

Division of Motorist Services

Procedure RS-67

Motor Vehicle Procedure Manual

Registration

Pre-Sale Specialty License Plate Vouchers

Table of Contents

Legal Authority	1
Description and Use	2
General Information	
Pre-Sale Specialty License Plate Vouchers, Inventory Codes, Fees, and Initial Offerings	4
Revision(s) to Procedure	4

Legal Authority

Section 320.04, Florida Statutes, registration service charge.

<u>Section 320.08053(2)(a)</u>, Florida Statutes, provides that within 120 days after the specialty license plate becomes law, the department shall establish a method to issue a specialty license plate voucher to allow for the presale of the specialty license plate.

Section 320.08053(2)(b), Florida Statutes, provides that within 24-months after the presale specialty license plate voucher is established, the approved specialty license plate organization must record with the department a minimum of 3,000 voucher sales, before manufacture of the license plate may commence. The department shall extend this presale period by an additional 24-months for an approved specialty license plate organization that, as of the effective date of this act, is in the presale period but has not recorded at least 3,000 voucher sales. If, at the conclusion of the presale period, the minimum sales requirements have not been met, the specialty plate is deauthorized, and the department shall discontinue development of the plate and discontinue issuance of the presale vouchers.

<u>Section 320.08056(2)(a)</u> Florida Statutes, the department shall issue a specialty license plate to the owner or lessee of any motor vehicle, except a vehicle registered under the International

Revision Date: 10/24 Page 1 of 6

Registration Plan, a commercial truck required to display two license plates pursuant to <u>s. 320.0706</u>, or a truck tractor, upon request and payment of the appropriate license tax and fees.

Section 320.08058, Florida Statutes, specialty license plates.

FORMS:

The form listed below is used to request the refund described in this procedure:

• Form Application for License Plate and Decal Refund – HSMV 83363.

Description and Use

This procedure provides information and instructions to guide employees of the tax collector, license plate agent and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) in issuing presale specialty license plate vouchers.

General Information

- A. Before a new specialty plate is manufactured, 3,000 presale vouchers must be sold within 24-months of the initial offering date for all specialty license plates. The pre-sale period will be extended by 24 months if the organization has not met the requirement in the initial 24-months period. Plate ranges will not be assigned unless the presale voucher requirement is met.
- B. Presale vouchers will be processed using the existing Specialty Plate Voucher transaction under the Customer Summary, Registration eligibility option available in the motor vehicle issuance system.
- C. The following fees will be charged for a presale transaction: specialty plate fee, processing fee, service fee, and branch fee. All other applicable fees will be charged when the specialty plate is issued.
- D. The motor vehicle issuance system will determine when to issue a presale voucher based on the sales status code.
- E. When the license plate on the presale voucher becomes authorized, the voucher can only be used with the issuance of that specific license plate, which can be processed at the time the

Revision Date: 10/24 Page 2 of 6

license plate becomes available or when the customer's current license plate is renewed.

- F. If a plate fails to meet the presale voucher requirements within the two-year period, or the extended 24-months the plate will not be manufactured.
- G. If the plate fails to meet the minimum presale requirements, the customer may apply for a refund for the specialty license plate fee only or Form <u>HSMV 83363</u> is used to apply for a refund.
- H. If the plate has met the presale requirement but the license plate has not been issued, the customer may apply for a refund using Form <u>HSMV 83363</u>.
- I. FLHSMV may de-authorize a specialty license plate and discontinue its issuance if the number of valid specialty license plate registrations falls below 3,000 valid registrations for at least 12 consecutive months. Effective July 1, 2023, the valid registrations increase to 3,000. If the plate associated with the presale voucher meets the voucher minimum but is subsequently deauthorized before the voucher is used, the voucher cannot be used towards a different specialty plate or be refunded.
- J. Gift certificates can be purchased at any time for a specialty license plate that is not in the pre-sale voucher process. The gift certificates are processed and redeemed the same way as pre-sale vouchers. Money from gift certificates goes to the sponsoring organization. Refunds are not available for gift certificates.
- K. Pre-Sale Vouchers: Upon deauthorization of the license plate or if the plate has met the presale requirement but has not been issued, a purchaser of the license plate voucher may use the annual use fee collected as a credit towards any other specialty license plate that has the same annual use fee or apply for a refund on a form prescribed by the department.
- L. Gift Certificates purchased for established (or we can use license plates not in presales) specialty license plates cannot be refunded.

