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Legal Authority 

Section 320.086, Florida Statutes, provides for the issuance of Horseless Carriage (Ancient), Antique 

(regular), and historical authenticated license plates. Upon payment of the license tax for an ancient motor 

vehicle prescribed by s. 320.08(1)(d), (2)(a) or (3)(e), the customer may be issued one of these special license 

plates. 
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Section 320.086(3), Florida Statutes, provides for the issuance of a permanent Horseless Carriage (Ancient) 

or Antique (permanent) license plate to the owner of ancient, or antique fire-fighting apparatus or other 

historical motor vehicle or former military vehicle. 

Section 320.086(4), Florida Statutes, provides for the issuance of a historical license plate to the owner of an 

ancient or antique motor vehicle. 

Section 320.086(5), Florida Statutes, provides for the issuance of an antique license plate for former military 

vehicles that are used only in exhibitions, parades, or public display and are exempt from the requirement 

to display a license plate or registration insignia, if the exemption is necessary to maintain the vehicle's 

accurate military markings. The license plate and registration certificate must be carried within the vehicle 

and available for inspection by any law enforcement officer. 

Section 320.086(6), Florida Statutes, states: “Former military vehicle” means a vehicle, including a trailer, 

regardless of the vehicle's size, weight, or year of manufacture, that was manufactured for use in any 

country's military forces and is maintained to represent its military design and markings accurately. 

Description and Use 

This procedure provides information and instructions to assist employees of the Tax Collector, License Plate 

Agents, and Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) with the issuance of horseless carriage 

(ancient), antique, and authenticated license plates. 

Definition and General Information 

Vehicles classified as ancient or antique may be issued regular, special, specialty, or personalized 

license plates (Exhibit B). 
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A Horseless Carriage (Ancient) motor vehicle is defined as an automobile, truck, or motorcycle 

manufactured in model year 1945 or earlier. The license plate is permanent and valid for use without 

renewal as long as the vehicle is owned by the same owner/registrant. The class code for a horseless 

carriage (ancient) motor vehicle is 82. 

Motor vehicles with a model year of 1946-60, currently registered as a Horseless Carriage prior to July 1, 

1996, shall be “grandfathered in” and maintain a permanent license plate, until the vehicle is transferred to 

a new owner. Upon transfer to a new owner, the vehicle will be registered as an antique and renewed 

annually. 

An Antique (regular) motor vehicle is defined as an automobile, truck, or motorcycle manufactured in a 

model year after 1945 and of the age of 30 years or more after the model year.  The license plate must be 

renewed annually. The class code for an Antique (regular) motor vehicle is 95 (automobiles old class code 

95, trucks old class code 91). 

Motorcycles manufactured after 1946 and of the age of 30 years or more will be issued a regular series, 

antique (regular) motorcycle, or authenticated license plate. There are no provisions for a reduced 

registration fee for motorcycles in this category. 

Horseless Carriage or Antique (permanent) license plates may be issued to any ancient or antique 

firefighting apparatus or other historical motor vehicle or former military vehicle. The license plates shall be 

permanent and valid for use without renewal if the vehicle is owned by the same owner/registrant. 

An Antique permanent license plate for a historical motor vehicle only applies to those that are used in 

exhibitions, parades, or public display. It is not applicable to a vehicle that is driven on a daily basis. 

Application Requirement for Horseless Carriage (Ancient) and Antique (Permanent) License Plates 

An application for a Horseless Carriage (Ancient) license plate or Antique (permanent) license plate must be 

submitted to the department.  The address is shown on the form Application for Registration of a Street 
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Rod, Custom Vehicle, Horseless Carriage or Antique (Permanent) - HSMV 83045. Both the Horseless Carriage 

and Antique license plates are permanent. The Initial Registration fee is not required. 

An application for an Antique (permanent) license plate for a firefighting apparatus (fire truck) may be 

submitted to any local tax collector's office or license plate agency. It may also be submitted to and 

processed by the department.  See Exhibit C for processing instructions. 

