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Legal Authority

Chapter 212, Florida Statutes, Tax on Sales, Use, and Other Transactions

Chapter 320, Florida Statutes, Motor Vehicle Licenses

Chapter 605, Florida Statutes, Florida Revised Limited Liability Company Act

Chapter 607, Florida Statutes, Florida Business Corporation Act

Section 193.075, Florida Statutes, Mobile Homes and Recreational Vehicles

Part 1 of Chapter 634, Florida Statutes, Motor Vehicle Service Agreement Companies

Revision Date: 06/26/23 Page 1 of 32
Effective Date: Immediately


http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0200-0299/0212/0212ContentsIndex.html#:%7E:text=View%20Entire%20Chapter-,CHAPTER%20212,TAX%20ON%20SALES%2C%20USE%2C%20AND%20OTHER%20TRANSACTIONS,-212.01
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0300-0399/0320/0320ContentsIndex.html#:%7E:text=View%20Entire%20Chapter-,CHAPTER%20320,MOTOR%20VEHICLE%20LICENSES,-320.01
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0600-0699/0605/0605ContentsIndex.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0600-0699/0607/0607ContentsIndex.html#:%7E:text=View%20Entire%20Chapter-,CHAPTER%20607,FLORIDA%20BUSINESS%20CORPORATION%20ACT,-PART%20I
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=193.075&URL=0100-0199/0193/Sections/0193.075.html#:%7E:text=193.075%E2%80%83Mobile%20homes%20and%20recreational%20vehicles.%E2%80%94
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0600-0699/0634/0634PARTIContentsIndex.html#:%7E:text=PART%20I,SERVICE%0AAGREEMENT%20COMPANIES

Rule 12A-1, Florida Administrative Code, Sales and Use Tax

Florida Department of Revenue Tax Information Publication, Sales, and Use Tax

Description and Use

This procedure provides information and instructions to assist employees of the tax collector, license plate
agent, and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) in establishing proper

sales tax to be collected when transferring ownership of a motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel.

Documentation and Special Instructions

A. Sales Tax Collections

1. Florida law requires sales tax to be collected on the sales price of a motor vehicle, mobile home, or
vessel. In the case of a straight sale, six (6) percent tax will be collected on the total sales price.
Straight sales are those sales that do not involve a trade-in of a motor vehicle, mobile home, or

vessel.

2. Effective July 1,2022, the sales tax for the purchase of a new mobile home will be three (3) percent. A
new mobile home means a mobile home in which the equitable or legal title has never been
transferred by a manufacturer, distributor, importer, or dealer to an ultimate purchaser, TIP 22A01-

12.

3. Effective July 1, 2010, the maximum total sales tax and discretionary sales surtax to be collected on a

vessel is $18,000. See Sales and Use Tax on Boats.

4. Inthe case of sales involving trade-ins at a dealership, sales tax must be collected on the amount of
the difference between the trade-in allowance of the item being traded and the sale price of the

motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel being purchased. The trade-in motor vehicle, mobile home or
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vessel may be provided by a third -party other than the purchaser. The trade-in motor vehicle,
mobile home or vessel does not have to be titled in the name of the purchaser to be used for trade-in
credit if the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel trade-in and the motor vehicle, mobile home or
vessel purchase are part of a single transaction. In the case of a casual sale, sales tax must be
collected on the amount of the difference between the trade-in allowance of the item being traded
and the sale price of the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel being purchased. ltems being traded

must be a motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel.

In addition to the six (6) percent sales tax, some counties impose a local discretionary sales surtax.
See Exhibit F for the Florida Department of Revenue Discretionary Sales Surtax Information for the

Calendar Year.

Discretionary sales surtax is calculated on motor vehicles, mobile homes, or vessels when the
residence address of the purchaser on the certificate of title or registration is located within a
discretionary surtax county. Discretionary sales surtax only applies to the first $5,000 of the sales

price.

5. Sales tax exemption information may be specified on forms Application for Certificate of Motor

Vehicle Title - HSMV 82040 MV, Application for Certificate of Mobile Home Title - HSMV 82040 MH,

and Application for Certificate of Vessel Title - HSMV 82040 VS.

e Power farm equipment does not include vehicles that are required to be licensed as motor

vehicle under Chapter 320, Florida Statutes. However, a motor vehicle licensed as a “goat” under

s. 320.08(3)(d) may qualify for the exemption. See Florida Department of Revenue Tax

Information Publications for information concerning the exemption:

o TI1P05A01-03

o TIP15A01-10

o TIP15A01-11
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See RS-44 Agricultural (Restricted), Horticultural (Restricted) or Goat License Plates for more

information on processing the license plate.
6. If a motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel transaction is handled by a dealer, the dealer must collect
sales tax and any discretionary sales surtax, if applicable, and advise FLHSMV of the amount of sales

tax collected. This may be done in the following manner:

e The amount of tax collected may be shown on the Florida Certificate of Title being

transferred.

e The amount of tax collected may be shown on forms Reassignment Supplement to a Certificate

of Title - HSMV 82091 or Motor Vehicle Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement - HSMV 82994,

whenapplicable.

e On new motor vehicles, mobile homes, or vessels or those with out-of-state proof of
ownership sold by a dealer, the amount of tax collected may be shown on forms

Application for Certificate of Motor Vehicle Title - HSMV 82040 MV, Application for

Certificate of Mobile home Title - HSMV 82040 MH, or Application for Certificate of
Vessel Title - HSMV 82040 VS.

When a dealer collects sales tax, they must enter their firm name, dealer license number (if
applicable), sales tax registration number and signature when completing one of the above
forms. If sales tax is not applicable, the dealer's information (dealer's name, address, and
dealer's license number, if applicable) must still be shown on the reassignment document, as

this information is required to be entered in the motor vehicle issuance system.

e Section 212.08(10)(a) Florida Statute, provides that when a sale by a Florida motor vehicle dealer

to aresident of another state within the United States is taxable in an amount equal to the sales
tax which would be imposed on such sale in the purchaser’s state of residence. For more

information, see the Department of Revenue, Tax Information Publication, 18A01-01. However,
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the amount of sales tax collected from the out-of-state resident must NOT exceed Florida's state
sales tax rate of six (6) percent. No Florida discretionary sales surtax isimposed on these types of
sales. When the “Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Rates by State and Tax Credit Application” indicates the

state charges a “usage” or “excise” tax, sales tax is not applicable (See Section F Miscellaneous

Information).

