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Legal Authority

Section 319.21(3), Florida Statutes, provides that motor vehicle dealers mayj, in lieu of taking title in their

name, reassign existing certificates of title except as provided in s. 319.225.
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Section 319.225(1), Florida Statutes, provides that certificates of title shall contain warning statements

about federal and state law regarding odometer disclosures.

Section 319.225(2), Florida Statutes, provides that certificates of title shall contain forms for the transfer of

certificates of title and forms for odometer disclosure statements that conform to federal rule.

Section 319.225(3), Florida Statutes, states: "Each certificate of title issued by the department must contain

on its reverse side as many forms as space allows for reassignment of title by a licensed dealer as permitted
by s. 319.21(3), which form, or forms shall contain an odometer disclosure statement in the form required by

49 C.F.R. s. 580.5. When all dealer reassignment forms provided on the back of the title certificate have been

filled in, a dealer may reassign the title certificate by using a separate dealer reassignment form issued by

the department in compliance with 49 C.F.R. ss. 580.4 and 580.5, which form shall contain an original that

shall be submitted to the department by the dealer and a copy that shall be retained by the dealer in his or
her records for 5 years. The provisions of this subsection shall also apply to vehicles not previously titled in

this state and vehicles whose title certificates do not contain the forms required by this section."

Section 319.225(4), Florida Statutes, provides that upon transfer or reassignment of a certificate of title, the

transferor shall complete the odometer disclosure statement and the transferee shall acknowledge the
disclosure by signing and printing their names in the spaces provided. The subsection provides an
exemption for motor vehicles which are 10 years old or older, motor vehicles with a gross vehicle weight

rating of more than 16,000 pounds and motor vehicles which are not self-propelled.

Section 319.225(5), Florida Statutes, prohibits a person from signing a disclosure statement as both

transferor and transferee, unless done in compliance with s. 319.225(6).
However, in the case of sole ownership of a dealership/company, there is no one else available to sign.

Therefore, the disclosure would have to be made by the same person.
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Sections 319.225(6)(a) and (b), Florida Statutes, provide that if the certificate of title is physically held by a

lienholder or has been lost or destroyed, a transferor may give a power of attorney to his or her transferee
for purposes of odometer disclosure and provide for the content and use of such powers of attorney. The
department shall not require the signature of the transferor to be notarized on the form; however, in lieu of
notarization, the form shall include an affidavit with the following wording: Under penalty of perjury, |

declare that | have read the forgoing document and that the facts stated in it are true.

Section 319.225(7), Florida Statutes, provides that if a title is held electronically and the transferee agrees to

maintain the title electronically, the transferor and transferee shall complete a secure reassignment
document that discloses the odometer reading and is signed by both the transferor and transferee at the tax
collector office or license plate agency. It further states the department must provide space on the
certificate of title for separate dealer disclosure statements and for motor vehicle auctions to make

notations.

Section 319.225(8), Florida Statutes, requires that auctions make certain notations on certificates of title

and on separate dealer odometer disclosure statements.

Section 319.23(3), Florida Statutes, requires that an application for a certificate of title to a motor vehicle

previously titled in another state be accompanied by a sworn affidavit by the owner that the odometer

reading on the motor vehicle is identical to that in the affidavit.

Description And Use

This procedure is provided to assist tax collector employees, license plate agency employees Florida
Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) for obtaining proper odometer disclosure for all certificate of

title applications in accordance with federal and state regulations.
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Documentation Required and Special Instructions

A. Federal regulations regarding odometer disclosure require that disclosures be made on all transfers of

ownership on documents by a secure printing process or by other secure means. Federal rule specifies

that transferors (sellers) are to make odometer disclosures by signing and printing their name and

transferees (buyers) are to acknowledge disclosures by signing and printing their name. The rule

specifies that odometer disclosure statements are to contain the following information:

1. The current odometer reading.

2. The date the odometer was read.

3. Thetransferor's certification that the mileage is:

a. Actual

o,

b. In excess of the mechanical limits of the odometer

or,

c. Not actual and should not be relied on.

Please ensure that ONE of the above three odometer statements (Documentation Required and

Special Instructions section, A: 3a-3c) is properly recorded. Any alteration to these statements

and/or the use of "true mileage unknown (TMU)" or "exceeds true mileage (ETM)" are in violation

of state and federal laws and must be rejected.
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An odometer reading of 100,000 miles or more may not necessarily be incorrect if the vehicle has
a six-digit odometer. A six-digit odometer does not require the box "In Excess of Its Mechanical
Limits" to be checked.

4. The transferor's name and current address.

5. Thetransferee's name and current address.

6. Thesignature and printed name of the transferor and the transferee.

Do not reject the documentation if the "printed name" is not hand-written (Example: typed,

stamped, etc.). However, the documentation must be rejected if the "printed name" is left blank.

7. The motor vehicle description includes make, model, year, body type and vehicle identification

number.

The box, "Odometer Reading is Not Actual Mileage, Warning Odometer Discrepancy" should be
checked if the mileage is incorrect or if there is definite knowledge that the odometer reading is not
the actual mileage. The actual mileage appearing on an odometer only exceeds its mechanical limits

if the odometer is in working order and has rolled over maximum reading capability.

Odometer Reading Capability

Type Maximum Reading
Five Digit 99,999.9
Six Digit 999,999.9

Do not write in the tenths block.
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A business that sells salvage vehicles cannot obtain an odometer reading for an inoperable vehicle.

The person making the odometer declaration on the required documentation should enter "9s" in all

the odometer spaces along with "Not Actual Miles", indicating there was a problem obtaining the

reading. An affidavit must be submitted with the required documentation stating why the odometer

reading could not be obtained (due to no keys, no battery, burned vehicle, etc.).

B. Transactions Requiring Odometer Disclosure or Declaration and Exemption:

1. State law regarding odometer disclosure provides that the reading shall be recorded at the time of

any title activity. Federal odometer disclosure statements or odometer declarations are required on

the following transactions:

a. New caroriginal

b. Used car original.

c. Transfer

d. Duplicate

e. Original salvage certificate of title

f. Duplicate with transfer.

g. Title reinstatement.

Non-Exempt Vehicles - If no reading is shown in the odometer disclosure/declaration area on the title

and/or the application for title, the paperwork must be rejected. Refer to TL-09 Documentation

Required and Special Instructions section, J, 1, for the additional documentation required.
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2. The following motor vehicles are exempt from all odometer disclosure statements or odometer

declarations:

a. A motor vehicle with a model year of 2011 or newer is exempt after twenty (20) years and a motor

vehicle with a model year of 2010 or older is exempt after ten (10) years.

