

Division of Motorist Services

Procedure RS-31

Motor Vehicle Procedure Manual

Registration

Temporary Tags

Table of Contents

Legal Authority	1
Issuance of a Temporary License Plate for Use on a Motor Vehicle, Motorcycle or Recreational Vehicle	
Ordering Pre-Printed Temporary Tags	8
Display	
Sales Tax Requirements	10
Miscellaneous	10
Revision(s) to Procedure	11
Exhibit A	12

Legal Authority

<u>Section 320.131, Florida Statutes</u>, authorizes the issuance of temporary tags, which may be issued for a period of 10, 30, <u>60</u>, or 90 days according to the purpose for which the license plate is issued.

Section 320.131(3), Florida Statutes, provides that any person or corporation who unlawfully issues or uses a temporary tag or violates this section or any rule adopted by the department to implement this section, commits a noncriminal infraction, punishable as a moving violation as provided in Chapter 318 in addition to other administrative action by the department. Using a temporary tag that has been expired for a period of 7 days or less is a noncriminal infraction and is a nonmoving violation punishable as provided in Chapter 318, Florida Statutes.

<u>Section 320.131(6)</u>, <u>Florida Statutes</u>, any person who knowingly and willfully issues a temporary tag or causes another to issue a temporary tag to a fictious persons or entity to avoid disclosure of the true owner of a vehicle commits a felony of the third degree.

Revision Date: 04/25

Section 320.131(9)(a), Florida Statutes, authorizes a secure print-on-demand electronic temporary tag

registration, record retention, and issue system for use by every department authorized issuer of temporary

tags.

Section 320.131(9)(b), Florida Statutes, allows for the issuance of a backup manual issuance method during

an outage.

Issuance of a Temporary License Plate for Use on a Motor Vehicle, Motorcycle or Recreational Vehicle

When issuing a temporary tag, the issuing authority must ensure the accuracy and accountability of the

license plate. A temporary tag may only be issued and displayed on one vehicle. Re-issuance of the same

temporary tag is not lawful.

The Division of Motorist Services Regional Office or tax collector office have the discretionary authority to

issue more than two temporary tags.

A. Issuance of a Temporary Tag to an Applicant:

1. The Electronic Temporary Registration (ETR) System is a method to electronically submit

information regarding the issuance of a temporary license plate.

a. All temporary tags must be issued as a print-on-demand, except in the case of an

ETR system outage or a trailer with a net weight of less than 2,000 lbs. See procedure

RS-05 for exemptions to print-on-demand.

b. A dealer is authorized to issue only two temporary tags for a specific motor vehicle,

motorcycle, or recreational vehicle per customer. For example, Jane Doe buys a car

and needs a temporary license plate then later needs a second temporary license

plate. After the second issuance, no more temporary tags can be issued to Jane Doe for that vehicle.

- c. A dealer can issue a maximum of four temporary tags per motor vehicle, motorcycle or recreational vehicle when dealing with multiple customers. For example, John Smith buys the same car that Jane Doe did the dealership can issue two temporary tags to him for the same vehicle.
- d. When use of a dealer license plate is valid, a temporary tag may not be issued.
- e. An exception is when the dealer is complying with <u>section 320.131(1), Florida</u>

 <u>Statutes.</u>
- 2. If the dealer chooses not to issue temporary tags through an ETR vendor, the dealer must submit all applications to a county tax collector or license plate agent for processing. The following documentation is required:
 - a. Form Application for Temporary License Plate HSMV 83091, including the purpose for issuance, signed by an authorized representative for the issuing agency or dealership, if applicable, and the customer. A copy of the title or MCO must be submitted to verify the motor vehicle identification number (VIN) is correct. HSMV 83091 is distributed as follows: The customer retains the original copy, which must always be in the operator's possession while the motor vehicle, motorcycle or recreational vehicle is being operated with the temporary tag (until expiration). The issuing agency (tax collector or license plate agent) retains the duplicate copy for at least 12 months.
 - b. Proof of identity as required by procedure TL-01. Proof of identity cannot be an expired driver's license, identification card, or passport. All documents must be current and valid. If the company is a business, it must provide an FEID number if applicable, verification that the business is authorized to conduct business in

Revision Date: 04/25
Effective Date: Immediately

Florida, or a Florida city or county business license or number. As indicated in TL-01,

do not create a new customer record when the customer already exists in the motor

vehicle issuance system.

c. Proof of insurance except for motorcycles, trailers, and federally owned vehicles.

Refer to procedure RS-36 for additional insurance requirements.

3. If the temporary tag is being issued for a vehicle that will be registered in another state, proof

of issuance from that state is required. For an out-of-state insurance: Enter code "S" for the

insurance type and "out of state" in the policy number field. The out-of-state insurance

company name, policy number, effective date and insurance company's phone number must

be entered in the comments field. Example: State Farm, 00123456, 02/01/18, 1-800-111-1111.