Example: Another state charges 0% sales tax on new and used motor vehicles but charges a

6% motor vehicle “usage tax.”

Action: Florida would not charge the out-of-state resident sales tax for the motor vehicle. At
the time of the sale the purchaser shall execute a notarized statement of his intent to license

the vehicle in his state of residence within 45 days from the date of purchase and:
o Pay Florida sales tax to the dealer making the sale or to the appropriate tax collector office
or license plate agent in the case of a private sale, in an amount equivalent to the sales tax

in the purchaser’s state of residence, and

o Furnish the dealer making the sale or the tax collector office or license plate agent with a

signed copy of the notarized statement, which the dealer shall retain in their records, and

o Submit the original notarized statement to the appropriate sales tax collection agency in

his state of residence.

The Department of Revenue prescribes form DR-123 Affidavit for Partial Exemption of a Motor

Vehicle Sold for Licensing in Another State, to be completed by the purchaser and furnished to

the selling dealer or appropriate sales tax collection agency.

7. The Hope Scholarship Program provides a public school student who was subjected to an incident of
violence or bullying at school the opportunity to apply for a scholarship to attend an eligible private

school. Offer the form DR-HS1 Florida Tax Credit Scholarship Program Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Credit

Contribution Election to each customer before sales tax is paid.
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B. Sales or Use Tax is Applicable to the Following Certificate of Title Transactions Unless an Exemption

Applies

1. Transfers from an individual to an individual.

2. Transfers from a partnership to an individual.

3. Transfers from a partnership to a corporation.

4. Transfers from an individual to a corporation.

5. Transfers from a corporation to a corporation (unless transferred due to corporate consolidation or

merger).

6. Transfers from a corporation to an individual, even if the individual is the sole shareholder of the

corporation.

7. When assuming a lien (transfer of equity). The amount paid and any unpaid balance due the seller or

lienholder and assumed by the transferee are taxable.

8. Transfers from a sole proprietorship which incorporates to the new corporation resulting from the
incorporation. Any amount paid, and any unpaid amounts assumed are taxable unless the
presumption of taxability is overcome. In the absence of a stated consideration, the fair market value

will be regarded as the basis for the computation of sales tax.

9. When title to a boat, mobile home, motor vehicle or other vehicle of a class or type required to be
registered, licensed, titled or documented in this state or by the United States Government is
transferred from a partnership to one of the individual partners or from one of the individual
partners to a partnership or from one partnership to another partnership, it is taxable based upon

the actual consideration or if the consideration is not stated, on the fair market value of the vehicle.

Revision Date: 06/26/23 Page 6 of 32
Effective Date: Immediately



10. When title to a boat, mobile home, motor vehicle or other vehicle of a class or type required to be
registered, licensed, titled - or documented in this state or by the United States Government is
transferred from an individual, who may or may not be a stockholder, to a corporation - or from a
corporation to an individual who may or may not be a stockholder, or from one corporation to
another - or from a partnership to a corporation - or from a corporation to a partnership, itis
presumed that a consideration flows from the transferee to the transferor, and if no consideration is
stated, then it shall be presumed to be the fair market value of the vehicle. This is true even when the

two corporations are owned by the same stockholders.

11. Transfer to or from a trust for consideration is taxable based on the cash or equivalent paid in
exchange for the transfer plus the amount of any outstanding lien assumed. (It is exempt only if

transferred for no consideration.)

12. Motor vehicles, mobile homes or vessels won through a contest are subject to sales tax on the retail
value of the motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel, unless the sales tax has been paid on the motor

vehicle, mobile home, or vessel by the donor of the prize.

13. When the motor vehicle use is classified as a taxicab or the vessel use is classified as a water taxicab.

14. All permanent residents of Florida must pay sales and use tax when titling or registering motor
vehicles, mobile homes, or vessels in Florida. An exemption from payment from payment of sales
and use tax may apply when a member of the United States Armed Forces, who is a permanent
Florida resident, stationed outside Florida, purchases a motor vehicle or vessel outside of Florida
and titles and registers the motor vehicle or vessel in Florida. The armed forces member must
provide documentation showing the sales tax paid in another state or an affidavit attesting to all the

exemption requirements.

15. In the case of a casual sale when a temporary license plate is issued so that the motor vehicle can be
driven to the port to send overseas or driven to another state for title issuance, sales and use tax will

apply. However, motor vehicles purchased by residents of other states are subject to the partial
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exemption if the motor vehicle is to be license in its home state within 45 days and the purchaser

completes the partial exemption affidavit, form DR-123 Affidavit for Partial Exemption of a Motor

Vehicle Sold for Licensing in Another State. When the sale of a motor vehicle is conducted and the

buyer/dealer arranges for the motor vehicle to be transported by a common carrier, licensed
exporter, or freight forwarder for shipment to another state or to the port for shipping overseas, the

vehicle is exempted from sales and use tax, Sales and Use Tax on Motor Vehicles - GT-800030.

16. The removal of one party’s name from a title in which the parties are joined by “Or” is not a taxable
transfer between the parties. In the case of parties joined by “Or”, each party is considered to own
100% of the motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel; therefore, the removal of one party does not
result in any additional ownership being bestowed on the remaining party. It is immaterial whether
the party being removed from the title considers the party remaining on the title. The removal,
addition, or transfer of one party’s name from a title in which the parties are joined by “And”, is

generally taxable unless one of the exemptions applies.

C. The Following Situations are Exempt from Sales Tax

1. Even trade of another motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel.

2. Trade down.

3. Divorce, a copy of the Divorce Decree must be submitted with the application for certificate of title.

4. Inheritance.

5. Gift (No lien assumed) this is a general rule when, at the time of transfer, no lien is assumed. A gift of
a motor vehicle between corporations or individuals is a nontaxable title transfer when the title of
the vehicle is transferred without any payment and no outstanding lien is assumed by the new
owner. To claim the exemption at the time of transfer, the applicant must declare the exemption on
an application for certificate of title, license, or registration filed with the Florida Highway Safety and

Motor Vehicles, tax collector, or license plate agent. The new owner is required to declare that the
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transfer of ownership is exempt from tax as a gift under the “Sales Tax Exemption Certification”

section on forms Application for Certificate of Motor Vehicle Title - HSMV 82040 MV, Application for

Certificate of Mobile Home Title - HSMV 82040 MH, or Application for Certificate of Vessel Title - HSMV

82040 VS or the “Sales Tax and Use Report” section on HSMV 82041.

6. Transfer of certificate of title by a dissolved corporation or limited liability company to one of its
stockholders or managing members as part of the stockholder's or member's ratable portion of the
corporation's assets. It does not constitute a sale of a motor vehicle or vessel by the dissolved

corporation to the stockholder.