Revision Date: 10/24 Page 3 of 6

Pre-Sale Specialty License Plate Vouchers, Inventory Codes, Fees, and Initial Offerings

SPECIALTY	SPECIALTY	INITIAL
PLATE	PLATE FEE	OFFERING DATE
Florida State Beekeepers	\$25.00	10/16/2020
Biscayne Bay	\$25.00	10/01/2021
Honor Flight	\$25.00	10/01/2021
Support Healthcare Heroes	\$25.00	10/01/2021
Disease Prev & Early Detection	\$25.00	10/01/2021
Protect Gopher Tortoise	\$25.00	10/01/2022
Learn to Fly	\$25.00	10/01/2022
Down Syndrome	\$25.00	10/01/2022
Cancer Research Matters	\$25.00	10/01/2022
Inter Miami CF	\$25.00	10/01/2022
Safe Haven for Newborns	\$25.00	10/01/2022
Take Stock in Children	\$25.00	10/01/2022
Universal Orlando Resort	\$25.00	10/16/2024
Margaritaville	\$25.00	10/16/2024
Clearwater Marine Aquarium	\$25.00	10/16/2024
General Aviation	\$25.00	10/16/2024
The Villages: May All Your Dreams Come True	\$25.00	10/16/2024
Cure Diabetes	\$25.00	10/16/2024
Recycle Florida	\$25.00	10/16/2024
Boating Capital of the World	\$25.00	10/16/2024
Project Addiction: Reversing the Stigma	\$25.00	10/16/2024
United Service Organization	\$25.00	10/16/2024

Revision(s) to Procedure

10/24 Added 10 new Pre-Sale Specialty License Plates Vouchers. Removed Pre-Sale Vouchers that have been deauthorized and that have met requirements.

05/24 Removed organization that met requirements, University of Alabama.

01/24 Removed organization that met requirements, Florida Bay Forever.

12/23 Added 8 Specialty Plates: Inter Miami CF, Safe Haven for Newborns, Cancer Research Matters,

Revision Date: 10/24 Page 4 of 6

Learn to Fly, Swim for Life, Down Syndrome, Protect Gopher, Take Stock in Children and removed license plates that have met requirements.

04/27/2023 Added Gift Certificates purchased for established (or we can use: license plates not in presales) specialty license plates cannot be refunded.

04/27/2023 Added Pre-Sale Vouchers: Upon deauthorization of the license plate or if the plate has met the presale requirement but has not been issued, a purchaser of the license plate voucher may use the annual use fee collected as a credit towards any other specialty license plate that has the same annual use fee or apply for a refund on a form prescribed by the department.

04/24/2023 Added Gift Certificates: Gift certificates can be purchased at any time for a specialty license plate that is not in the Pre[1]Sale Voucher process. The gift certificates are processed and redeemed the same way as pre[1]sale vouchers. Money from gift certificates goes to the sponsoring organization. Refunds are not available for gift certificates.

03/17/2023 Removed Orlando City Soccer Club and Gadsden Flag from Pre-Sale Specialty License Plate Vouchers, Inventory Codes, Fees and Initial Offerings section.

7/1/22: Added: for all specialty license plates. The pre-sale period will be extended by 24- months if the organization has not met the requirement in the initial two-year period.

Removed the license plates that have met the pre-sale requirements, updated procedure to new Legislation.

Removed: apply the presale voucher towards a different specialty license plate, Removed: and 4,000 presale vouchers for out-of-state colleges or universities.

Removed: the license plate voucher may be used toward the annual use fee collected as a credit towards any other specialty license plate or

Removed: or 4,000 valid registrations for out-of-state colleges or universities

Removed verbiage "or in the case of an out of state college or university license plate, 4,000 voucher sales. 24- months.

Added Verbiage to page 1 "The department shall extend this presale period by an additional 24 months for an approved specialty license plate organization that, as of the effective date oof this act, is in the presale period but has not recorded at least 3,000 voucher sales.

Revision Date: 10/24 Page 5 of 6

Added language to page 2 (H); if the plate has met the presale requirement but the license plate has not been issued, the license plate voucher may be used toward the annual use fee collected as a credit towards any other specialty license plate or apply for a refund. Removed the following language: Blue Angels \$25.00 10/16/2020(met pre-sales), Coastal Conservation (met pre-sales), Walt Disney World (met pre-sales) Johnson and Wales (college has closed). Added Florida State Parks, Biscayne Bay, Honor Flight, Protect Marine Wildlife, 30A.COM/Scenic Walton, Support Healthcare Heroes, Disease Prev & Early Detection to page 4 per pursuant to October 2021 Legislation.

07/18/2016: Removed Hispanic Achievers and St. Johns River specialty license plates, as the organizations did not meet their presale requirements. Clarified current information.

10/19/2015: Removed Fallen Law Enforcement and Florida Sheriffs Association specialty plates, as they met the presale requirement.

06/16/2015: Removed American Legion specialty plate and Big Brothers Big Sisters specialty plate, as they met the presale requirement.

12/18/2014: Removed Keiser University specialty plate from pre-sale requirement.

09/10/2014: Added four plates available for presale voucher beginning October 1, 2014.

06/16/2014: Added Hispanic Achievers and St. John's River plates, which shift to presale voucher on July 1, 2014.

02/18/2014: Removed Freemasonry and Lauren's Kids license plates, as they met the presale requirement.

09/12/2013: Added inventory code for regular Freemasonry license plate.

06/14/2013: Added four new presale specialty license plates, distribution information, and initial offering dates.

10/30/2012: Removed Children First and Veterans of Foreign Wars information from Section II, removed distribution of fees information from Section III, replacing it with General Information, and renumbered Section accordingly.

Page 6 of 6

10/01/2010: Created a new procedure.

Revision Date: 10/24