Exempt Vehicles - A vehicle should not be automatically exempted if an odometer reading is
available. If current mileage, date read and odometer status (actual, exceeds or not actual) are
shown in the odometer disclosure/declaration area on the title ("Transfer of Title by Seller"
section) and/or the application for title, this information should be entered when processing the
application, unless the previous motor vehicle record was shown as exempt. If there is an
odometer error on the title and accompanying paperwork, and the customer requests that the
vehicle be marked as exempt, rather than obtaining corrected odometer disclosures/affidavits,
this request should be noted in the "Comment Desc." field and the transaction processed as
exempt. If the customer chooses to place the wording "exempt" for the odometer reading in lieu
of the mileage, date read and odometer status, or leaves the odometer reading blank, do not

reject their paperwork, since the odometer reading is not required on an exempt vehicle.

b. Any motor vehicle that has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than 16,000 pounds.
GVWR means the value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded (maximum permissible)
weight of a single vehicle.

c. Any motor vehicle that is not self-propelled.

d. Any new motor vehicle, covered by a manufacture’s certificate of origin (MCO), transferred

between dealers (dealer swaps).

Some exceptions to the above exemption that would require an odometer declaration, not a

disclosure, are:
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e When an MCO is assigned to a dealership and the dealership chooses to take the title in

its name.

e When a dealership transfers a new motor vehicle to another dealership and that

dealership chooses to take the title in its name.
e. Low speed electric vehicles.
f. Off-Highway vehicles.
When a motor vehicle is exempt and the exemption is reflected on the motor vehicle database, the

reading will not subsequently reflect actual mileage. If a power of attorney is needed for a motor

vehicle that is exempt from odometer disclosure, use form Power of Attorney - HSMV 82053 . The

form Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure - HSMV 82995 should not be used.

C. Conforming and Nonconforming Certificates of Title:

1. All certificates of title with a title revision date of January 1990, issued by the state of Florida conform

to federal law and rules. The Division of Motorist Services began using these titles on April 29, 1990.

They conform by having the full odometer disclosure statement elements outlined in
Documentation Required and Special Instructions section, A of this procedure and are referred to as

"conforming" certificates of title.

2. All certificates of title issued by the state of Florida with a revision date prior to January 1990 are

"nonconforming" certificates of title.
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D. Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment - HSMV 82993 in conjunction with Code

of Federal Regulations, 49 C.F.R, ss. 580.04 and 580.13, was designed to be used when a person buys,

sells, trades or gives a motor vehicle, not exempt from the odometer law, to an individual or company.
Two original forms HSMV 82993, must be completed and exchanged between the transferor (seller) and

transferee (purchaser).
This form may also be used by a dealership in the same capacity as any separate odometer disclosure
statement as required by federal law. The dealership would be required by federal law to retain a copy

of this executed document in their files for five years.

E. Motor Vehicle Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement - HSMV 82994:

1. Form HSMV 82994 is a secure form which is filed as follows:

a. Theoriginal formis required to be attached to the certificate of title or the Manufacturer's

Certificate of Origin (MCO) being surrendered with the application for title.

b. The copy of the form is for the dealer's record and must be retained by the dealer for a period of

five years.

If the dealer sells the vehicle to an out-of-state resident or an out-of-state dealer (and the form is
applicable to the transaction), they must photocopy the complete original form, and mail it directly
to the Division of Motorist Services within 5 business days after the title and form are delivered by

the dealer to its purchaser.

It is used to reassign a certificate of title and make odometer disclosures between licensed dealers

or between dealers and their retail buyers.
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2. HSMV 82994 can only be used by a licensed motor vehicle dealer to reassign a certificate of title or
other form of proof of ownership issued by another state or foreign country, to another dealer or

retail purchaser.

3. HSMV 82994 must be used by dealers:

a. When conforming Florida Certificates of Title to make additional dealer reassignments and
odometer disclosures for all reassignment and odometer disclosure spaces on the reverse side of

the certificate of title have been used.

b. With nonconforming Florida Certificates of Title to make reassignments and odometer

disclosures.

¢. With a conforming MCO, when the MCO is not available at the time of sale.

d. With all out-of-state nonconforming certificates of title to make dealer reassignments and

odometer disclosures.

When a motor vehicle is traded or assigned to a dealer and a conforming certificate of title is provided as
proof of ownership, all dealer reassignments on the conforming Florida Certificate of Title must be
completed before HSMV 82994 can be used. Florida law and federal regulations do not permit a dealer to
jump off the original certificate of title, even in situations when the certificate of title is with a floor
planner. If a dealer jumps from the conforming certificate of title to the form HSMV 82994 and all
reassignments on the actual certificate of title have not been completed, the application for certificate

of title must be rejected.

Dealers involved in the transaction chain must complete the Florida Certificate of Title reassignments
with all required information, including addresses. However, auctions are only required to show their
name and license number, located on its reverse side. When all reassignments are completed, the

subsequent dealers may then complete HSMV 82994 up through an assignment to a retail customer.
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If a Florida dealer jumps from the conforming certificate of title to HSMV 82994 and a subsequent dealer
jumps back to the conforming certificate of title, in the same chain, the Florida dealer that jumped off

the conforming certificate of title must first apply for a certificate of title in their name.

Exception:  FLHSMV does not have the authority to regulate out-of-state dealers involving non-
compliance of this requirement. Therefore, in situations where this occurs involving an

out-of-state dealer, do not reject the customer's paperwork.

Once the title is issued in the Florida dealership’s name, that dealership must reassign the
title to the next Florida dealer in sequence and continue with the dealer reassignments on
the title to each subsequent Florida dealer. After all dealer reassignments have been used

on the certificate of title, HSMV 82994 or Reassignment Supplement To A Certificate Of

Title - HSMV 82091 must be used to continue the chain of any additional reassignments.

Form HSMV 82091 may only be used on non-conforming certificates of title.

Florida dealer, to Florida dealer reassignments, must be completed on conforming out-of-
state certificates of title, even if that state’s title reassignment specifies "Reassignment By
(example: Oklahoma) Dealer," in lieu of using HSMV 82994. This requirement is pursuant
tos.319.225(3). However, if the reassignment by a licensed dealer is on a non-conforming
certificate of title, form HSMV 82994 must be completed and submitted with the

application for a certificate of title.