7. When a Florida licensed motor vehicle dealer or a vessel dealer applies for a Florida Certificate of
Title in the dealership’s name with or without a lien and the motor vehicle or vessel is being held in
inventory for sale in the regular course of business or is being operated relating to such dealer’s

business with a dealer’s license plate pursuant to s. 320.13, if applicable.

8. Transfer of a certificate of title into the name of the surviving corporation because of corporate

consolidation or merger in accordance with Section 607, Florida Statutes or Section 617, Florida

Statutes or a reorganization as defined in Section 368(a)(1), of the Internal Revenue Code, solely in

exchange of stock.

9. When a corporation simply changes its name and files the change of name with the Florida
Department of State. A copy of the name change documents must be attached to the application for

certificate of title.

10. Redemption of a repossessed motor vehicle by the original customer or co-owner named on the title
prior to the repossession, who defaulted on the loan, is not a sale and is not taxable (provided the

redemption occurs within 90 days of the repossession).

11. Enrolled members of the Miccosukee or Seminole Tribe of Florida may purchase a motor vehicle,
mobile home, or vessel exempt from tax when: The sale and delivery take place on tribal trust land or
reservation of either the Seminole Tribe of Florida or the Miccosukee Tribe. The purchaser is a
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permanent resident of the reservation or trust land of the tribe of which the purchaser is an enrolled
member, and the individual purchaser displays a tribal identification card or letter issued by his or
her tribe. The office handling such transaction must maintain a record of the sale, including the
name of the customer, date of the sale, copy of tribal card or letter, description of the motor vehicle
sold, and the amount of each sale. If the delivery of the vehicle does not take place on the

reservation, sale tax is due.

12. An outboard motor and accessories are not included in the sales price of a vessel if the sale was
made by a non-dealer and the outboard motor and accessories are separately itemized. The vessel is
still subject to sales tax. In the event of such a transaction, a copy of the executed bill of sale must
accompany the title transfer application to document the reason for the payment of less than the full
amount of the sales tax based on the assignor’s total selling price recorded on the title document.
The above exception is limited to casual sales between individuals. The sales tax exemption on the

motor provisions of the exemption applies only to outboards and accessories.

13. Any Off-Highway vehicle that is used exclusively on a farm or in a forest for agricultural purposes is

exempt from sales tax, pursuant to s. 212.08(3). See Exhibit D for a suggested tax exemption

certificate.

14. Transfer of a certificate of title from a partnership to one of the partners as part of the final

dissolution of the partnership.

15. The transfer of a motor vehicle title to a limited liability company pursuant to a consolidation or

merger in accordance with Chapter 605, Florida Statutes, is not subject to tax.

16. By order of the court which specifically awards the vehicle, vessel, or mobile home.

17. Any parts, special attachments/lettering, and other like items added or attached to tangible personal
property (e.g., motor vehicles) to assist a person with special needs (such as a wheelchair lift) are
exempt when purchased pursuant to an individual prescription. The prescription signed by the

certifying physician must be submitted with the application for this exemption.
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When purchased without an individual prescription, these items are subject to tax. However, the
motor vehicle and the standard or optional equipment available on the motor vehicle remain subject

to tax. For more information see FAC 12A-1.020(8). Select the word document for the final notice

adopted effective 07/12/2010 and scroll to (8).

18. Motor Vehicles, mobile homes, and vessels sold or donated by a religious institution or nonprofit
organization whose primary purpose is to provide special educational, cultural, recreational, and
social benefits to minors are exempt. Tax cannot be imposed in the form of a use tax on the
purchaser. Therefore, the transfer of title of a motor vehicle from a religious institution under or s.
212.08(7)(m), a qualified nonprofit organization under s. 212.08(7)(l), to another party is not subject

to tax. For more information see the Florida Statutes named above and TIP 02A01-27R.

The exempt religious institution or qualified nonprofit organization should provide the purchaser
with a bill of sale identifying the exempt religious institution or qualified nonprofit organization and
its Consumer’s Certificate of Exemption number. The Consumer’s Certificate of Exemption number
will identify the entity as a religious institution by the last two digits of the number being 55 or a

qualified Youth/Minor nonprofit organization by the last tow digits being 60.

Using forms Application for Certificate of Motor Vehicle Title - HSMV 82040 MV, Application for

Certificate of Mobile Home Title - HSMV 82040 MH, and Application for Certificate of Vessel Title -

HSMV 82040 VS, the purchaser should check the “Other” box under the Sales Tax Exemption

Certification section and make the notation “Exempt under Section 212.08(7)(m), Florida Statutes”
for sale by a religious institution or “Exempt under Section 212.08(7)(l), Florida Statutes” for sale by a
qualified nonprofit organization. The religious institution’s or nonprofit organization’s Consumer’s

Certificate of Exemption number should be noted on the application.

D. Taxing Vehicles Previously Registered Out-of-State

The owner of a motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel who purchased it in another state, territory of the

United States or the District of Columbia, six months or more prior to the time the motor vehicle, mobile
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home or vessel was brough into his state is not subject to the six (6) percent Florida sales or use tax or
local discretionary sales surtax, provided that the owner was subject to the taxing jurisdiction of the
other state, territory or District of Columbia. Documentary evidence must be shown that the motor

vehicle, mobile home, or vessel was used for six months or more in such jurisdiction.

If the motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel was purchased and used less than six months in another
state, territory of the United States or the District of Columbia, the full amount of the six (6) percent
Florida sales or use tax and local discretionary sales surtax is required to be paid before title and
registration can be issued by the Department. However, a credit is allowed for a like tax paid in another
state, territory of the United States or the District of Columbia, against the amount of Florida sales or use

tax and local discretionary sales surtax.

For credit allowed, ONE of the following would apply:

1. Ifthe creditis equal to or greater than the amount imposed by this state, no additional tax is due.

2. Ifthe creditis less than the amount imposed by this state, only the difference between the two

would be due.