4. A fee of \$2 must be collected for each temporary tag issued. A Service fee and Branch fee, if

applicable, may be collected if a county tax collector, license plate agent, Division of Motorist

Services Regional Office, or Direct Mail section issues the temporary license plate.

5. A temporary tag shall not be issued for a specific motor vehicle, if the owner of that vehicle

has filed or intends to file a non-use and other certifications. See form Application for

Certificate of Motor Vehicle Title - HSMV 82040 MV, Section 11.

6. If the temporary tag is issued by a dealer though ETR, the dealer must remit the \$2 temporary

tag fee to FLHSMV through the dealer's ETR provider. A dealer may disclose the \$2 temporary

license plate fee as a state mandated fee; however, any fee collected above that amount may

not be identified as a state-assessed fee and must be disclosed in a clear and conspicuous

manner in the sales agreement.

B. Use of a Temporary Tag:

The county tax collector or license plate agent may issue a temporary tag for a period of 10, 30, 60, or

90 days including the date of issue, based on the use of the temporary tag. Dealers may only issue

temporary tags for a 30-day period. After the 30-day period expires, dealers may issue on additional

30-day temporary tag. Pre-printed temporary tags may only be issued to trailers under 2,000 lbs. or

in case of an ETR outrage.

1. Ten (10) day temporary tags may be issued under the following circumstances:

a. When a motor vehicle is required to be weighted for registration purposes.

b. When a motor vehicle or motorcycle is required to have the VIN verified or inspected

to apply for a Florida Certificate of Title or for registration purposes.

c. When a customer schedules a motor vehicle for a rebuilt inspection at a Division of

Motorist Services Regional Office or an authorized Private Rebuilt Vehicle Inspection

facility (PRVIP) within 10 days of issuance of the temporary license plate.

2. Thirty (30) day temporary tags may be issued under the following circumstances:

a. A "casual or private sale" means any sale other than that made by a licensed dealer,

such as:

i. For demonstration purposes by the seller. A temporary tag cannot be issued for

demonstration purposes if the current vehicle owner has not previously

registered the vehicle. A temporary tag cannot be issued in lieu of a renewal of

the license plate currently assigned to the vehicle.

ii. When the purchaser of a motor vehicle or motorcycle is waiting for the Florida

Certificate of Title to be released by the previous owner's lienholder. The

Revision Date: 04/25

Page 5 of 14

following must be presented to the tax collector or license plate agent for them to "mark the title sold" and issue a temporary tag, since the lien is not being satisfied now: A letter of verification signed by the purchaser's lienholder stating they have paid off the loan against the previous owner and it will be several weeks before the pervious owner's lienholder releases the title with the lien satisfaction to them from the customers. And, form Notice of Sale or Transfer of Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home, Off-Highway Vehicle or Vessel - HSMV 82050.

- b. For certified common carriers or drive-away companies who transport motor vehicles, motorcycles, mobile homes, or recreational vehicles from one place to another for persons other than themselves.
- c. For bank, credit unions, and other financial institutions which are not required to be licensed under the provisions of section 320.27, 320.77, or 320.771, Florida Statutes, but need temporary tags to demonstrate repossessions for sale.
- d. When a motor vehicle, motorcycle or recreational vehicle is sold in this state to a resident of another state for registration in their home state and is not required to be registered under the provisions of section 320.38, Florida Statutes. Refer to TL-08 for required sales tax information.
- e. When an out-of-state resident, subject to registration in this state, must secure ownership documentation from their home state. Example: an individual from another state is moving to Florida and needs to get their title documentation from the other state to register and title their vehicle in Florida.
- f. For a rental car company, which possesses a motor vehicle dealer license and uses temporary tags on vehicles offered for lease by such company. However, the original issuance date of a temporary tag shall be the date that determines the applicable

Revision Date: 04/25

license plate fees, the date the license plate is issued is the date used to determine

fees due.

g. For a marine boat trailer dealer to issue upon the sale of a marine boat trailer.

h. For use to transport a motor vehicle, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle in the

dealer's inventory to and from the dealer's licensed location to an off-premises sales

location and back. A dealer will only be able to get it if they do not have an active

dealer tag.

i. For use on a commercial vehicle (heavy truck), even carrying a load, if the vehicle

remains in Florida, proof of HVUT is required, unless purchased in the first 60 days. If

the commercial vehicle is traveling out of state, a trip permit for IRP and IFTA is

required.