If certain alterations/discrepancies (see list below) are made on HSMV 82994, a letterhead

affidavit from the dealership/business explaining the error(s) would be acceptable.

e Incorrect make, model, or body description.

e Incorrect address for the seller, purchaser, or dealership/business.
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F. Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure - Form HSMV 82995:

1. Form HSMV 82995 is a secure form which is filed as follows:

a. The original form must be attached to the certificate of title when it is obtained and is to remain
with the title until the application for title is made for the purchaser. The full name of the

appointed Power of Attorney is required on Form HSMV 82995.

b. The copy of the form is for the dealer's record and must be retained by the dealer for a period of

five years.

If the dealer sells the vehicle to an out-of-state resident or an out-of-state dealer (and the formis
applicable to the transaction), the dealer must photocopy the completed original of the form and
mail directly to Division of Motorist Services within 5 business days after the certificate of title

and dealer reassignment form are delivered by the dealer to its purchaser.

2. Federal and state law prohibits an individual who has been appointed as an attorney-in-fact from
acting as both transferor (seller) and transferee (buyer) for purposes of completing odometer
disclosure statements in conjunction with the transfer of ownership of a motor vehicle, unless a

secure power of attorney form is used.

Exception:  Inthe case of sole ownership of a dealership/company, the disclosure would be made

by the same person. Therefore, the secure power of attorney would not be needed.

3. This secure power of attorney form is only to be used when an individual appointed as the attorney-
in-fact is acting as both transferor and transferee for purposes of completing the odometer
disclosure statement in conjunction with the transfer of ownership of a motor vehicle. This form may

be used when:
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a. The certificate of title is physically being held by the lienholder and is not available for
endorsement by the transferor (seller) to transfer ownership of the motor vehicle and complete

the odometer disclosure.

When a title transaction is processed electronically (ELT), a physical title does not print until the
lienholder requests a paper title, therefore, if a certificate of title is submitted for transfer using a
secure power of attorney and the previous title transaction was electronic (ELT), the secure

power of attorney would be acceptable.

b. The certificate of title is lost and is therefore not available for endorsement by the transferor

(seller) for transferring ownership of the motor vehicle and odometer disclosure.

There are instances when a company is shown as owner and lienholder on the front of the title.
An authorized agent of the company will sign on the face of the certificate of title and then send
the title to another department for the lien to be satisfied. This may take a few days to a few
weeks. This may look like the title was not available at the time of sale; however, it was available
and is being endorsed by an authorized agent of the company (the owner). This situation would

not require a secure power of attorney.

Form_HSMV 82995 does not authorize the attorney-in-fact to assign or designate an alternate

agent to act as the attorney-in-fact. The full name of the appointee is required on the form.

If certain alterations/discrepancies (see list below) are made on form HSMV 82995, a letterhead

affidavit from the dealership/business explaining the error(s) would be acceptable.

e Incorrect make, model, or body description.

e Incorrect address for the seller, purchaser, or dealership/business.

e Incorrect datein section C.
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G. Persons authorized to use HSMV 82995 when certificate of title is lost or being held by the lienholder:

Only the original form HSMV 82995, will be accepted.

1. Transferors (sellers) must complete "Part A" of HSMV 82995 when transferring their ownership
interest in a motor vehicle to a transferee (dealership/business) and the certificate of title is not
available for odometer disclosure. The transferee (dealership/business) will use this secure power of
attorney to make the required odometer disclosure on behalf of the transferor when the title is

received.

2. Transferee (dealership/business) who is obtaining ownership of the motor vehicle described on this
form from the transferor (seller). The transferee (dealership/business) will use this secure power of
attorney to make the required odometer disclosure on behalf of the transferor (seller) once the title
is received. The transferor and transferee must complete "Part A" of the form. When the odometer
information is transferred to the certificate of title, "Part C" must be completed by the
dealership/business. The person for the dealership/business transferring the odometer information

to the certificate of title must be the same person signing in “Part C.”

The transferor (seller) should appoint "dealership/business" as their attorney-in-fact in “Part A” and
not an individuals' name with the dealership/business. This would allow any agent with the
dealership to sign in “Part A” and “Part C” of the form. The agent signing in “Part A” and “Part C”

would not have to be the same person.
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3. Anew purchaser(s) who is obtaining ownership of the motor vehicle from the dealership/business,
prior to the title being received by the dealership/business. The dealership/business will use this
secure power of attorney to make the required odometer disclosure on behalf of the new purchaser
once the title is received. The new purchaser and the dealership/business must complete “Part B” of
the form. When the odometer information is transferred to the certificate of title, "Part C" must be
completed by the dealership. The date in "Part C" should not be prior to the title issue date or prior
to the date of the lien satisfaction on the title, otherwise, a letterhead affidavit of explanation would

be required from the dealership.

“Parts B and C” of this form may not be used without using “Part A.” Conditions for use of Part A, as
previously stated, must be met before “Parts B and C” may be used. Any form HSMV 82995 submitted
without “Part A” completed, voids the document.

H. Non-Secure Power of Attorney (Limited):

1. Power of Attorney for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home, Vessel or Vessel with Trailer - HSMV 82053:

a. This form may be used by an individual appointed as attorney-in-fact when completing an
odometer disclosure statement as transferor (seller) only or transferee (purchaser) only. It is also
recommended to use this form for any motor vehicle that is exempt from state and federal

odometer disclosure requirements.

b. The seller (transferor) or buyer (transferee) cannot lawfully use HSMV 82053 to appoint a licensed
Florida motor vehicle dealer, an insurance company, an employee of a licensed Florida motor
vehicle dealer or insurance company as attorney-in-fact to execute a conforming certificate of

title.
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The individual appointed must be an independent third party who is not associated with the
dealership orinsurance company in any capacity. The transferor (seller) cannot lawfully appoint
an insurance company, a dealer, or any employee of such dealer, as attorney-in-fact using a non-
secure power of attorney to sign a copy of an odometer disclosure statement when completing
odometer disclosures for both the transferor (seller) and transferee (buyer). A licensed motor
vehicle dealer or an insurance company, including all employees, is considered one legal entity.
Appointments defined above are permitted with the use of the secure power of attorney, Form

HSMV 82995. (See Section G-1.)

Original or a certified copy of form HSMV 82053 must accompany title documents submitted with

application for Florida Certificate of Title showing the full name of the appointee.

HSMV 82053:
e Disclosure - when signing for either transferor or transferee, not both.
e Declaration - can be used anytime.
HSMV 82995:
e Disclosure - when signing for either transferor or transferor and transferee. Must be
used when title is being held by the lienholder or if the title is lost or destroyed.

e Declaration - not to be used.