See the Department of Revenue Sales and Use Tax on Motor Vehicles

If a motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel was purchased in a foreign country, six (6) percent Florida
sales or use tax and local discretionary sales surtax is required to be paid before a certificate of title and
registration can be issued by the Department. The amount upon which the tax is applied is the greater of
the amount of the outstanding lien on the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel or the fair market value

of the motor vehicle, mobile home or, vessel on date of entry. No credit is allowed for any sales or use

tax paid to a foreign country. Section 212.08(7)(mmm), Florida Statutes, provides that when an active
member (or his/her spouse) of the United States Armed Forces imports his/her motor vehicle from a

foreign country, they are exempt from use tax if EACH of the following are met:

e The vehicle was purchased and used in a foreign country for six months or longer before being

imported into Florida.
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e Thevehicleis being titled or registered in Florida for personal use by the active member and/or

his/her spouse.
e Member provides proof of active military status. If the vehicle is being titled or registered to include
the member’s spouse or to the member’s spouse, verification of the spouse’s relationship to the

active member is required.

If a vehicle/vessel was originally titled in Florida (sales tax was paid); was taken to another country and

is returning from that country in the same owner's name, sales or use tax would NOT be due.

E. Taxing Mobile Homes
The transfer of a mobile home which bears a “MH” decal issued under the provisions of s.320.081, and
which was purchased as living accommodations, or for rental as living accommodations, is taxable.
Transfers of mobile homes which have “RP” decals are exempt provided the land and mobile home are

sold together.

Taxation on mobile homes under s. 193.075, as tangible personal property does not relieve the owner

from the requirement of buying a mobile home decal under s.320.05(2).

Sales tax is due on the purchase price of a mobile home if it is not real property. For a private sale, any

attachments may be deducted from the full price. For these cases:

e The mobile home must have a value.

e Deductions cannot be greater or equal to the value of the mobile home.

e Anitemized bill of sale is required.

F. Miscellaneous Information:
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1. Credit shall be given for a like tax paid on a motor vehicle or vessel in another state including local
taxes, i.e., county and or city, if the tax is legally imposed on the sale of the motor vehicle or vessel.
For example, a local property or ad valorem tax imposed on a motor vehicle or vessel in another

state would not be a like tax for Florida’s credit provisions.

2. Foralicensed common carrier to obtain the “partial sales tax exemption (at the time of purchase),” it
must extend a copy of its Sale and Use Tax Direct Permit that was issued by the Department of

Revenue. Refer to Rule 12A-1.064(4), Florida Administrative Code. The carrier must have the permit

issued by the Department of Revenue prior to the purchase of the vehicle.

3. Toview “Florida Department of Revenue Tax Information Publications” go to the Department of

Revenue’s website located at: https://floridarevenue.com

4. Visit the Department of Revenue’s website for a schedule of “Sales Tax Rates and Tax Credit

Application.”

5. Effective July 1, 2022, a trailer purchased by a farmer for exclusive use in agricultural production or
to transport farm products from his or her farm to the place where the farmer transfer ownership of
the farm products to another is exempt from Florida sales tax. The exemption applies even if the

trailer is licensed for highway use under Chapter 320, Florida Statutes. The exemption does not apply

to the lease or rental of a trailer. “Agricultural production” means the production of plants and
animals useful to humans, including the preparing, planting, cultivating, or harvesting of these
products or any other practices necessary to accomplish production through the harvest phase,
including storage of raw products on a farm. The term includes aquaculture, horticulture,
floriculture, viticulture, forestry, dairy, livestock, poultry, bees, and any and all forms of farm

products and farm productions. TIP 22A01-15.

Exemption Certificate Required, these exemptions are not allowed unless the purchaser furnishes
the seller with a signed exemption certificate stating the item(s) purchased is for the designated use

in agricultural production. Section 193.461 and Section 212.08(3), Florida Statutes.
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6. Rebates provided by manufacturers to purchasers of tangible personal property are not discounts
allowed between the dealer and the purchaser. The initial purchase of the item and the honoring of a
rebate claim by the manufacturer are two separate and distinct transactions. Sales tax is calculated
on the total sales price, without any deduction for the manufacturer’s rebate. However, when a
discount is issued by the dealer to the purchaser, sales tax is calculated on the price of the vehicle

after the discount is applied.

Revision(s) to Procedure

06/26/23 - Added instructions for the new Form HSMV 82040s

11/29/22 - Added “Effective July 1, 2022, a trailer purchased by a farmer for exclusive use in agricultural
production or to transport farm products from his or her farm to the place where the farmer transfers
ownership of the farm products to another is exempt from Florida sales tax. The exemption applies even if
the trailer is licensed for highway use under Chapter 320, Florida Statutes. The exemption does not apply to
the lease or rental of a trailer. “Agricultural production” means the production of plants and animals useful
to humans, including the preparation, planting, cultivating, or harvesting of these products or any other
practices necessary to accomplish production through the harvest phase, including storage of raw products
on a farm. The term includes aquaculture, horticulture, floriculture, viticulture, forestry, dairy, livestock,
poultry, bees, and any and all forms of farm products and farm production. Exemption Certificate Required.
These exemptions are not allowed unless the purchaser furnishes the seller with a signed exemption
certificate stating the item(s) purchased is for the designated use in agricultural production. Sections

193.461 and Section 212.08(3), Florida Statutes.” Added Exhibit H.

09/21/22 - Added the Armed Forces member must provide documentation showing the sales tax was paid in
another state. Removed “The Department” from the procedure and changed to “Florida Highway Safety and
Motor Vehicles”. Added to #18, under exemptions: Motor vehicles, vessels, and mobile homes sold or
donated by a religious institution or nonprofit organization whose primary purpose is to provide special

educational, cultural, recreational, and social benefits to minors are exempt. Added under “Documentation
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and Special Instructions”: Effective July 1, 2022, the sales tax for the purchase of a new mobile home will be
three (3) percent. A new mobile home means a mobile home which the equitable or legal title has never
been transferred by a manufacturer, distributor, importer, or dealer to an ultimate purchaser.

For more information on this tax rate reduction, please click the link provided below:

State Sales Tax Rate Imposed on Retail Sales of New Mobile Homes Reduced to 3%.