3. Sixty (60) day temporary tags may be issued under the following circumstances:

a. When the existing owner of a motor vehicle submits an application for a Florida

certificate of title using a valid out-of-state title with an active lien as proof of

ownership.

b. When an active-duty military service member has a valid Florida driver license

and is stationed outside of Florida. A copy of duty orders is acceptable as proof

the applicant is stationed outside of Florida or an affidavit submitted and

signed by the applicant attesting that they are an active-duty military service

member and where the out-of-state location they are stationed.

4. Ninety (90) day temporary tags may be issued to a customer upon application for a

personalized or special license plate while the license plate is being manufactured, see

procedure RS-27.

Revision Date: 04/25

C. System Outage Information for ETR Participants (Dealers):

An ETR dealer may issue a pre-printed temporary tag only in the case of an ETR outage. In addition to

section Issuance of a Temporary License Plate for Use on a Motor Vehicle, Motorcycle or Recreational

Vehicle, A. the following requirements must be met when a pre-printed temporary tag is issued due

to an ETR System outage:

1. Complete form Off-line Issuance of a Pre-Printed Temporary Tag – HSMV 82082, in full and

retain the dealer records for a period of 5 years.

2. The issuance information must be reported to FLHSMV within one business day (excluding

weekends and holidays) of the issuance of the temporary tag.

3. Refer to procedure RS-05 for more information about electronic temporary transfers and

system outages.

D. Entities Issuing Pre-Printed Temporary Tags for Trailers Weighing less than 2,000 pounds:

When a temporary tag is issued to a customer, the entity will need to provide from HSMV 82082 to

the tax collector or license plate agent. The entity should keep a copy of form HSMV 82082 for its

records.

Ordering Pre-Printed Temporary Tags

A. Tax collector or license plate agencies are required to supply pre-printed temporary license plate to

dealers for use when there is an ETR outage or for anyone issuing temporary tags to trailers weighing

less than 2,000 pounds.

B. The motor vehicle issuance system has a limitation of issuing a maximum of 25 pre-printed temporary

tags per transaction. This limitation was only so that the appropriate mails fees could be calculated.

This is not a limitation on the number of pre-printed temporary tags that can be issued to a dealer.

Upon a dealer requesting to purchase pre-printed temporary tag privileges have not been suspended. If the dealer's temporary tag privileges have been suspended, the sale of pre-printed temporary tags is not authorized, and the dealer shall be referred to a Bureau of Dealer Services (BDS) Regional Office. Form Application by Florida Motor Vehicle, Motorcycle, Mobile Home or Recreational Vehicle Dealer for Temporary Tags - HSMV 83090 must be completed and submitted by the dealer to a county tax collector, license plate agent, or a Division of Motorist Services Regional Office. When HSMV 83090 is submitted by a dealer to a county tax collector office or license plate agent a copy of the completed form must be mailed or scanned and electronically transmitted within two (2) business days to the Division of Motorist Services Regional Office that serves the issuing county. This will ensure that dealers have the required ETR/EFS vendor and enable regional offices to ensure that temporary tags are being used appropriately. The regional office will retain the copy locally for 12 months in a dealer file for that office.

A fee of \$2 must be collected for each temporary tag issued. A Service fee and Branch fee, if applicable, may be collected if a county tax collector, license plate agent, Division of Motorist Services Regional Office, or Direct Mail section issues the temporary tag. Refer to the Registration Fee and Flat Tax Distribution Chart for applicable fees: https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/proc/fees/fees-02.pdf

If applying for a pre-printed temporary tag by mail, the following mail fees are required for these increments:

Number of Pre-Printed Temporary Tags	Mail Fee
05	\$4.90
10	\$5.45
25	\$7.50

Display

All temporary tags must be conspicuously displayed in the rear license plate bracket. On vehicles requiring front display of license plates, temporary tags must be displayed on the front of the vehicle in the location where the metal license plate would normally be displayed.

Revision Date: 04/25

Sales Tax Requirements

When a motor vehicle, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle is sold in this state to a resident of another state

for registration, issuance of a Florida temporary tag requires payment of sales tax to Florida as follows:

When the motor vehicle, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle is purchased from a Florida licensed motor

vehicle dealer or in a 'casual sale,' sales tax is required equal to but not more than the rate of sales tax levied

by the purchaser's state of residence. Complete form <u>DR123 Partial Exemption for Motor Vehicle Sold to</u>

Resident of Another State.

The county discretionary surtax is not applicable to out-of-state residents. See procedure TL-08 for further

clarification.

Miscellaneous

A. When the title record indicates "EFS Pending," no ETR transactions should be allowed. The dealer

that has the pending Electronic Filing System (EFS) transaction should complete or void the EFS

registration and title transactions. At no time should an EFS dealer issue an ETR, to the same

purchaser, after the EFS transaction has been completed. At not time should a dealer issue a

temporary tag once FLHSMV has issued a registration.

B. Motorcycle sized temporary tags should only be issued to motorcycles, motorcycle trailers and any

trailer under 2,000 pounds.

