

Division of Motorist Services

Procedure RS-42

Motor Vehicle Procedure Manual

Registration

Advanced Replacement Fee

Table of Contents

Legal Authority	1
Description and Use	
Original Issuance of a License Plate	
Renewal of License Plate	2
Forced 10-year Replacement Plates	2
Voluntary Replacement Plates	2
Exemptions to the Advanced Registration Fee	2
Revision(s)	2

Legal Authority

Section 320.06(1)(b), Florida Statutes, requires that license plates be replaced every ten years upon renewal for a fee of \$28. This fee is collected in increments of \$2.80 over a 10-year period. Each \$2.80 shall be credited to the next \$28 replacement fee. The fee shall be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. A credit or refund of this fee shall not be given for any prior years' payments when the plate is replaced or surrendered voluntarily before the end of the 10-year period. However, a credit may be given when a registrant is required by the department to replace a license plate under section 320.08056(8)(a) or (b), Florida Statutes.

Description and Use

This procedure is provided to assist employees of the tax collector, license plate agent and Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles(FLHSMV) in providing information and instructions for The Advanced Replacement Fee required to replace a Metal License Plate after a 10-year period.

Revision Date: 05/25/22 Effective Date: Immediately

Original Issuance of a License Plate

When a license plate is issued for the first time, \$30.80 must be charged, \$28 for the metal plate that is being issued and \$2.80 for the advanced replacement fee toward the next 10-year replacement. In cases where an annual registration is being charged, a \$2.80 fee will be collected. If a biennial registration is being charged, a \$5.60 fee will be collected.

Renewal of License Plates

On each license plate renewal transaction, \$2.80 ARF is assessed and collected. A record will be retained on the database of the Advanced Registration Fee (ARF).

Forced 10-Year Replacement Plates

A Florida metal license plate is required to be replaced every ten years. The 10-year replacement date is based on the date the license plate was issued. When a license plate is replaced, credit will be allowed from the accumulated advanced replacement fees. Credit may be given if the customer chooses a different tag type (specialty and/or personalized) at the forced 10-year replacement time.

Voluntary Replacement Plates

Anytime a license plate is replaced prior to the forced 10-year replacement, the Advanced Registration Fee cannot be used as credit toward the \$28 plate fee. The following situations are examples of voluntary replacement:

- A. When the license plate has been lost or defaced.
- B. When the registered owner chooses to have a personalized and/or specialty series license plate issued.

Exemptions to the Advanced Registration Fee

The following class codes are exempt from the \$28 Replacement License Plate fee; therefore, the \$2.80 Advanced Replacement fee is not collected: 37, 82, 95, 97 (old class codes 24, 81, 82, 83, 85, 87, 97) and mobile home class codes 50, 51, 37 (old class codes 50, 51 and 86). Historical Authenticated license plates with class code 15 are also exempt.

Revision(s)

5/25/2022 Updated the procedure to the new format.

10/05/09 - Updated entire procedure with the updated fee of \$28 for a license plate and changed the 6-year replacement to 10.

2/1/08 – Updated entire procedure with the updated fee of \$12 for a license plate and changed the 5-year replacement to 6-year replacement. Added Miscellaneous section on page 2 regarding the staggered replacement cycle.

06/07/05 – Added a credit may be given when a registrant is required by the department to replace a license plate under section 320.08056(8)(a).

Revision Date: 05/25/22 Page 2 of 2

Effective Date: Immediately