Sales tax is due on the purchase price of a mobile home if it is not real property. For a private sale, any
attachments may be deducted from the full price. For these cases: The mobile home must have a value.
Deductions cannot be greater or equal to the value of the mobile home. An itemized bill of sale is required.

Added a sample mobile home bill of sale “For Private Sale”.

12/23/19 -Updated Exhibit F with 2020 Discretionary Sales Surtax Information.

12/21/18 - Added Hope Scholarship information and link to form, see section A.6. Fixed broken links to
statutes, forms, and websites. Added Sales Tax Exemption information under Documentation and Special

Instructions, A. 4. Relating to vehicles used as goats.

09/11/18 - Statutory review. Updated DOR phone number. Updated Exhibit F 2018 Discretionary Sales
Surtax Info chart. Added accessories to sales tax exemption (C. 12) if a private sale and the accessories are
itemized separately on the bill of sale.

4/30/18 - Updated links to Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Rates by State.

1/11/18 - Updated link (page 4) regarding Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Rates by State as of Dec. 31, 2017.
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Exhibit A

Discount

Discretionary Sales Surtax

Rebate

Sales Tax

Service Warranty

Revision Date: 06/26/23
Effective Date: Immediately

Definitions

A discount is a portion of the selling price that is
deducted in advance of the payment by the dealer.

Discounts are not taxable.

Additional tax imposed by certain counties on
motor vehicles, mobile homes, and vessels

purchased by residents of that county.

Arebate is a portion of the selling price that is given
back to the buyer by either the manufacturer or the
dealer after the payment of the full invoice amount.

Rebates are taxable.

A tax imposed by the state of Florida on motor
vehicles, mobile homes, and vessels sold in the
state of Florida (sales tax is collected on the
purchase price of the motor vehicle, mobile home,

or vessel less the retail value of the trade-in).

Any contract which indemnifies the holder of the
contract for the cost of maintaining, repairing, or
replacing tangible personal property. This term
includes motor vehicle warranties issued under

Part 1 of Chapter 634, Florida Statutes.
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Use Tax

Revision Date: 06/26/23
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Atax imposed by the state of Florida on the
purchase of a motor vehicle, mobile home, or
vessel which was not purchased in Florida but
brough into and used in Florida during the first six
months of ownership. Proof of an actual sales tax
paid in other states may be allowed as a credit
against this use tax. Motor vehicles or vessels
previously registered in a foreign country are
subject to the full use tax regardless of how long
they have been owned or how much tax was paid in
the foreign country. See the latest Department of

Revenue Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Rates by State.
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Exhibit B

1.

Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

Note: When tax is due, any county imposed discretionary sales surtax is also due.

If a lienholder has released the title to add a name that is not on the original loan and is not being added
to the loan, is sales tax due? (Example: Title is in the mother’s name with an existing lien and lienholder

releases the title to add the daughter’s name, but the daughter’s name is not being added to the loan.)

To have an application of sales tax, there first must be a sale of tangible property. Under the definition of
the term “sale” in Section 212.02(15)(a), Florida Statutes, a sale must involve the transfer of title or
possession or both, of tangible property for a consideration. Therefore, unless the daughter has paid or
will pay consideration to the mother in the form of money, property, services, or other things of value to
have her name added on the title, there is no consideration and, hence, no “sale” by statutory definition.

Since there is no “sale,” sales tax is not required.

If aname is being added to a title and the loan, is sales tax due?

If the new party is being added to the loan with only joint liability, then the tax would be measured on
one half of the outstanding balance of the underlying note at the time of the transfer, plus the amount of

any cash or the equivalent paid in exchange for the transfer.

Joint Liability means the party being added is only responsible for their proportionate share of the
outstanding liability. If there are 2 parties involved, the new party being added will be assuming 1/2 of

the outstanding liability and tax would be due on that amount.

If the new party is being added to the note with joint and several liability, then the tax would be
measured on the full outstanding balance of the underlying note at the time of the transfer, plus the

amount of any cash or the equivalent paid in exchange for the transfer.
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Joint and several liability means all parties are 100% liable for the outstanding liability. The party being

added would owe tax on the full amount of the liability.

Lenders rarely, if ever, authorize loans with joint liability. The tax collection agent should assume that
the loan is being given with joint and several liabilities, and the customer will bear the burden of proving

otherwise.

3. Acustomeris given a motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel as a gift. They borrow money using the
motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel as collateral and proceed to process the title transfer into their

name, recording the lien. Is sales tax due?

If the donor (seller) is also the lender (lienholder), the transaction is viewed as a sale and sales tax is due.
However, if the donor (seller) of the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel is not the lender (lienholder),

then the “gift” is not viewed as a sale and sales tax would not be required.

4. If amotor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel was purchased (more than 6 months ago) in another state and
never titled or registered in the customer’s name, would the customer pay sales tax on the purchase

price or the fair market value?
If the customer has evidence of the purchase price of the motor vehicle or vessel, sales tax would be due
on the purchase price. However, if the taxpayer does not provide evidence of the purchase price, sales

tax would be due on the fair market value of the motor vehicle or vessel.

5. If amotor vehicle/vessel is purchased and driven or shipped to Florida from a foreign country Florida

resident, is the resident subject to a Florida title and sales or use tax?

Yes.

e Ifthe foreign title is signed over for transfer to the Florida resident, sales tax would be due on the

purchase price.
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e Ifthe foreign title being submitted is already in the Florida resident's name, a use tax would be due
on the value of the motor vehicle/vessel at the time of application for title in this state. A credit is not

allowed for any taxes paid to a foreign country.

6. If amotor vehicle or vessel is driven or shipped to Florida from a foreign country by a non-resident
person, must the non-resident take title while here in Florida and pay a use tax before selling the motor
vehicle or vessel?

No. However, the Florida resident purchasing the motor vehicle or vessel from the foreign resident
would pay sales tax on the purchase price.

7. IfaFloridaresidentis given a motor vehicle or vessel as a gift (by a resident from a foreign country) or
trades even for the motor vehicle/vessel is a use tax due?

No use tax is due in either situation.

8. Ifanindividual brings a motor vehicle or vessel in from out of the country and trades it to a Florida
dealer, is sales or use tax due?
No.

9. Ifanindividual transfers a certificate of title to add the name of his/her (sole proprietor) taxicab
company to the title, is sales tax due?

