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Legal Authority 
 
Section 316.2085, Florida Statutes, provides that the license tag of a motorcycle or moped must be 
permanently affixed to the vehicle and remain clearly visible from the rear at all times.  Any 
deliberate act to conceal or obscure the legibility of the license tag of a motorcycle is prohibited. 
The license tag of a motorcycle or moped may be affixed horizontally to the ground so that the 
numbers and letters read from left to right.  Alternatively, a license tag for a motorcycle or moped 
for which the numbers and letters read from top to bottom may be affixed perpendicularly to the 
ground, provided that the registered owner of the motorcycle or moped pays all required tolls. 
 
Sections 320.06(3)(a)Florida Statutes and 320.0803, Florida Statutes, provides for a reduced 
dimension (4 inches wide by 7 inches long) license plate to accommodate motorcycle-sized 
vehicles. 
 
Section 320.08(1), Florida Statutes, provides the taxing structure for these types of vehicles. 
 
Section 320.01(26), Florida Statutes, states, " MOTORCYCLE" means any vehicle having a seat or 
saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with 
the ground but excluding a tractor or a moped. 
 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0316/Sections/0316.2085.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.06.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.0803.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.08.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.01.html
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Section 320.01(27), Florida Statutes, states, "MOPED" means any vehicle with pedals to permit 
propulsion by human power, having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel 
on not more than three wheels, with a motor rated not in excess of 2 brake horsepower and not 
capable of propelling the vehicle at a speed greater than 30 miles per hour on level ground, and 
with a power-drive system that functions directly or automatically without clutching or shifting 
gears by the operator after the drive system is engaged.  If an internal combustion engine is used, 
the displacement may not exceed 50 cubic centimeters. 

 
Section 320.01(33), Florida Statutes, states, "Motorized Disability Access Vehicle" means a vehicle 
designed primarily for handicapped individuals with normal upper body abilities and designed to 
be fueled by gasoline, travel on not more than three wheels, with a motor rated not in excess of 2 
brake horsepower and not capable of propelling the vehicle at a speed greater than 30 miles per 
hour on level ground, and with a power-drive system that functions directly or automatically 
without clutching or shifting gears by the operator after the drive system is engaged.  If an internal 
combustion engine is used, the displacement may not exceed 50 cubic centimeters. 
 
Section 316.211 (6), Florida Statutes, states that each motorcycle registered to a person under 21 
years of age must display a license plate that is unique in design and color. 
 
2018 Legislation, House Bill 215 amending 320.01, 320.02 and 320.03, Florida Statutes, requiring 
safety belt or child restraint usage by an operator or passenger of an autocycle; revises the term 
motor vehicle, including an autocycle in the definition of the term motorcycle; and authorizes a 
person to operate an autocycle without a motorcycle endorsement. (This paragraph becomes 
effective on July 1, 2018.) 
 
Description and Use 
 
This procedure provides information and instructions to assist tax collector employees, license 
plate agents, and the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) for the Issuance of 
license plates for motorcycles, mopeds, autocycles and disability access vehicles. 

 
General Information  
 
A. All motorcycles, mopeds, autocycles and disability access vehicles are issued a regular 

motorcycle style license plate.  These license plates must be renewed annually.  
 
B. Dirt bikes noted for off-road use, Go-Peds and electric motorized bicycles (defined in section 

316.003(3), Florida Statutes) are not registered.  However, bicycles motorized with gas motors 
(defined as a moped) are registered.  See Procedure RS-68 for information on registering a 
motorized gas-powered bicycle (defined as a moped). 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.01.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.01.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0316/Sections/0316.211.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=316.003&URL=0300-0399/0316/Sections/0316.003.html
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/rs/rs-68.pdf
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C. If a manufacturer's certificate of origin states the vehicle is a "motor scooter," the definition 
of "motorcycle" or "moped," as shown in sections 320.01(26) and (27), Florida Statutes, must 
be used as a guide to determine if the vehicle would be titled/registered or just registered. 

D. Any entity selling mopeds or selling motorcycles with a motor displacement of 50 CCs or less 
are NOT required to obtain a dealer's license. 

 
E. Each motorcycle/moped/motor scooter where any of the registrants are under 21 years of 

age must display a license plate that is unique in design and color.   
 
F. Autocycle is a three-wheeled motorcycle that has two wheels in the front and one wheel in 

the back, is equipped with a roll cage or roll hoops, a seat belt for each occupant, antilock 
brakes, a steering wheel, and seating that does not require the operator to straddle or sit 
astride it.  An autocycle is manufactured in accordance with the applicable federal 
motorcycle safety standards in 49 C.F.R. part 571 by a manufacturer registered with the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. (This paragraph becomes effective on July 1, 
2018.) 