If the transaction is between individuals, the seller cannot appoint the buyer, nor the buyer

appoint the seller power of attorney to sign an odometer disclosure.

I. Motor Vehicle Dealer/Auto Auction or Customer Odometer Affidavit - HSMV 82996:

This form may be used by a customer (may be an individual or company), auction, or dealer (as
supporting documentation) to verify that a specific motor vehicle has either a five (5) or six (6) digit

odometer.
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Example: Atitle reassignment shows the odometer reading for the motor vehicle as 124,000 Actual
Miles. However, because the vehicle has only a five (5) digit odometer, the reading is not
correct. Therefore, the reading should be 24,000 Exceeds Mechanical limits. HSMV 82996

would help to correct this issue.
J. Odometer Disclosure and Declaration Review Process:
Certificate of title applications and other related documents containing odometer disclosure or
declaration forms or spaces (which are filed with FLHSMV, the tax collector or license plate agent) shall

be reviewed and examined for omissions, alterations, and discrepancies.

For purposes of reviewing and examining odometer disclosures and declarations on certificate of title

application documentation, the following definitions and procedures should be used:

1. Omission:
An omission is defined as omitting all or part of a required odometer reading on any odometer
disclosure document where such information is required on the form, e.g., the date of reading, status

certification, the signature, the printed name, and address.

When there is an omission of odometer data on a conforming Florida or out-of-state certificate of

title, the application must be rejected for correction of the omission.

The applicant must correct the omission by submitting an original (or a copy) of Separate Odometer

Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment - HSMV 82993,

or,

If a dealer is involved, submit Motor Vehicle Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement - HSMV 82994, (if

applicable), a copy of the completed odometer disclosure statement or a copy of HSMV 82993.
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2. Alterations:

An alteration is defined as a strike over, erasure, ink-over, white-out or any other method of change
made to an odometer disclosure statement required to be filed as part of a certificate of title

application. See Discrepancies for corrective action to allow the application to be processed.

3. Discrepancies:

a. Adiscrepancy is defined as:

1. An odometer reading which appears on a certificate of title or other documents
submitted with application for a certificate of title, which is lower than the previously

recorded mileage (either on the face of the certificate of title or the motor vehicle data

base).

or,

2. An odometer date which appears on a certificate of title or other documents
submitted with the application for a certificate of title, which proceeds (is before) a

previously recorded date (either on the face of the certificate of title or the motor

vehicle database).

The following may also be considered as discrepancies:

1. Atitle reassignment shows the odometer reading for the motor vehicle as “124,000
Actual Miles.” However, because the vehicle has only a five-digit odometer, the

reading is not correct. Therefore, the reading should be “24,000 Exceeds Mechanical

limits.”
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2. Atitle reassignment shows the odometer reading for the motor vehicle as “124,000
Exceeds Mechanical Limits.” However, because the vehicle has a six-digit odometer,
the reading is not correct. Therefore, the reading should be “124,000 Actual Miles.”

3. Thereading changes from a five-digit to a six-digit (or vice versa) in the paperwork.

Completed Motor Vehicle Dealer/Auto Auction or Customer Odometer Affidavit - HSMV

82996 would help to correct these issues, as it verifies that a specific motor vehicle has

either a five or six digit odometer.
b. Whenever there is an alteration or discrepancy in the odometer disclosure on any documentation
submitted with the application for a certificate of title, the application must be accompanied by

the following, to correct the alteration or discrepancy:

1. Anoriginal (or a copy) of completed Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and

Acknowledgment - HSMV 82993,

or,

If a dealerisinvolved, Motor Vehicle Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement - HSMV

82994 (if applicable), a copy of the odometer disclosure statement or a copy of

Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment - HSMV 82993.

2. Anotarized or perjury clause affidavit signed by the transferor (individual/non-dealer
or dealer) explaining the reason for the alteration or discrepancy. If the affidavit is

from a dealer, it should be on the dealership's letterhead stationery.

c. Applications submitted with alterations or discrepancies are subject to review by the Odometer

Fraud Unit of FLHSMV.
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Any odometer brand from an out-of-state certificate of title shall be carried forward onto the
Florida Certificate of Title. If an out-of-state certificate of title is submitted branded "Uncertified,"
the Florida Certificate of Title will be issued showing the odometer reading and status indicated

on Application for Certificate of Title for a Motor Vehicle - HSMV 82040 MV. If the reading on HSMV

82040 MV is lower than that on the out-of-state certificate of title, it is considered a discrepancy

and is subject to review by the Odometer Fraud Unit of FLHSMV.

K. Correction of an Odometer Reading Stated on Florida Certificate of Title:

1. When the certificate of title was issued correctly according to the documents submitted to FLHSMV,

submit the following to the local tax collector's office:

a. Anoriginal (or a copy) of an accurately completed Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and

Acknowledgment - HSMV 82993 for casual sales. If a dealer is involved, submit Motor Vehicle

Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement - HSMV 82994, a copy of the completed odometer

disclosure statement or a copy of form HSMV 82993.
b. Anotarized or perjury clause affidavit from the transferor stating the correct odometer reading at
time of sale, the date of the reading and an explanation of the error. If the affidavit is from a

dealer, it should be on the dealership's letterhead stationery.

c. The actual Florida Certificate of Title that needs correction.

d. Microfilm or photocopy of the previously submitted form Vehicle Identification Number and

Odometer Verification - HSMV 82042 or other documents showing the odometer reading at the

time of the transaction.

e. Title fees, if applicable.
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Dealers can reassign the certificate of title to other dealers with the affidavits attached. When the
motor vehicle is sold, all paperwork should be submitted to the license plate agency for

processing.

Corrections (Omissions, Alterations, and Discrepancies)

Dealer to Dealer or Dealer to Retail Buyer:

e HSMV 82994, copy of completed odometer disclosure statement or a copy of form HSMV 82993

and

o Letterhead affidavit signed by the dealer, explaining the error (required for alteration or

discrepancy).

Individual to Individual/Non-Dealer:

e Anoriginal or a copy of form HSMV 82993

and

o Affidavit signed by transferor explaining the error (required for alteration or discrepancy).

2. When the certificate of title was issued showing an incorrect odometer reading because of a Division
of Motorist Services (including tax collector offices) error, submit the following to the local tax

collector's office:

a. The actual Florida Certificate of Title that needs correction.

b. Anotarized or perjury clause affidavit from the registered owner stating the odometer reading

needs to be corrected.
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The license plate agency must obtain microfilm or imaged documents to verify the error. Title
fees are not required for correction of errors if the error was made by an agent of FLHSMV.

