

Division of Motorist Services

Procedure RS-33

Motor Vehicle Procedure Manual

Registration

Commercial Motor Vehicle Insurance

Table of Contents

Legal Authority	
Description and Use	1
Definitions	2
Minimum Coverage Requirement	2
Acceptance Proof of Insurance	
Miscellaneous	
Revision(s)	5
Exhibit A	6
Exhibit B	7
Exhibit C	8
Exhibit D	g
	10

Legal Authority

<u>Section 320.02(5)(e)</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, provides that upon the expiration date noted in the cancellation notice that the department receives from the insurer, the department shall suspends the registration, issued under this chapter or <u>section 207.004(1)</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, of a motor carrier who operates a commercial motor vehicle or who permits it to be operated in this state during the registration period without having in full force liability insurance, a surety bond, or a valid self- insurance certificate that complies with this section. The insurer shall provide notice to the department at the same time the cancellation notice is provided to the insured pursuant to <u>s. 627.7281</u>.

Description and Use

This procedure provides information and instructions to assist employees of the tax collector, license plate agent, and Department Of Highway Safety And Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) with the collection of commercial motor vehicle insurance.

Revision Date: 12/12/2019
Effective Date: Immediately

Page 1 of 10

Definitions

"Commercial Motor Vehicle" is defined by <u>section 320.01(25)</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, as any vehicle which is not owned or operated by governmental entity, which uses special fuel or motor fuel on the public highways, and which has a gross vehicle weight of 26,001 pounds or more, or has three or more axles regardless of weight, or is used in combination when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,001 pounds gross vehicle weight.

Combined Single Limits ensures that the full limit of the policy will be payable for damages or injuries, whether there is only one damage or injury or multiple damages and injuries where the at-fault driver is liable.

Split Level Policy identifies the maximum limit for injury and damage. For example, a policy with split limits might pay \$100,000 per person incident for bodily injury, with maximum of \$300,000 per incident.

Minimum Coverage Requirement

- A. The minimum required amounts of coverage for the combined bodily liability insurance and property damage liability insurance, as provided in <u>section 627.7415</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>.
 - 1. \$50,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 26,000 pounds or more, but less than 35,000 piunds.
 - 2. \$100,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 35,000 pounds or more, but less than 44,000 pounds.
 - 3. \$300,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 44,000 pounds or more.
 - 4. All commercial motor vehicles subject to regulations of the United States Department of Transportation, Tiitle 49 C.F/R part 387, subpart A, for all for-hire interstate carriers or all carriers transporting hazardous materials with vehicles having a gross vehicle weight of 10,000 pounds or more, the minimum level is \$750,000 CSL.
 - 5. A split limit policy is acceptable in lieu of the combined single limit policy only if each of the split limit meets or exceeds the amount of the required combined limits coverage.

Revision Date: 12/12/2019 Page 2 of 10

- 6. Notwithstanding <u>s. 627.7415</u>, <u>F.S.</u>, and <u>s. 627.742</u>, <u>F.S.</u>, all nonpublic sector buses subject to regulations of the United States Department of Transportation, 49 C.F.R. part 387, subpart B, for all for-hire interstate carriers of passengers, the minimum is \$1,500,000 for vehicles with seating capacity of 15 passengers or less, and \$5,000,000 for vehicles with seating with a seating capacity of 16 passengers or more. Seating capacity includes the driver.
- B. Proof of insurance must specify Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage in the amount of \$10,000. PIP is required in addition to any other insurance requirements and regardless of the gross vehicle weight of the covered vehicle(s).

A standard Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV)insurance policy must indicate that it includes Personal Injury protection (PIP), Property Damage Liability (PDL) and Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) coverage.

Many commercial vehicles are privately owned and operated under a lease agreement with motor carrier companies. Lessors (owner/operators) operate under the insurance coverage of lessees (carrier companies). When a lessor files an application for registration for a commercial vehicle and provides acceptance proof of purchase of the required insurance coverage and the named insured on the proof of purchase is a lessee carrier, the customer must also provide evidence of insurance, under a lease arrangement, with the insured lessee.