No. Even though the motor vehicle or vessel will be used as a taxi, sales tax would not be due. This type
of transaction is not a true transfer of ownership, as only the individual’s business name is being added
to his/her title.

10. When a motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel is purchased in the state of Florida with a service warranty,
is the service warranty taxable? (See Exhibit A for the definition of service)
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11.

12.

13.

Yes, sales tax is due. However, the $5,000 limitation for discretionary sales surtax does not apply to the

service warranty.

When a motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel is purchased in another state (and is being titled in
Florida) with a service warranty, should sales/use tax be collected on the service warranty? (See Exhibit

A for the definition of service warranty.)

No.

Is a church, synagogue, etc. required to file with the Department of Revenue (DOR) to be exempt from

sales tax?

Yes. The applicable entity must obtain a “Consumer's Certificate of Exemption” from DOR to claim the
exemption. If a non-exempt entity is included as the purchaser, the exempt entity would not be exempt

from payment of sales tax.

If an out of state resident purchases a motor vehicle in Florida and needs a Florida temporary license
plate to drive the motor vehicle back to their home state (which is not reciprocal with Florida), what is

the amount of sales tax that should be collected?

The amount of sales tax due would be equivalent to the sales tax in the purchaser's state of residence

even if that state is not reciprocal with Florida, provided a form DR-123 Affidavit for Partial Exemption of

a Motor Vehicle Sold for Licensing in Another State is completed. However, the amount of sales tax

collected from the out of state resident must NOT exceed Florida's state sales tax of six (6) percent, even

if the motor vehicle was purchased from a Florida county with a discretionary sales surtax.

It should be pointed out to the customer there is not a reciprocal agreement between their home state
and Florida. Therefore, they would be required to pay the taxes again in their state, if their state does not

allow credit for taxes paid to another state.
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14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

If a purchaser receives a motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel as an even trade from the seller for labor,

a horse, etc.; would the purchaser be exempt from sales tax?

No, sales tax would be due on the fair market value of the motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel. The

even trade item(s) must be a motor vehicle, mobile home, vessel.

When a motor vehicle is purchased, can a party purchase a motor vehicle from a dealer use, as credit, a

trade-in motor vehicle owned by a third party?

There is no provision in s. 212.09, which requires that a motor vehicle accepted in trade on the purchase
of another new or used motor vehicle, must be titled in the name of the party making the purchase.
Therefore, a third party may offer its vehicle as a trade-in on the purchase of a motor vehicle by another
related or unrelated party, so long as the purchase and trade-in are structured as a single transaction.
For the purchase and trade-in to be considered a single transaction, the third party owning the vehicle
being offered as a trade-in must assign the title directly to the motor vehicle dealer making the sale, and

such motor vehicle must be identified on the sales contract as the trade-in motor vehicle.

If a member of the military or his/her spouse purchases a motor vehicle in another country while

assigned there and now brings the motor vehicle into the state, will sales tax be applicable?

NOT if certain conditions are met. View the applicable conditions at the Department of Revenue website.

Are all transfers between a married couple exempt?

Yes, the transfer of title between a married couple of marital property is exempt. This is true even if there

is an outstanding lien. This exemption does not extend to other members of the family unless the

transfer is a gift.

Can a sales tax exemption allowance be given for a leased motor vehicle that was traded in by the lessee

towards the purchase of a non-leased motor vehicle?
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No, because the lessee is not the actual owner of the motor vehicle that was being traded in.

19. Can a Florida dealer sell a vehicle tax exempt to purchaser if the dealer arranges the shipment of the

vehicle?

Yes, if the dealer keeps a copy of the Bill of Lading from the US Customs office and a

DR-123 Affidavit for Partial Exemption of a Motor Vehicle Sold for Licensing in Another State signed by

the purchaser.

20. Can a Florida dealer sell a vehicle tax exempt to a purchaser and be issued a Florida Fast Title for US

Customs purposes if the dealer arranges the shipment of the vehicle?

Yes, if the dealer keeps a copy of the Bill of Lading from the US Customs office and a DR-123 Affidavit for

Partial Exemption of a Motor Vehicle Sold for Licensing in Another State signed by the purchaser. The

buyer must state the vehicle/vessel will not be used on the highways or waterways of the State of

Florida.

21. John owns a trailer that weighs 700 pounds and has had it registered in Florida. He has sold the trailer to
Steven and has given him a bill of sale. Steven does not want to register the trailer as it will not be used
on the public roads of Florida. Steven has now sold the trailer to Sam. Sam is registering the trailerin
Florida and has a bill of sale from Steven and the bill of sale from John to Steven. Does sales tax have to

be collected on the sale from John to Steven before we can register the trailer in Sam’s name?

No. Steven was not required to register the trailer because it was NOT being used on the public roads of
Florida. Therefore, sales tax is not required to be collected on the sale from John to Steven. See FAC

12A-1.007
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Exhibit C

Certificate of Entitlement for U.S. Armed Forces Personnel (Currently Stationed in a State Other than

Florida) Claiming an Exemption from Florida Sales Tax

I am a military member who has purchased the motor vehicle/vessel listed below in
(State) while stationed outside of Florida:

(Year) (Make of Vehicle/Vessel) (Vehicle/Vessel identification Number)

I am certifying the following:

| am a resident of the state of Florida.

» lamcurrently residing outside of Florida pursuant to military orders.
» Thevehicle/vessel will be held outside of Florida for longer than 6 months.

» lwill not bring the vehicle/vessel into the state of Florida within 6 months from the date of purchase,
even for temporary reasons.

» Irecognize that | owe tax to the state in which the motor vehicle was purchased unless a specific
exemption applies.

Ido not intend to avoid sales or use tax in any state by registering the vehicle/vessel in Florida.
I understand that if | fraudulently issue this certificate to evade the payment of sales tax, | will be liable for
payment of the sales tax plus a penalty of 200% of the tax and may be subject to conviction of a third-

degree felony.

Under the penalties of perjury, | declare that | have read the foregoing Certificate of Entitlement and the
facts stated in it are true.

(Date) (Signature of Military Member)
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Exhibit D

Example of a Suggested Purchaser’s Exemption Certificate for Certain Power Farm Equipment

This is to certify that the power farm equipment identified below, purchased on or after
(Date of purchase) (Selling Dealer's Business Name)
from

was purchased, rented, licensed, or leased for the following purpose (check a box below):

() Power farm equipment for exclusive use on a farm or in a forest in the agricultural production of crops or
products as produced by those agricultural industries included in Section 570.02(1), Florida Statutes.

or
() Power farm equipment for exclusive use in fire prevention and suppression work for such crops or
products, as produced by those agricultural industries included in Section 570.02(1), Florida Statutes.