However, fees must be charged if the error was not made by any agent of FLHSMV.
L. Kilometer Odometers:
1. Replacing a Kilometer Odometer with A Mileage Odometer:

There are instances when a motor vehicle's odometer is measured in kilometers. This usually occurs

in motor vehicles that are titled or registered in another country. If an owner of a motor vehicle

wishes to replace the odometer that reads in kilometers with an odometer that reads in mileage, the
following documents must be submitted:

a. The certificate of title.

b. A letterhead affidavit from an authorized agent of the garage or repair shop licensed to replace
kilometer odometer with mileage odometer. The affidavit must state that the kilometer
odometer was replaced with a mileage odometer and that the mileage reflects the accurate
conversion of kilometers to mileage.

c. Titlefees.

2. Converting a Kilometer Odometer to a Mileage Odometer:

Some motor vehicles are equipped with a switch that allows the owner to read the odometer in

kilometers or mileage. If the owner of a motor vehicle wishes to convert the odometer reading from

kilometers to mileage, the following documents must be submitted:

a. The certificate of title.
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b. An affidavit from the person who converted the kilometer odometer to a mileage odometer.
The affidavit must state that the kilometer odometer was converted to a mileage odometer

and that the mileage odometer reflects the accurate conversion of kilometers to mileage.

c. Title fees.

A certificate of title may be issued showing either a mileage or kilometer reading; however, once the
unit of measurement for the odometer reading is chosen it must remain as such. The reading should

not be converted back and forth from kilometers to mileage or mileage to kilometers.

The measurement used to convert kilometers to mileage is Kilometers X .6214. The measurement

used to convert mileage to kilometers is: Mileage X 1.609.

Miscellaneous Information

A. Computer generated, laser printed, or facsimile (stamped) signatures of the owner or co-owner are
acceptable on applications for title, affidavits, etc., however, they are not acceptable when an odometer

disclosure is required. The Code of Federal Regulations, 49 CFR s. 580.5(c), requires that a transferor of a

motor vehicle provide an odometer disclosure statement which must be "signed by the transferor,

including the printed name." Similarly, 49 CFR s. 580.5(f), requires that the transferee must "sign the

disclosure statement and print their name." In accordance with these provisions, buyers and sellers

must sign and print their names when completing odometer disclosure statements.

1. Exception: Any Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (new vehicle) submitted with electronic

signatures in the odometer disclosure area, is acceptable.

Do not reject the documentation if the "printed name" is not handwritten (Example: typed, stamped,

etc.). However, the documentation must be rejected if the "printed name" is left blank.
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2. Exception: (See INFO20-019) Dealers and Manufacturers can submit electronically signed versions of

Application for Certificate of Title for a Motor Vehicle - HSMV 82040 MV, Application for Duplicate or

Lost IN Transit/Reassignment for a Motor Vehicle. Mobile Home or Vessel Title Certificate - HSMV

82101, Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment - HSMV 82993, Motor Vehicle

Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement - HSMV 82994, and Motor Vehicle Power of

Attorney/Odometer Disclosure - Form HSMV 82995 to make odometer disclosures. For each

application for a certificate of title involving an electronically signed odometer disclosure statement,
dealers or manufacturers must provide documentation to show the history, activity, and other
identifying information such as location, internet protocol address or timestamps, sufficient to
create an audit trail if the signature is later repudiated. (For example, if it is a DocuSign product, the
Certificate of Completion must be submitted). An attestation statement on the dealer's or
manufacturer's letterhead must accompany the transaction documents and should include the

below verbiage:

a. [Dealer/Manufacturer] attests that the electronic signature(s) on the odometer disclosure

documents meet the requirements set forth by the National Highway Traffic Safety

Administration Rule 49 CFR 580 for assurance Level 2.

3. Exception (See INFO20-014) Insurance companies can submit electronically signed versions of

Application for Salvage Title of Certificate of Destruction - HSMV 82363, Separate Odometer

Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment - HSMV 82993, Motor Vehicle Dealer Title Reassignment

Supplement - HSMV 82994, and Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure - Form HSMV

82995 to make odometer disclosures in connection with total loss transactions, pursuant to s.
319.30. For each application for a certificate of title involving an electronically signed odometer
disclosure statement, the insurance company must provide documentation to show the history,
activity, and other identifying information such as location, internet protocol address or timestamps,
sufficient to create an audit trail if the signature is later repudiated (for example, if it is a DocuSign
product, the Certificate of Completion must be submitted). An attestation statement on the
insurance company’s letterhead must accompany the transaction documents and should include

the verbiage below:
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a. [Insurance Company] attests that the electronic signature(s) on the odometer disclosure
documents meet the requirements set forth by the National Highway Traffic Safety

Administration Rule 49 CFR 580 for assurance Level 2.

1. Acurrent odometer reading is required on a duplicate or lost in transit application when applied

for by the owner:

If the vehicle is less than 20 calendar years old and the mileage, date read and odometer status are

missing, the application must be rejected.

e Ifthevehicleis less than 20 calendar years old and the mileage, date read and odometer status
are missing, the application must be rejected. However, the vehicle should not be automatically
exempted if an odometer reading is available. If current mileage, date read and odometer status
(actual, exceeds or not actual) are shown in the odometer disclosure area on the duplicate
application, this information should be entered when processing the application, unless the
previous motor vehicle record was shown as exempt. If the customer chooses to place the
wording "exempt" (exempt vehicle only) for the odometer reading in lieu of the mileage, date

read and odometer status, do not reject their paperwork.

2. Ifalienholder or lessor is applying for the duplicate or lost in transit application, it is understood
that the odometer reading may not be available. Therefore, if the mileage, date read and
odometer status are not shown on the application, the odometer reading, and date shown on the
Division of Motorist Services database should be brought forward. If the Division of Motorist

Services database does not show a date read, the last title issue date shall be used.

C. When an application for a "Lien Add" transaction is submitted to a county tax collector's office for a
motor vehicle without an odometer reading, the odometer reading, and date read on face of the Florida

Certificate of Title must be brought forward.
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D. Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure - Form HSMV 82995 can be used by individuals

and is not limited to dealers or insurance companies. This form should never be signed by the transferee

(buyer) without the form being completed in full.

E. If amotor vehicle odometer is broken, the seller must disclose this information to the purchaser and the

certificate of title must be issued reflecting the odometer status as "NOT ACTUAL."

F. If amotor vehicle odometer is replaced, the certificate of title must reflect the odometer status as "NOT

ACTUAL."
G. When a Florida Certificate of Title has been issued showing the odometer status as “EXEMPT”, it can be
corrected to show the “actual mileage” reading if a reading was placed on the certificate of title at the

time of each sale and the chain of odometer reading were not broken.