An accurately completed form HSMV 83045, is required for the issuance of the Horseless Carriage (Ancient) 

or Antique (Permanent) license plate. 

The applicant must possess a valid Florida Certificate of Title for the qualifying vehicle. 

Proof of Florida insurance is required. Refer to Procedure RS-36 for additional insurance requirements. 

Payment of the applicable fees, see form HSMV 83045. 

Requirements for Authentication of a License Plate 

Authenticated license plates may be issued to any vehicle manufactured in 1975 or earlier. The license plate 

must be the same year as the model year of the car or truck.  The license plate will be approved for issuance 

by the tax collector office or license plate agent as an authenticated license plate if the license plate has not 

been refurbished in any way and is still legible for law enforcement purposes. Authenticated license plates 

may only be issued to cars, motorcycles, and pickups weighing 5,000 pounds or less. 

Note: Authenticated Plates containing all zeros are SAMPLE plates and cannot be issued. 

Review Exhibit A for frequently asked questions and answers for authenticated license plates. 

The documentation listed below must be submitted by the applicant to the tax collector office or license 
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plate agent for processing: 

A. The license plate (for authentication purposes) furnished by the owner. See Exhibit D for correct 

year and colors of license plate. 

B. A copy of the Registration Certificate, if applicable. 

C. Proof of Vehicle Ownership, if applicable. 

D. Payment of the applicable fees. 

• The Initial Registration fee is not required on vehicles 30 years and older. 

E. Proof of Florida insurance.  Refer to RS-36 for insurance requirements. 

After verifying the Authenticated license plate is available through a PLP Availability Inquiry in the motor 

vehicle issuance system, the tax collector office or license plate agency must contact the Inventory Control 

Unit at the following email address to have the Authenticated license plate added to inventory for issuance. 

InventoryControlUnit@flhsmv.gov. Allow 24 hours for a response. The following details must be included in 

the email to the Inventory Control Unit: 

• County Number and Agency Number. 

• License Plate Number. 

• Confirmation that the license plate has been authenticated with the appropriate Year and 

Colors. 
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Renewals and Transfers 

A. A Horseless Carriage or Antique (regular and permanent) license plate may be transferred to any 

vehicle, which qualifies for a Horseless Carriage or Antique (regular and permanent) license plate. 

B. An authenticated license plate is not required to be replaced in the 10-year replacement cycle. 

However, it must be renewed annually and may be transferred. Renewals and transfers may be 

processed at any county license plate agency. 

Authenticated license plate transfers can only be made to another antique vehicle of the same 

model year as the year of the license plate and previous antique vehicle. 

C. When the vehicle is sold and the new owner wants the authenticated license plate, the previous 

owner may relinquish the license plate to the new owner. Refer to RS-27 for relinquishment 

procedures. 

Requirements for Replacement License Plates 

Applications for replacement antique license plates may be processed by the county license plate 

agency. Applications for replacement Horseless Carriage license plates must be submitted to the 

department. 

An authenticated license plate is one-of-a-kind. It cannot be replaced in the event of theft or damage. If 

the customer elects to replace the stolen or damaged authenticated plate with a different authenticated 

plate, the customer may apply for a new authenticated license plate. 

When the Horseless Carriage license plate needs to be replaced, issue a temporary license plate with the 

reason as “T” (administrative 30 days) and submit request to DMS. This reason must be used for the 

Horseless Carriage license plate to be issued with the correct fees. The following is required: 
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A. Form Application for Replacement License Plate, Validation Decal or Parking - HSMV 83146, 

accurately completed. 

B. Replacement Fees. 

The Decal on Demand fee does not apply to Horseless Carriage license plates or Antique 

(permanent) license plates. If the license plate or decal is a replacement or a stolen license plate 

or decal, there is no fee when the applicant certifies on form HSMV 83146 that the stolen item 

has been reported to a law enforcement agency. 

