied, or faxed
copy is NOT acceptable.

D. Ifthelienholderis deceased, refer to procedure TL-18 for instructions.

E. A“Definitions” page is attached to this procedure as Exhibit A.

Revision(s) to Procedure

05/24: Added B. Judgment Lien Certificate to Alternate Method of Removal of Record Liens.

06/26/23 Added instructions for the new Form HSMV 82040s

Updated page 2 section 4(a) with the following language, “If form HSMV 82260 is being presented as
alternate proof of lien satisfaction due to unsuccessful attempts to contact the lienholder, contact the Field
Support Center for assistance.” Updated page 5 section A with the following language, “with proper
documentation. If attempts to contact the lienholder have been unsuccessful, the customer must submit
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proof of certified mail attempting to contact the lienholder, lien satisfaction documentation, or follow TL-07
requirements for release of lien”

12/30/20: Conducted annual review, added links to statutes and forms. Language deleted from Il (A)(1) “the
registered owner’s address (in or out of state) has no bearing on whether a title is printed or held electronically.
Additionally, the applicable fee for printing and mailing the title applies to residents with out-of-state “mail to”
addresses”. Language added to sections II-D, IlI-A (2) and IV(B). Removed section IlI(B).

04/11/2014: Added information concerning electronic liens on pages 4, 5 &6.

09/12/2013: Added a NOTE to section Il, B, 1, requiring an ELT Exception reason for updating/satisfying an
existing non-ELT, providing a link to the modifications log with exception reasons, and added a note to
section Ill, A, 3, addressing removal of an electronic lien 5 years or older.

12/14/2012: Added Statute language.

05/03/2010: Added new statutes & put them in numerical order on pg. 1, added “Note” about FRVIS
processing title for a fee for issuing/printing and for mailing/shipping on pg. 2, added info about ELT lien
satisfactions under Section B, a with a link to ELT service providers on pg. 4, updated lien stamp info and re-
lettered items b, ¢, and d to satisfy liens on pgs. 3 and 4, updated department mailing address on pg. 4,
under section lll, A, added recreational vehicle to the 1%t “Note” for removing recorded liens 5 years and
older on pg. 5, removed an item under section IV and reordered and lettered remaining items on pg. 7,
added more definitions to Exhibit A, and removed Exhibit B as no longer valid.

08/01/2008: Updated Description and Use on page 1. Merged VSTL-14 into this procedure. Reworded
statutes on page 1. Added Note on page 2. Added Note to page 5 regarding removal of lien for mobile
homes. Added comments on page 5 regarding a stop to be placed if the department is notified by
lienholder. Added #2 & 5 to page 7. Added Exhibit B.

03/01/2002: Provided DMV address for lienholder authorizations and updated Miscellaneous section to
include information about handling situations when the lienholder has sold their lien to another lienholder.
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Exhibit A Definitions

ELT (ELECTRONICLIEN TITLE): An e-title with an electronic lien on the vehicle.
The designation of ELT only applies while there is an active
electronic lien on an e-title.

ELT LIENHOLDER: One who has the titles to their vehicles held electronically by the
Department.
ELT PROVIDER: An entity that has entered into a written agreement with the

Department to provide electronic title and lien services for
ELT lienholders.

LIEN/MORTGAGE: Money borrowed using a motor vehicle or property as collateral.

LIEN SATISFACTION: A document showing that a mortgage against a motor vehicle has
been paid.

LIENHOLDER: A person or entity loaning money against a motor vehicle.

SALES CONTRACT: A written agreement between buyer and seller, showing the full
description of motor vehicle, amount owed and payment
schedule.

SUBSEQUENT LIEN: Money borrowed, usually based upon the value of a motor

vehicle and when the first lien is still outstanding.
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