H. Low speed electric vehicles are exempt from the odometer disclosure laws. However, full size electric

vehicles require an odometer disclosure.

I. Reassignment Supplement To A Certificate Of Title - HSMV 82091 can only be used for motor vehicles

that are exempt from the federal and state odometer disclosure laws.
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J. Amotor vehicle with a model year of 2011 or newer is exempt after twenty (20) years. A motor vehicle
with a model year of 2010 or older is exempt after ten (10) years; however, a vehicle should not be
automatically exempted if an odometer reading is available. If current milage, date read, and odometer
status (actual, exceeds or not actual) are shown in the odometer disclosure/declaration area on the title
(“Transfer of Title by Seller” section) and/or the application for title, this information should be entered
when processing the application, unless the previous motor vehicle record was shown as “exempt.” If
there is an odometer error on the title and accompanying paperwork, and the customer requests that
the vehicle be marked as “exempt”, rather than obtaining corrected odometer disclosures/affidavits,
this request should be noted in the “Comment Desc.” Field and the transaction processed as “exempt.”
If the customer chooses to place the wording “exempt” for the odometer reading in lieu of the mileage,
date read, and odometer status, or leaves the odometer reading blank, do not reject their paperwork

since the odometer reading is not required on an “exempt” vehicle.

K. Motorcycles with No Odometer (Rebuilt/Reconstructed):

1. Ifanon-exempt (less than 20 years old) motorcycle does not have an odometer, show 999,999 "Not

Actual Mileage" for the odometer reading.

2. Ifan exempt (between 10 and 20 years old) motorcycle does not have an odometer, show "exempt"

for the odometer reading.

L. When an application is received, and the current record indicates “999,999 Not Actual Mileage”, and the

record needs to be corrected to indicate actual mileage, the following must be submitted:

1. An affidavit from seller stating why the odometer reading showed “999,999 Not Actual Mileage.”

2. An affidavit from the purchaser stating what action was taken to show current odometer reading.

3. Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment - HSMV 82993 or Motor Vehicle

Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement - HSMV 82994 to show current reading.
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M. Any entity selling mopeds OR selling motorcycles with a motor displacement of 50 CC's or less is NOT
required to obtain a dealer's license. Therefore, since the entity is not a licensed dealer, it would be
exempt from the requirements of having the customer complete an odometer disclosure statement at
the time of sale. However, the odometer disclosure on the MCO must be completed. It is also suggested

that Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment - HSMV 82993 be completed by

both the seller and the buyer.

N. If an out-of-state title has been issued showing an incorrect odometer reading on the face of the title,

the error must be corrected in that state prior to being submitted to Florida.

O. If an out-of-state title (for an exempt vehicle) has been issued showing no odometer reading or exempt
on the face of the title, the Florida title must be issued as exempt. However, the customer has the option

to return the title to the previous state for correction.

P. If an out-of-state title (for a non-exempt vehicle) has been issued showing no odometer reading or status

on the face of the title, the error must be corrected in that state prior to being submitted to Florida.

Q. Ifacustomer has moved to Florida from out of state and applies for a Florida title using the out of state
title (non-exempt vehicle) previously issued in their name, they must provide a current odometer

reading on Application for Certificate of Title for a Motor Vehicle - HSMV 82040 MV or Vehicle

Identification Number and Odometer Verification - HSMV 82042, in lieu of using the old reading shown

on the out of state title.

R. Flowcharts are attached to this procedure as Exhibits A, Exhibit B, and Exhibit C

S. The "Definitions" page is attached as Exhibit D.

T. "Frequently Asked Questions with Answers" is attached as Exhibit E.
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Exhibit A

New Motor Vehicles

Conforming MCO

To Dealer

MNon-Conforming MCO

Flonda

Dealer

To Retail Purchaser

Conforming MCO

Non-Conforming MCO

Individual with
Vehicle from

Conforming MCO

Out-of-State
Dealer

Non-Conforming MCO

Completed MCO*

82994

Completed MCO** or
MCO and completed
#2004, and 82040

or 82041

Completed MCO,
82040 or 82041
and 82994

Completed MCO, or
MCO and a copy of the
odometer disclosure
statement from the out
of state dealer and
82040 or 82041

Completed MCO,
82040 or 82041 and a
copy of the odometer
disclosure statement
from the out-of-state
dealer

* For dealer-to-dealer reassignments, Reassignment Supplement To A Certificate Of Title - HSMV

82091 or Motor Vehicle Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement - HSMV 82994 may be used to

supplement MCO when reassignment space is not available on MCO.

o For dealer to retail purchaser reassignment, Motor Vehicle Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement -

HSMV 82994 may be used to supplement MCO when reassignment space is not available on MCO, or

the MCO is not available.
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Exhibit B

Used Motor Vehicles

Florida Title
Conforming
Florida Dealer |
to Dealer
Non-Conforming
Conforming
Florida Dealer
to Retail
Purchaser MNon-Cenforming
Florida Title —
Conforming
Individual
Casual Sale
Non-Conforming
Conforming
Insurance
Company
Mon-Conforming
Salvage
Self Insured

Revision Date: 02/05/2021

Effective Date: Immediately

Reassignment section of certificate of title
completed

Reassignment section completed and a copy
of the odometer disclosure statement or
82993 or 82994

Reassignment section of title completed

and 82040 or 82041

Reassignment section completed and a copy
of the edometer disclosure statement or
82993

or

#2004 and 82040, 82041 or "Application for
Title by Purchaser" section, completed on
the Florida title

"Transfer of Title by Seller" section on title
completed and 82040 or 82041

"Transfer of Title by Seller" section on title
completed, and 82040 or 82041 (82993
exchanged between parties)

"Transfer of Title by Seller" section on title
completed and 82363

"Transfer of Title by Seller" section on title
completed, and 82363 (82993 exchanged
between parties)

82363
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Exhibit C

Out-of-State
Title

Used Motor Vehicles

Out-of-State Title

Conforming

Florida Dealer

to Dealer

Non-Conforming

Conforming

Florida Dealer

to Retail
Purchaser

Non-Conforming

Individual from Out-of-State Dealer

| Individual, Mo Transfer

Individual Casual Sale

Conforming

—Insurance |
Company

Non-Conforming

Salvage Title

Self-Insured

Revision Date: 02/05/2021

Effective Date: Immediately

Reassignment section of title

completed

82994 completed

Reassignment section of title
completed and 82040

82040 or 82041, 82042 and 82994

2040 or 82041, 82042 and a
copy of the odometer disclosure
statement from the out-of-

state dealer

82040 or 52041 and 82042

82040 or 82041, 82042 and
82993 exchanged between

parties

82040 or 82041, 82042 and

82363

82040 or 82041, 82042, 82363
and 82993 exchanged between

parties

82040 or 52041, 82042 and 82363
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Exhibit D

Alteration:

Conforming:

Declaration:

Disclosure:

Discrepancy:

Non-conforming:

Definitions

A strike over, erasure, ink over, white out or any other method of change to an

odometer disclosure statement or odometer declaration.