C. Most occurrences of multiple records with the same VIN may now be processed through the ETR

System by the vendor and are not required to be submitted to a county tax collector's office or

license plate agent for processing.

D. The dealer must issue a temporary tag or visit the tax collector or license plate agent office to

purchase the metal plate if the customer does not have a metal license plate to transfer.

Revision Date: 04/25

E. The use of a temporary tag in no way constitutes payment of registration tax. When the motor

vehicle is registered in the state of Florida, tax is due from the date of sale or transfer.

Revision(s) to Procedure

04/25: Added B.3. Sixty(60) day temporary tags to Issuance of a Temporary License Plate for Use on a

Motor Vehicle, Motorcycle or Recreational Vehicle section.

06/26/23: Added instructions for the new Form HSMV 82040s

06/03/2022: Changed title name through procedure from Temporary License Plate to Temporary Tags per

F.S 320.131, added DOR-123 Affidavit for Partial Exemption of Motor Vehicle Sold to a Resident of Another

State and changed mail fee for temporary license plates.

03/29/2018: Added Statutes 320.131(5) & 320.131(6), FRVIS instructions for Out-of-State Insurance, section

VII, bullet E on page 7, added Historical Revision section and minor edits.

01/24/2018: Changed mail fee for temporary license plates.

10/06/2014: Added #7 & #8 to Exhibit A

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

1. Can a temporary tag be issued to a Florida resident who has just purchased a vehicle in the state and

needs to drive the vehicle to a port to be shipped out of the country?

Yes, if the customer submits an application for a transfer of title into their name and is paying the

applicable sales tax. However, only ONE ten (10) day temporary tag may be issued for this purpose.

2. Does question #1 also apply to a vehicle purchased from a dealer?

Yes. However, the dealer must go to a license plate agent for them to process the temporary tag for

the customer, since a dealer cannot issue a 10-day temporary tag.

3. Can a temporary tag be issued to an out-of-state resident who has just purchased a vehicle in Florida

and needs to drive the vehicle to a port to be shipped out of the country?

Yes, if the customer is paying the applicable sales tax. However, only ONE ten (10) day temporary tag

may be issued for this purpose.

4. Does the license plate agent need any type of proof that a vehicle is being shipped out of the country

(see question #1 and #2)?

No. However, only ONE ten (10) day temporary tag may be issued for this purpose. When completed

form HSMV 83091, the "other purposes" box must be marked and the explanation of "the vehicle is

being shipped out of the country" must be stated.

5. Can a 10-day temporary tag be issued if the customer previously applied for a title only transfer using

a non-use affidavit and now wants to get a temporary tag to drive the vehicle to a port for shipping

out of the country?

Revision Date: 04/25

No. The temporary tag may only be issued at the time of the title transfer. Therefore, the customer

would have to purchase a regular license plate to drive the vehicle to the port.

6. Can a 10-day temporary tag be issued if the customer previously applied for a title, purchased a

license plate which has now expired, and wants to get a temporary tag to drive the vehicle to a port

for shipping out of country?

No. The temporary tag may only be issued at the time of the title transfer. Therefore, the customer

would have to renew their expired registration to drive the vehicle to the port.

7. Can a temporary tag be issued to an out-of-state resident who purchases a vehicle in Florida from an

individual (casual sale) with an out-of-state title and wants to drive the vehicle back to their state of

residence?

No. The customer must consider other means to get the vehicle back to their state of residence (i.e.,

get a temporary tag from their state of residence, trailer the vehicle back to their state, etc.).

8. Can a temporary tag be issued to an out-of-state resident who purchases a vehicle in Florida from an

individual (casual sale) with a Florida title, and wants to drive the vehicle back to their state of

residence?

Yes, if the customer is paying the applicable sales tax.

9. RS-31 states if a dealer chooses not to issue a temporary tag through an ETR vendor, the dealer must

submit all applications to a county tax collector or license plate agent for processing. Is the license

plate agent supposed to issue one of the dealer's temporary tag through the Registration-Original-

Dealer ETR transaction so the system will show the dealer info, or is it to process an original

registration, issue one of our print-on-demand or regular temporary tag and put the dealer's name in

Page 13 of 14

the comment field?

There are two scenarios:

For dealerships without a vendor, the agency must use only the Registration-Original-Dealer ETR transaction. Since the dealership does not have a vendor, it should not have any pre-printed temporary tag in its possession. Also, a Registration-Original-Regular must never be used.

For dealerships with a vendor, the agency may issue either a print-on-demand or a pre-printed temporary tag from the dealership's inventory.

The only time you may use a Registration-Original-Regular for a dealership with a vendor is when a third temporary tag has been approved and is required. You would then enter the reason for the third temporary tag and the dealer license number

Revision Date: 04/25