 
G. Fully autonomous vehicles (AVs) belonging to a fleet or being tested in a pilot program 

should be titled and registered in the company name with an FEID number. Government 
entities, such as state agencies, counties, cities, and state universities utilizing AVs should 
title and register these vehicles in the same manner that they do their other vehicles.  These 
vehicles are to be processed in the same manner as any other similar, equal, or comparable 
motor vehicle.  If the AV is a bus, process as a standard bus registration and title transaction 
with the correct corresponding Class Code (See RS-56 andTL-10). For a passenger vehicle, 
see RS-01 and for a motorcycle, see RS-61. For AV registration requirements, see TL-68. 

 
Ownership Documentation  

                        
                     A. Motorcycles including autocycles, but not mopeds as defined in 320.01(26), Florida Statutes, 

are titled and registered pursuant to s. 319.20, Florida Statutes. 
 

B. Mopeds as defined in 320.01(27), Florida Statutes, are NOT titled, per s. 319.20, Florida 
Statutes; however, they are registered pursuant to s. 320.0803(1), Florida Statutes.  A bill of 
sale, vehicle registration certificate, Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin, or an affidavit from 
the customer certifying that he or she is the legal and rightful owner of the vehicle is 
required. 

C. Motorized disability access vehicles as defined in s. 320.01(33), Florida Statutes, are NOT 
titled; however, they are registered pursuant to s. 320.08035, Florida Statutes.  A bill of sale, 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.01&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.01.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.01&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.01.html
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/rs/rs-56.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/tl/tl-10.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/rs/rs-61.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/tl/tl-68.pdf
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.01&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.01.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.20&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.20.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.01&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.01.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.20&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.20.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.0803&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.0803.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.01&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.01.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.08035&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.08035.html
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vehicle registration certificate, Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin, or an affidavit from the 
customer certifying that he or she is the legal and rightful owner of the vehicle is required. 

 
Sales Tax  
Sales tax is required when processing an application if the vehicle is not already in the customer's 
name. 
 
Proof Of Insurance  
 
Proof of insurance is not required on motorcycles, mopeds, autocycles or disability access vehicles. 
For AV insurance requirements, see TL-68.  
Fees  
 
Customers should submit the regular tax fees shown in the Tax Due and Credit Manual using the 
appropriate regular class codes, based on type of vehicle, trust fund fee from the Class Code/Fee 
Chart, Original License Plate fee, Decal on Demand fee, and Service fee (add branch fee, if applying 
through a county branch office).  Refer to the Registration Fees and Flat Taxes Distribution Chart 
for all applicable fees. The Initial Registration Fee is not required on motorcycles, mopeds, 
autocycles, or disability access vehicles. 
 

Renewals And Transfers  
 
Renewals and transfers of these license plates may be processed at any county license plate 
agency. 

Replacement License Plates  
 
Replacement license plates may be issued by any county license plate agent upon submission of 
the following: 

A. A copy of the vehicle registration certificate. 
B. Form HSMV 83146, Application for Replacement License Plate, Validation Decal or Parking 

Permit, accurately completed. 
C. Fees:  Replacement fee, Decal on Demand fee, Service fee (add branch fee, if applying 

through a county branch agency), Air Pollution Control fee, Reflectorization fee, Emergency 
Medical Services, Advanced Replacement fee and FRVIS fee.  Refer to the  

 Registration Fees and Flat Taxes Distribution Chart for all applicable fees. 
D. When a customer reports a license plate or decal as stolen to a law enforcement agency and 

provides proof in accordance with RS-06, the customer should not be charged a replacement 
fee for the license plate or decal. 

 

 

https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/tl/tl-68.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/fees/fees-02.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/83146.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/fees/fees-02.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/rs/rs-06.pdf
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Revision(s) 
 
08/02/22 Statutory review added links to statutes. The procedure was put on the new format. 
Removed “The Department” from the procedure and changed to “Florida Highway Safety and Motor 
Vehicles”. 
7/9/2018 - Replaced photo of motorized disability access vehicle. 

6/28/2018 - Added statutory information relating to autocycles with an effective date of  

07/01/2018 - Added Exhibit A. Added Autocycles to VI Fees section. 4/4/18 Reviewed statutes, 
updated and added links.  Added links to forms. Added Historical Revisions section. 
07/14/2014 - Corrected statute numbers on pages 1 &2, and added additional information in II,  
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Exhibit A 
 

 
Motorcycle 

 
Autocycle 
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Moped 

 
 
Motorized disability access vehicle 


	Motorcycles, Mopeds, Autocycles, and Disability Access Vehicles 
	Legal Authority
	Description and Use
	General Information
	Ownership Documentation
	Sales Tax
	Proof Of Insurance
	Fees
	Renewals And Transfers
	Replacement License Plates
	Revision(s)