A document containing an odometer disclosure statement as required by

federal law.

An odometer verification statement signed by the owner of the motor vehicle.

An odometer verification statement requiring the transferor to state the odometer

information and the transferee to acknowledge the statement.

Any error involving a current or prior odometer reading.

A document that does not contain all the elements of a federal odometer

disclosure statement.

Omission: Any part of a required statement that has been left out.

Transferee: Buyer.

Transferor: Seller.

Uncertified: Some states brand the title "uncertified" because a sale did not take place and an
odometer disclosure did not have to be made. Some examples are vehicles coming
into their state with no ownership change, repossession, and when following
deceased instructions.

Revision Date: 02/05/2021 Page 32 of 44

Effective Date: Immediately



Exhibit E

Frequently Asked Questions with Answers

Question #1

What is the difference between an odometer disclosure and odometer declaration?
Answer:
Odometer Disclosure:
An odometer verification statement requiring the transferor to state the odometer information

and the transferee to acknowledge the statement.

Example: An odometer disclosure is on the conforming MCO, conforming title, Motor Vehicle

Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement - HSMV 82994, and Motor Vehicle Power of

Attorney/Odometer Disclosure - Form HSMV 82995.

Odometer Declaration:
An odometer verification statement signed by the owner of the motor vehicle.

Example: An odometer declaration is on Application for Certificate of Title for a Motor Vehicle -

HSMV 82040 MV and form HSMV 82041.

Question #2

When is a motor vehicle transaction exempt from odometer disclosure requirements?

Answer:
1. A motor vehicle with a model year of 2011 or newer is exempt after twenty (20) years and a
motor vehicle with a model year of 2010 or older is exempt after ten (10) years.
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2. Any motor vehicle that is not self-propelled.
3. Any motor vehicle that has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than 16,000 pounds.

4. Any new motor vehicle, covered by an MCO, transferred between dealers (dealer swaps).

Question #3
When should Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure - Form HSMV 82995 be used

for a non-exempt motor vehicle transaction?

Answer:
Federal and state law prohibits an individual who has been appointed as attorney in fact from
acting as both transferor (seller) and transferee (buyer) for completing odometer disclosure
statements in conjunction with the transfer of ownership of a motor vehicle unless a secure power

of attorney form is used.

FLHSMV adopted Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure - Form HSMV 82995 to be

used only when an individual appointed as the attorney in fact is acting as both transferor (seller)
and transferee (buyer) for the purposes of completing the odometer disclosure in conjunction

with the transfer of a motor vehicle in specified situations. They are:

1. When the certificate of title is physically held by the lienholder and is not available for
endorsement by the seller for transferring ownership of the motor vehicle and odometer

disclosure.

2. When the certificate of title has been lost or destroyed and is not available for endorsement by

the seller for transferring ownership of the motor vehicle and odometer disclosure.

Question #4

When should Power of Attorney - HSMV 82053 be used for a non-exempt motor vehicle

transaction?
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Answer:
The form may be used by an individual appointed as attorney in fact when completing an

odometer disclosure statement as transferor (seller) only or transferee (buyer) only.

Question #5

Should the seller or buyer use Power of Attorney - HSMV 82053 to appoint a licensed motor

vehicle dealer or his employees as attorney in fact for a non-exempt motor vehicle transaction?

Answer:

No. The seller or buyer cannot lawfully use the Power of Attorney - HSMV 82053 to appoint a

licensed motor vehicle dealer or his employee as attorney in fact to execute an odometer
disclosure in their behalf. The individual appointed must be an independent third party who is not
associated with the dealership in any capacity. A licensed motor vehicle dealer, including his

employees, is considered one legal entity.

Scenario: John Smith owns five different franchises, each with separate dealer licenses. The title
work for all five franchises is completed in one location. When a "third party" is needed to sign as
power of attorney, John Smith Honda would let the title clerk for John Smith Toyota sign as

power of attorney. The title clerk for John Smith Toyota does not work for John Smith Honda.

Question #6

Because John Smith is the owner of all five franchises, does this mean the title clerk from John

Smith's franchises cannot sign as a third party on Power of Attorney - HSMV 82053 in this manner?
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Answer:
The title clerk can not sign as the third party because they work for John Smith who owns all five

franchises.

Scenario:

John Smith only has one dealer license with DBA's (doing business as) and the third party works

for, and is paid by, one of the DBA companies under the same dealer's license.

Question #7

Could the title clerk sign as a legitimate "third party"?

Answer:
No. The individual appointed as an independent third party must not be associated with the
dealership in any capacity.

Question #8
When a dealer sells a vehicle to a lease company, can the lessee sign for the lease company
without a power of attorney?

Answer:
No. If the lessee is signing for the lease company, a general power of attorney or a form prescribed
by FLHSMV must be submitted showing the name of the lessee and clearly specifying the lessee's
authority.
Scenario: A dealer sells a vehicle to a lease company and the conforming MCO is not available at
the time of sale.

Question #9
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Can a person from the dealership sign Motor Vehicle Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement -

HSMV 82994 as seller, and another person from the dealership sign as purchaser, for the lease

company using a general power of attorney or Power of Attorney - HSMV 820537

Answer:
No. The individual appointed as an independent third party must not be associated with the
dealership in any capacity.

Question #10
Can a leasing company give the lessee a general power of attorney to sign the odometer
disclosure statement and the dealer a general power of attorney to sign the odometer
declaration?

Answer:

Yes. The general power of attorney must show the name of the appointee and clearly specify the

appointee’s authority.

Question #11

Is it reasonable for a Tax Collector's office to accept the same third-party name continuously as

the appointee on Power of Attorney - HSMV 82053 from the same dealership?