Power Farm Equipment:

| understand that if | use the equipment for any purpose other than the one stated, | must pay tax on the
purchase or lease price of the taxable item directly to the Department of Revenue. | understand that if |
fraudulently issue this certificate to evade the payment of sales tax, | will be liable for payment of the sales
tax plus a penalty of 200% of the tax and may be subject to conviction of a third-degree felony.

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have read the foregoing document and that the facts stated in it
are true.

Purchaser's Name:

Purchaser's Address:

Name and Title of Purchaser's Authorized Representative:

(Signature of Purchaser or Authorized Representative)

(Title-only if purchased by an authorized representative of a business entity)
Title number:

Date
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Exhibit E

Example of a Suggested Exemption Certificate for Farm Trailers Weighing 12,000 Pounds or Less

This is to certify that the trailer described below, purchased on or after (date) from

(Selling Dealer's Business Name) is purchased by a farmer for

exclusive use in agricultural production or to transport farm products from his or her farm to the place

where the farmer transfers ownership of the farm products to another.

Description of Trailer Including Weight:

Note: Any portion of the sales price more than $20,000.00 is subject to sales tax.

I understand that if | use the equipment for any purpose other than the one stated, | must pay tax on the
initial $20,000 of the purchase price of the trailer directly to the Department of Revenue. | understand that if
| fraudulently issue this certificate to evade the payment of sales tax, | will be liable for payment of the sales

tax plus a penalty of 200% of the tax and may be subject to conviction of a third-degree felony.

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have read the foregoing document and that the facts stated in it

are true.

Purchaser's Name:

Purchaser's Address:

Name and Title of Purchaser's Authorized Representative:

(Signature of Purchaser or Authorized Representative)

Date:
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Exhibit F

Sample Mobile Home Bill of Sale

MOBILE HOME BILL of SALE

“FOR A PRIVATE SALE”
Year Make Mobile Home Identification Number

Purchaser(s) name(s}:

Date Soid:

FULL PURCHASE PRICE:

APPURTENANCES: Carport
Sunroom
\ Utility Shed

Freazer

Refrigerator

Drapes
Air Conditioner [ Ar Compressor
s fCendensey uri focoted outside)

Fumiture (ITEMIZE]:

TOTAL DERUCTIONS:

TAXABLE AMOUNT: 3

Under panalty of perjury, | declare that | have read the foregoing document and that the facts stated
in it gre trug,

Seller's Signature Seller’s Primted Name

Lo-5eller’s Signatura Co-Seller's Frimied Marme
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Exhibit G

Discretionary Sales Surtax Information oA-15088
- for Calendar Year 2022 Page 1012
= A eounty with more than one surlax is shaded in gmay
FLORIDA - & new, revised, extended, or expiring surax is printed in bold.
Total Efective Expiration Total Effective Expiration
County Surtax Rate Date Date County Surtax Rate Date Date
Alachua 1% (5%) Jan 1, 2017 Dec 31, 2024 | Latayetts 1% Sep 1,199 Mone
(5%)  Jan1,2019  Dec31,2030 || 4, 1% Jan1,1988  Dec 31, 2002
Bakar 1% Jan 1, 1994 Mona Lea 5% Jan 1, 2018 Dec 31, 2028
Bay 1% (5%)  Jan 1, 2011 Dec 31,2030 | Leon 15% (1%) Dec 1,1888  Dec 31, 2038
1.5%) Jan 1, 2M7 Dec 31, 2026 {5%) Jan 1, 2008 Dec 31, 2027
Bradford 1% Mar 1, 1993 o Ly 104 Oct 1, 1902 Nona
Brevar 1% (5%) Jan1,2015  Dec31,2026 ||ipeny 15% (1%)  Novi, 1982  None
(5%)  Jan1,2017  Dec31.2026 (5%)  Jan1,2017  Dec 31, 2026
Broward 1% Jan 1, 2018 Dec 31, 2048 Madigon 1.5% (1%) Aug 1, 1080 Mo
Calhoun 15% (19%) Jan 1, 1993 MNone {55 Jan 1, 2007 Mone
(5%)  Jan1,2009  Dec31,2028 |panaies 1% (5%) Jan1,2008  Dec 31, 2082
Charlotte 1% .ﬁ.pl' 1,18985 Dac 31, 2026 {jm Jan 1, 2017 Dec 31, 2031
Citrus None Maricn 1% Jan1,2017  Dec 31, 2024
Clay 15% (1%)  Feb1,1990  Dec31.2039 |)yaqn 5% Jan1,2019  Dec 31, 2025
(5%)  Jan1,2021  Dec31,2050 |pmigmi-Dade 1% (5%) Jan1,1882  None
Colliar 1% Jan 1, 20189 Deec 31, 2025 1.596) Jan 1, 2003 Mone
Golumbia 1% Aug 1,184  Mone Monroe 15% (19%)  MNov1, 1989  Dec 31, 2033
DeSoto 1.5% (1%) Jan 1, 1988 Mone (5%) Jan 1, 1008 Dec 31, 2005
1.5%) Jan 1, 2015 Dec 31, 2035 Nassau 1% Mar 1, 1996 MNons
Dixie 1% Apr 1, 1980 Dec 31,2029 |Gaisces 1%  (5%) Jan1,2019  Dec 31, 2028
Durval 15% (5%) Jan 1, 1989 Mone (59%) Jan 1, 2021 Dec 31, 2030
(5%)  Jan1,2001  Dec31,2030 |opeschobes 1% Oet1,19985  Mome
15%)  Jan1, 2021 Dec31.2035 | Orange 5% Jan 1, 2008 Dec 31, 2025
Escambia 1.5% (1%) Juni, 1882  Dec31,2028 |pscecla 15% (1%) Sep1,1980  Aug31, 2025
(5%)  Jan1,1988  Dec31, 2027 (59%)  Jan1,2017  Dec 31, 2036
Flagler 1% (5%) Jan1,2008 Decd, 2022 |pmm Beach 1% Jan 1,2017 Dec 31, 2026
(.5%) Jan 1, 2013 Dec 31,2032 |Pasco 196 Jan 1, 2005 Dec 31, 2024
Frankiin 1% Jan 1, 2008 Mone Pinellas 1% Fab 1, 1890 Dec 31, 2020
Gadsden 15% (1%) dan 1, 1996 Mone Palk 1%  (5%) Jan1,2004  Dec 31, 2033
(5%) Jan1,2009  Dec31,2038 (5%) Jan1,2006  Dec 31, 2044
Gilchrist 1% Oct 1, 1982 Mone Putnam 194 Jan 1, 2003 Dec 31, 2032
Glades 1% Jan 1, 2022 Dec 31, 2081 |5t Johns 5% Jan 1, 2018 Dec 31, 2025
Gulf 1% Jan1,2010  Mone St. Lucie 1%  (59%)  Ju1,1996  Dec 31, 2026
Hamilton 1% Jul 1, 1980 Dec 31, 2029 {5%) Jan 1,2018 Dec 31, 2028
Hardee 1% Jan1, 1988 Mone SantaRosa 1% (5%  Oct1,1988  Dec 31, 2028
Hendry 1% Jan 1, 1988 Mone {-5%) Jan 1, 2017 Dec 31,2026
Hemanda 5% Jan 1, 2018 Dec 31, 2025 |Sarasota 1% Sep1,1088  Dec 31, 2024
Hightands 15% (19%) MNow 1, 1889 Dec 231, 2033 | Seminole 1% Jan 1, 20156 Dec 31, 2024
(59%)  Jan1,2017 Dec 31,2036 | Sumter 1% Jan 1, 1993 None
Hillsborough  1.5% (5%) Dec 1, 1986 Mov 30, 2026 | Suwannes 1% Jan 1, 1988 None
(5%)  Oet1, 2001 None Taylor 1% Aug 1, 1989 Dec 31, 2037
1.5%) Jan 1, 2019 Dec 31,2028 | ynign 1% Feb 1, 1893 MNone
Holmes 15% (1%) Oct1, 1995 Dec31, 2028 [vouwsia 5% Jan 11,2002  Dec 31, 2031
(5%)  Jan1, 2021 Dec 31,2026 |wWakula 1% Jan 1, 1088 Dec 31, 2037
Indian River 1% Jun 1, 1889 Dec 31, 2034 | Walton 19 Feb 1, 1995 Nona
Jackson 15% [(19%) Jun 1, 1885 Dec 31,2025 |Washington 1.5% (1%) Mov 1, 1883 MNone
(.5%) Jul 1, 1996 Dec 31, 2025 {.5%) Jan 1, 2019 Dec 31, 2028
Jefferson 1% Jun 1, 1988 Mo
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For 2022, the following counties have surtax rate changes:

Glades 1% Total Surtax Rate
= New 1% small county surtax begins 1/1/2022 and expires 12/31/2031.
* 1% local government infrastructure surtax expired 12/3172021.

Santa Rosa 1% Total Surtax Rate
+  Current 5% local government infrastructure surtax is extended and
axpires 12/31/2026,
+ Current .5% school capital outlay surtax remains in effect and expires
12/31/2028.

Contact Us

Tax infornation and tutonals are available at florldarevenue.comitazes/education.
Tax forms and publications are available at floridarevenue.com/forms.

To speak with a Department of Revenue representative. call Taxpayer Services at B50-488-6800, Monday
through Friday, excluding holidays.

Subscribe to Receive Updates by Email from the Department. Subscribe to receive an amaill for due date
reminders, Tax Information Publications (TIPs), or proposed rules. Subscribe today at
floridarevenue.com/dor/subscribe.
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Exhibit H

Mo: 22A01-16

i Tax Information Publication I IP Date Issued:
June 29, 2022

FLORIDA

Exemptions for Fencing and Trailers Used in Agricultural Production

Effective July 1, 2022, hog wire and barbed wire fencing used in agricultural production on lands
classified as agricultural lands under section (s.) 193 461, Florida Statutes (F.S.), are exempt from
Florida sales lax. Also exempl are gales and materials used to build or repair hog wire or barbed wire
fencing.

Materials used to construct or repair hog wire and barbed wire fencing means those materials that are
incorporated inlo and become a component parl of the constructed or repaired fencing, such as:

welded or barbed wire,

hog or barbed wire fence rolls;

lumber or steal for posts or rails;

nails, screws, hinges; and

concrele consisting of premixed dry maortar or other components.

" @& @& @ &

Effective July 1, 2022, a trailer purchased by a farmer for exclusive use in agricultural production or fo
transport farm products from his or her farm to the place where the farmer transfers ownarship of the
farm products to another is axemplt from Florida sales tax. The exemption applies even if the traller |s
licensed for highway use under Chapter 320, Florida Statutes. The exemption does not apply to the
lease or rental of a trailer.

“Agricultural preduction” means the production of plants and animals useful to humans, including the
preparation, planting, cultivating, or harvesting of these products or any other practices necessary lo
accomplish production through the harvest phase, including storage of raw products on a farm. The
term includes aquaculture, horticulture, floriculture, vitlculture, forestry, dairy, livestock, poullry, bees,
and any and all forms of farm products and farm production.

Exemption Certificate Required

These exemptions are not allowed unless the purchaser furnishes the seller with a signed exem ption
certificate stating the item(s) purchased is for the designated use in agricultural production, A
suggested exemption certificate that includes these two new exemptions is attached.

References: Section 23, Chapter 202297, Laws of Florida; Sections 193.461 and 212.08(3)(b) and (5){a),
Florida Statutes
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For More Information

This document is intended to alert you to the requirements contained in Florida laws and administrative rules. it does
not by its own effect create rights or require compliance.

For forms and other information, visit the Department’'s website at floridarevenue.com or call Taxpayer Services at
B50-488-6800, Monday through Friday [excluding holidays).

For a detailed written response to your questions, write the Florida Department of Revenue, Taxpayer Services
MS 3-2000, 5050 West Tennessee Street, Tallahassea, FL 323990112,

Want the latest tax information?

¥ Subscribe to our tax publications or sign up
for due date reminders at floridarevenue.com/dor/subscribe

v Visit the Taxpayer Education webpage at
floridarevenue.com/taxes/education for online guides and tutorials

v Follow us on Twitter @FloridaRevenue
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