Acceptance Proof of Insurance

Unless the policy or binder is marked as "Scheduled Autos", proof of insurance is not required to list the specific VIN number(s) for the vehicles(s) covered. "Scheduled Auto" means specific vehicles are insured by the policy. Therefore, if "Scheduled Auto" appears on the policy or binder and the VIN number(s) for the vehicle(s) is not listed, the insurance document is NOT valid.

The following are acceptable types of proof of insurance:

- A. Certificate of Liability Insurance also referred to as a COI. This form must show the policy number and levels of insurance coverage including Personal Injury Protection (PIP).
- B. The ACORD form, which is a type of Certificate of Liability Insurance form. PIP coverage should be shown on the ACORD form.

The ACORD form is pre-printed with a standard clause in the "Cancellation" box at the bottom right of the form.

Revision Date: 12/12/2019 Page 3 of 10

A sample of the ACORD form is attached as Exhibit A.

Customers presenting proof of insurance on an ACORD form for vehicles with apportioned registration under the International Registration Plan must list Florida Highway safety and Motor Vehicles as the certificate holder.

The address is listed as follows:
FLHSMV-BCVDS
2900 Apalachee Parkway, Mail Stop 62
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0626

- C. Certoficate of self insurance issued by the **Bureau of Motorist Compliance**.
 - Exhibit B COMPANY/CORPORATION- Complying by Financial Statement.
 - Exhibit C COMPANY/CORPORATION- Complying by Filing a Certificate of Deposit.
 - Exhibit C INDIVIDUAL, COMPANY OR CORPORATION- Complying by Financial Satement to insure commercial vehicles for combined limits of liability insurance required under <u>s. 627.7415</u>, Florida Statutes, based on gross vehicle weight (GVW) of vehicles.

Customers requiring additional information may email: SelfInsurance@flhsmv.gov

- D. Form E, Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability. See Exhibit E. Form E is NOT a departmental form. The form is determined by the National Association of Regulatory Utilities Commisioners and promulgated pursuant to the provisions of section 202(b)(2) of the Interstate Commerce Act (49 U.S.C., Sec. 302 (b)(2). When the carrier is based in Florida, the Name of Commision is the Florida department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
- E. Proof of self-insurance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
- F. Policy which provides the required coverage.
- G. Insurance binder.
- H. Certificate of insurance issued on insurance form only. This must reflect policy number and levels of insurance.

Revision Date: 12/12/2019 Page 4 of 10

- I. Depositing a surety bond with the department issued by a surety company authorized to do business in Florida or a combination of a surety bond and insurance policy which satisfies the requirements of section320.02(5)(e), Florida Statutes.
- J. An insurance affadivit (form <u>HSMV 83330</u>) is not cceptable proof of commercial vehicle insurance.

Miscellaneous

If an individual's residence is in Florida and he has a commercial vehicle titled and registered in Florida in his name, but he leases the vehicle to a company out of state, the owner must have Florida commercial insurance.

Revision(s)

Statory review, added links to form and statutes. Removed "notes" and added Historical Revisions section. Changed applicant to customer. Under III.A (6) added "all nonpublic sector buses subject to regulations of the USDOT for all for-hire interstate carriers of passengers, the minimum is \$1,500,000 for vehicles with a seating capacity of 15 passengers or less, and \$5,000,000 for vehicles with a seating capacity of 16 passengers or more". Under IV.B. added when Department must be listed as certificate holder. Under IV C. added email address SelfInsurance@flhsmv.gov. Added new exhibit B-D

02/15/2016 - Updated Exhibit B with new bureau chief name.

12/14/2012 -Updated statute language on page 1, removed the endorsement language from Section IV, and updated Exhibit B.

<u>07/16/2010 – Revised Section IV on pg. 3 to list all acceptable types of certificate of liability insurance, which include the ACORD form, re-lettered items on pgs. 3 and 4, and updated Exhibit A with latest version of the ACORD form.</u>

03/15/2010 – Added information About PIP coverage on pg. 2 under E, revised section IV on pg. 3 and re-lettered accordingly, added a note to pg. 3 C about Form E, and added new Exhibits A, B, and C, updating the old forms.