Answer:
Yes. If the third party is not associated with the dealership. No. If the third party is associated with
the dealership in any way. If you are suspicious about a transaction, notify your local Division of
Motorist Services Regional office. They will contact the dealership to verify the information in
question.
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Question #12

When a dealership is named as power of attorney in “Part A” on Motor Vehicle Power of

Attorney/Odometer Disclosure - Form HSMV 82995 does the person signing for the dealership in

“Part A” also have to sign in “Part C?”

Answer:
No. Since the dealership was named and not an individual with the dealership, the person signing
for the dealership in “Part C” may be different than the person who signed for the dealership in
“PartA.”
The person in “Part C” would be the individual to transfer the information to the actual certificate
of title after it is received.

Question #13
If a customer is the sole owner of a dealership/company and is selling the vehicle to
himself/herself, what is the procedure he/she would follow for the odometer disclosure?

Answer:

Federal and state law cites that no person may sign a disclosure statement as the buyer and seller
in the same transaction. However, in the case of sole ownership of a dealership/company, there is
no one else available to sign. Therefore, the disclosure would have to be made by the same

person.

Question #14

Can a vehicle with a model year of 2011 or newer, or a model year of 2010 or older, with no
odometer reading or status on the out of state title be issued a Florida title with the reading

shown on the odometer declaration or disclosure or must it be issued as exempt?

Revision Date: 02/05/2021 Page 38 of 44

Effective Date: Immediately


https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82995.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82995.pdf

Answer:

The odometer reading must be shown as exempt, as there would be no unbroken chain of

odometer readings.

Question #15

Which odometer reading should be shown when you have more than one reading?

Scenario: Title comes in from New York (non-exempt); the seller and buyer complete the odometer
disclosure on the title showing the mileage as 54,000 actual miles. The buyer goes into the Tax

Collector's office or license plate agency and has Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer

Verification - HSMV 82042 completed, verifying the VIN and showing the mileage as 55,000 actual

miles.

Answer:
The most current odometer reading should always be entered when processing the transaction.
Question #16
When applicable, can Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment - HSMV
82993 be used by a dealer in lieu of an odometer disclosure statement which is required by federal
law?
Answer:
Yes. Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment - HSMV 82993 has all the
elements required in an odometer disclosure statement.
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Question #17

When a vehicle is titled in two names joined by “OR”, and one owner wants to drop the co-owner,
and the vehicle is less than 10 years old (non-exempt) - can the same person sign as seller and

purchaser?

Answer:
Yes. The same person can sign as buyer and seller because they are disclosing the odometer

information to themselves.

Question #18

If a Florida Certificate of Title has been issued showing the odometer status as "EXEMPT," and the

new purchaser wants their title issued with a current reading. Is this acceptable?

Answer:

Yes. As long as the title is being issued with the odometer status as “NOT ACTUAL MILEAGE.”

Question #19

Vehicle is traded-in to a dealership. The title is with the lienholder due to a recorded lien on the

title. A Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure - Form HSMV 82995 is completed by

the customer and the dealership at the time of sale, showing the current odometer reading. When
the title is received, the clerk transfers the odometer information to the title; however, he/she
enters an incorrect reading, which does not match the reading on the HSMV 82995. What is

needed to correct this error?
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Answer:

The title, Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure - Form HSMV 82995 showing the

correct information, and a letterhead affidavit from the dealership explaining the error.

Question #20

Vebhicle is traded-in to a dealership. Customer has a title signed over to him, which was never
transferred in his name. He submits the title to the dealership and completes a Motor Vehicle

Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure - Form HSMV 82995at the dealership. Can the dealership

use the form HSMV 82995 to transfer the information to the title when it is received?

Answer:

No. The Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure - Form HSMV 82995 would not be

acceptable in this situation. This situation does not meet the criteria of "title not available for

endorsement," as the title should be in the customer's name prior to trading it in.

Question #21

A seller and purchaser sign the FL title and incorrectly mark the odometer EXEMPT. The purchaser
cannot get in touch with the seller to correct the odometer disclosure and complete the title

transfer. How can this be remedied?

Answer:

The purchaser can complete a separate odometer disclosure statement on Separate Odometer

Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment - HSMV 82993 and submit an affidavit stating why

EXEMPT was written on the FL title and no fraud was intended. Refer to Section 11.J.3

Discrepancies for further guidance.
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Question #22

Is there a simplified chart that shows when a vehicle model year is eligible for odometer

exemption?
Answer:
See Exhibit F.
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Exhibit F

Model Year Exemption Chart

Odometer Exemption Applicability to Model Year Vehicles (49 CGR 5800.17)

S Date Vehicle Becomes Exempt from Disclosure AFPIEE*“I.'W ]
Year Exemption
2000 11/2000 10-year exemption
2001 1/1/2011 10-year sxemption
2002 1/1/2012 10-year exemption
2002 112013 10-year exemption
2004 1/1/2014 10-year exemption
2005 1/1/2015 10~year exemption
2006 1712006 10-year exemption
2007 17172017 10~year exemption
2008 1/1/2018 10~year exemption
2009 1/1/2019 10-year exemption
2010 1/1/2020 10-year exemption

1/1/2031, [continue to require odometer
2011 disclosure on model year 2011 until 1/1/31) 20-year exemption
1/1/2032, (continue to reguire odometer 20-year exemption
1012 disclosure on model year 2012 until on 1/1/32)
1,/1/2033 (continue to require odometer disclosure | 20-year exemption
2013 on model year 2013 until 1/1/33)
1,/1/2034 (continue to require odometer disclosure | 20-year exemption
2014 on model year 2014 until 1,/1/34)
1/1/2035 (continue to require odometer disclosure | 20-year exemption
2015 on model year 2015 until 1/1/35)
1,/1/2036 (continue to require odometer disclosure | 20-year exemption
2016 on model year 2016 until 1/1/36
1/1/2037 (continue to require odometer disclosure | 20-year exemption
2017 on model year 2017 until 1/1/37
1/1/2038 (continue to require odometer disclosure | 20-year exemption
2018 on model year 2018 until 1/1/38)
1/1/2039 (continue to reqguire odometer disclosure | 20-year exemption
2019 on model year 2019 until 1/1/39)
1,/1/2040 (continue to require odometer disclosure | 20-year exemption
2020 on model year 2020 until 1,/1/40)
1/1/2041 (continue to require odometer disclosure | 20-year exemption
2021 on model year 2021 until 1/1/41)
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Revision(s) to this Procedure:

Revision(s) to this Procedure: Conducted annual review. Added language to section 1I-B(2) and the following
in section IlI: A(2-3); J; K(1-2), and O. Updated Exhibit E (answer #2); Question #14, and both Q&A to #18-22.
Added Exhibit F.
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