

Division of

Procedure

Motorist Services

RS-41

Motor Vehicle Procedure Manual Registration Temporarily Employed 90-Day License Plates

Table of Contents

Legal Authority	1
Description And Use	2
General Information	2
Application Requirement	3
Replacement License Plate	4
Lost-In-Transit License Plates	4
Corrections	4
Duplicate Registration Certificate	4
Revision(s)	5

Legal Authority

Section 320.1325, Florida Statutes, provides for a temporary registration license plate and registration certificate valid for 90 days to an applicant who is temporarily employed in this state but not a resident. The temporarily employed license plate may be renewed by the individual for one additional 90-day period. A maximum of two 90-day temporarily employed license plates may be issued to the same individual within a 12-month period. This 12-month period begins the date the

Revision Date: 04/27/22 Effective Date: Immediately Page 1 of 5

first plate is issued. At the end of the 180-day period of temporary registration, the applicant shall apply for a permanent registration if there is a further need to remain in this state.

Description And Use

This procedure provides information and instructions to assist tax collector employees, license plate agents and the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for issuing temporarily employed 90-day registrations and license plates.

General Information

- A. Temporarily employed 90-day license plates may be issued by the Division of Motorist Services or any county license plate agency.
- B. The license plate range of TE00000 ZZ999999 is used for temporarily employed 90-day license plates. These plates are assigned to each agency and must be entered in the license plate inventory of the motor vehicle issuance system.
- C. A second or one additional temporarily employed license plate can be issued for an additional 90 days during a 12-month period. The same application requirements apply for a second plate. The motor vehicle issuance system will confirm the original issue date and the number of plates issued to the customer to ensure that no more than two plates are issued within the same 12-month period.
- D. Temporarily employed 90-day license plates must be conspicuously displayed in the rear license plate bracket. For vehicles requiring front display, temporary license plates must be displayed on the front of the vehicle in the location where the metal license plate would normally be displayed.

E. A temporarily employed 90-day license plate may be issued on any motor vehicle except commercial truck tractors and heavy trucks with a gross vehicle weight of 26,001 pounds or more, which are not owned or operated by a government entity.

Application Requirement

The customer who is temporarily employed in Florida must submit the following:

- A. A copy of the out-of-state registration.
- B. One of the items below verifying temporary employment.
 - 1. A letter of verification from the place of employment stating the customer is temporarily employed.
 - 2. An affidavit from the customer, which specifies temporary employment in the state of Florida and the location of employment.
 - 3. Form <u>HSMV 83080</u>, Motor Vehicle Registration Eligibility Affidavit/Application, completed by the customer.
- C. Fees: The fee for the 90-day temporary registration plate shall be \$40 plus the applicable service charge required by s. <u>320.04</u>. Temporarily Employed License Plate fee, Air Pollution Control fee, FRVIS fee, Emergency Medical Services fee, Transportation Disadvantaged fee (if a private automobile or any truck with a net weight of 5,000 pounds or less), and Service fee (add branch fee if applying through a county branch agency). Refer to the Motor Vehicle/Mobile Home Class Code/Fee Chart below.

https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/fees/fees-03.pdf

Revision Date: 04/27/22 Effective Date: Immediately

D. PROOF OF INSURANCE:

Proof of insurance is required on this license plate. Out-of-state insurance is acceptable. Refer to <u>RS-36</u> for additional information.

Replacement License Plate

If the temporarily employed 90-day license plate is lost, stolen or defaced, see <u>RS-06</u>, which outlines the replacement process.

Lost-In-Transit License Plates

A temporarily employed 90-day license plate, which is lost in transit may be replaced upon receipt of form <u>HSMV 83146</u>. No fee is required. The replacement plate will be issued with the expiration date that was issued to the plate initially.

Corrections

A corrected registration may be processed. No fee is required. The expiration date will be carried forward.

Duplicate Registration Certificate

A duplicate registration certificate may be issued upon payment of the required service fee.

Revision Date: 04/27/22 Effective Date: Immediately

Revision(s)

4/27/2022 Changed customer to applicant and relinked all forms and procedures.

7/26/2018 Statutory review. Added links to statutes and forms. Added Historical Revisions section.

Updated Section III, letters C & D.

12/09/09 Updated the "Description and Use" section and revised item D on page 1 for consistency; removed fee amounts in item III, C, added website link to motor vehicle/mobile home class code and fee chart, and removed service fee in item VII on page 2