<u>07/28/2006 – Added definitions of Combined and Single limit insurance to page one. "Note" added to page 2 that split limit policy is acceptable.</u>

Revision Date: 12/12/2019 Page 5 of 10

BELOW. REPRESEN	TIFICATE IS	C	ER	TIF	CATE OF LIABIL	JTY INS	URANC	E	DATE (MM	/DD/YYYY
	THIS CERTI	FICATE OF INS	URA ND T	Y OR	OF INFORMATION ONLY AN NEGATIVELY AMEND, EXT DOES NOT CONSTITUTE A RTIFICATE HOLDER.	CONTRACT	ER THE CO	VERAGE AFFORDED E	Y THE P	OLICIE
					ns and conditions of the po					
	cate does no	t confer rights t	o the	certif	licate holder in lieu of such e).			
RODUCER					NAM PHOI	E:		1549		
					(A/G.	No. Ext)		FAX (AC, No):		
					ADDI	RESS:		000000000000000000000000000000000000000	-	
							BURER S AFFOR	RDING COVERAGE	-	NAIC
SURED						RER A:			_	
SURED						RER B :				
						RER C :			-	
						RER D :				
						RER E :			_	
OVERAGE	S	CER	TIE	CATE	NUMBER:	RER F :		REVISION NUMBER:		
INDICATED. CERTIFICAT EXCLUSION	NOTWITHST	THE POLICIES ANDING ANY RESUED OR MAY	OF QUII PER POLI	REMEN AIN, T CIES. L	ANCE LISTED BELOW HAVE BE T, TERM OR CONDITION OF A HE INSURANCE AFFORDED B IMITS SHOWN MAY HAVE BEEN	NY CONTRACT Y THE POLICIE N REDUCED BY	OR OTHER S DESCRIBE PAID CLAIMS	DOCUMENT WITH RESPE D HEREIN IS SUBJECT TO	CT TO WH	ICH TH
SR TR	TYPE OF INSU			SUBR	POLICY NUMBER	POLICY EFF	POLICY EXP	LIMIT	8	
COM	MERCIAL GENER	ALLIABILITY		Part Person		The second second		EACH OCCURRENCE	S	
	CLAIMS-MADE	OCCUR						DAMAGE TO RENTED PREMISES (Ea occurrence)	\$	
								MED EXP (Any one person)	S	
								PERSONAL & ADV INJURY	S	
(madulate)	GREGATE LIMIT	APPLIES PER:						GENERAL AGGREGATE	S	
POLIC	CY JECT	LOC						PRODUCTS - COMP/OP AGG	5	
OTHE	R:			-		-		COMBINED SINGLE LIMIT	\$	
								(Ea accident)	8	
ANY /		SCHEDULED						BODILY INJURY (Per person)	\$	
	OS ONLY	AUTOS NON-OWNED						BODILY INJURY (Per accident) PROPERTY DAMAGE	5	
AUTO	S ONLY	AUTOS ONLY						(Per accident)	5	
UMBA	RECLALIAN					_		FACILOCCUPRENCE		
The same	SS LIAB	OCCUR CLAIMS-MADE						AGGREGATE	\$	
DED	RETENTI							AGGREGATE	S	
WORKERS	COMPENSATION							PER OTH- STATUTE ER	9	
	OYERS' LIABILIT							E.L. EACH ACCIDENT	s	
OFFICER/MI (Mandatory	EMBEREXCLUDE	D?	N/A					E.L. DISEASE - EA EMPLOYEE	7	
If yes, descr	ribe under ION OF OPERATI	ONG balow						E.L. DISEASE - POLICY LIMIT	5	
DEDORM II	ON OF CITATI	DING LIMAN						C.E. DIOLOGO - 1 OCIO 1 CIMIT		

The ACORD name and logo are registered marks of ACORD

Revision Date: 12/12/2019 Effective Date: Immediately

ACORD 25 (2016/03)

COMPANY/CORPORATION – Complying by Financial Statement

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Bureau of Motorist Compliance

Certificate of Self-Insurance

THIS IS TO CERTIFY «CompanyCertificateName»

has furnished satisfactory evidence, pursuant to <u>Chapter 324.171</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, of possessing a net unencumbered capital and will respond to the requirements of the Florida Financial Responsibility Law. This certificate provides limits of liability insurance, \$10,000/20,000/10,000, <u>Chapter 324.021(7)</u> and personal injury protection coverage, <u>Chapter 627.733(3)(b)</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, covering <u>**ofVehicles**</u> motor vehicles.

200 Z. B.

This certificate is valid <u>«IssueDate»through «ExpirationDate»</u> and may, upon notice, be cancelled by the Department.

Certificate Number

No. **«CompanyCertificate»** William R. Graves, Chief of Motorist

Compliance

Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Revision Date: 12/12/2019 Effective Date: Immediately

COMPANY OR CORPORATION – Complying by Filing a Certificate of Deposit

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Bureau of Motorist Compliance

Financial Responsibility Certificate

THIS IS TO CERTIFY **CertificateName**»

has on file with the Department a «CollateralType» to comply with the Financial Responsibility Law, <u>Section 324.031</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>. This certificate provides limits of liability insurance in the amount of

\$10,000/20,000/10,000 Chapter 324.021(7), and personal injury protection coverage, Chapter 627.733(3)(b), Florida Statutes.

Effective «IssueDate» through «ExpirationDate».

Certificate Number

No. **«FRCertificate»**

William R. Graves, Chief of Motorist Compliance

William R. Graves, Chief of Motorist Compliance Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Revision Date: 12/12/2019 Effective Date: Immediately INDIVIDUAL, COMPANY OR CORPORATION – Complying by Financial Statement to insure commercial vehicles for combined limits of liability insurance required under <u>s. 627.7415</u>, Florida Statutes, based on gross vehicle weight (GVW) of vehicles.

Florida
Department of Highway Safety and Motor
Vehicles Bureau of Motorist Compliance

Certificate of Self-Insurance

THIS IS TO CERTIFY «CompanyCertificateName»

has furnished satisfactory evidence, pursuant to <u>Chapter 324.171</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, of possessing an unencumbered capital for a commercial motor vehicle and will respond to the requirements of the Florida Financial Responsibility Law. This certificate provides combined limits of liability insurance of «CoverageLimits» for vehicles with a gross weight of «VehicleWeight» pounds or more as specified in <u>Chapter 627.7415</u>, and personal injury protection coverage, <u>Chapter 627.733(3)(b)</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, covering <u>«ofHeavyVehicles»</u> motor vehicles.

This certificate is valid <u>«IssueDate» through «ExpirationDate»</u> and may, upon notice, be canceled by the Department.

Certificate Number

No. **«CommCertificate»**

Compliance

William R. Graves, Chief of Motorist

20.75

Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Page 9 of 10

74072S (02/2016)

Revision Date: 12/12/2019

UNIFORM MOTOR CARRIER BODILY INJURY AND PROPERTY DAMAGE LIABILITY CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE

(Execute in Triplicate)

	Filed with		fter called Commission)
		(Name of Commission)	
	This is to certify, that the		(Name of
		Company)	
	(hereinafter called Company) of		
		(Home Office Address of Company)	
		has issued to	
		_ (Name of Motor Carrier)	
		Of	
		_ (Address of Motor Carrier)	
automobile provisions o therewith.	bodily injury and property damage of the motor carrier law of the State	ge Liability Insurance Endorsement, has or h liability insurance covering the obligations i in which the Commission has jurisdiction or urnish the Commission a duplicate original o	mposed upon such motor carrier by the regulations promulgated in accordance
	ments thereon.		
Such cancel	lation may be affected by the Com	I herein may not be cancelled without cance pany or the insured giving thirty (30) days' no un from the date notice is received in the off	otice in writing to the State Commission,
Countersign	ned at		
		(Street Address) (City) (State) (Zip Code)	
This	day of,,		
Insurance C	ompany File No.		Authorized Company Representation
_ (Policy Nu	mber)	_	

This form determined by the National Association of Regulatory Utilities Commissioners and Promulgated pursuant to the provisions of Section 202(b)(2) of the Interstate Commerce Act (49 U.S.C., Sec. 302[b][2]).

Revision Date: 12/12/2019 Page 10 of 10