C. A photocopy of the current registration certificate. 

Lost in Transit 

Application for replacement of “Lost-In-Transit” Horseless Carriage or Antique (permanent) license 

plate can only be issued by the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Verification may be made 

in the motor vehicle issuance system to ensure that the license plate has been processed and mailed to the 

customer. If a determination cannot be made, it will be necessary to contact the county that processed and 

mailed the license plate. These replacements are issued for no fee when applied for within 180 days of the 

date issued. 

Miscellaneous Information 

A. Question: What is the difference between a regular antique vehicle, custom vehicle, and street rod? 
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Answer: 

• A “Regular Antique” motor vehicle is defined as an automobile, truck, or motorcycle 

manufactured in a model year after 1945 and of the age of 30 years or more after the model 

year. The license plate must be renewed annually. The class code for an Antique (regular) 

motor vehicle is 95 (automobiles old class code 95, trucks old class code 91). The form HSMV 

83045 is not required for a regular antique license plate. 

• A “Custom Vehicle” is 25 years of age or older and of a model year after 1948 or was 

manufactured to resemble a vehicle that is 25 years of age or older and of a model year after 

1948 and has been altered from the manufacturer’s original design or has a body constructed 

from non-original materials. 

The model year and year of manufacture that the body of a custom vehicle resembles is the 

model year and year of manufacture listed on the certificate of title, regardless of when the 

vehicle was manufactured. 

The vehicle title/record must carry a brand of “custom vehicle” prior to applying for a custom 

vehicle license plate.  Once branded, an accurately completed form Application for Registration of 

a Street Rod, Custom Vehicle, Horseless Carriage or Antique (Permanent) - HSMV 83045 , is 

required for the issuance of a custom vehicle license plate. See RS-28 for additional information. 

• A “Street Rod” is of a model year of 1948 or older or was manufactured after 1948 to resemble a 

vehicle of a model year of 1948 or older and has been altered from the manufacturer’s original 

design or has a body constructed from non-original materials. 

The model year and year of manufacture that the body of a street rod resembles is the model year 

and year of manufacture listed on the certificate of title, regardless of when the vehicle was 

manufactured. 
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The vehicle title/record must carry a brand of “street rod” prior to applying for a street rod license 

plate. Once branded, an accurately completed form HSMV 83045, is required for the issuance of a 

street rod license plate. See RS-28 for additional information. 

B. Inquiry Information: 

To inquire about a Horseless Carriage (Ancient), enter HC####. 

There are several ways to do an inquiry for an antique license plate. Which inquiry method you use 

depends on when the plate was issued, if the plate is all numeric, or if the plate is alphanumeric. 

A license plate with numbers only is an older issue date. Enter “ANTI” followed by the license plate 

numbers as shown:  ANTI######. If the license plate only has four numbers instead of six numbers, 

enter two zeros after “ANTI” and before the four-digit license plate number as shown: ANTI00####. 

If the license plate is alphanumeric, enter it using the letters displayed (BA-BZ) followed by the 

numbers as shown: BI####. See RS-01 Exhibit B for more inquiry information. 

Revision(s) to Procedure 

12/24 Biannual Review conducted. Updated Requirements for Authentication of a License Plate 

section. Removed requirement of Authenticated license plates issued by FLHSMV. Created Exhibit A. 

10/07/20 Updated contact information to Direct Mail and Issuance Rm #A330 in Section (IV). 

08/17/15 Updated information on pages 2 and 5 changing date of manufacture to model year. 
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Exhibit A 

FAQ for Authenticated Plates 

Q. Can government use plates be used by any citizen? Example FHP, SRD, FWC, DMV, PSC, Legislator, 

member of congress. 

A. These plates are not acceptable for authentication. 

Q. Except for the government plates identified above as unacceptable for authentication, do the weight 

codes on a 1975 or older matter for this purpose? 

A. No, the plate code is not a factor in the authentication of a plate. 

Q. Can tax collectors exercise their best judgement as to whether the condition of the tag is sufficient 

for use on the road? 

A. TC staff can use their discretion on the suitability of a license plate. 

Q. Can a plate embossed with split years be used on either year vehicle? 

A. Yes. 

Q. Are Authenticated plates subject to the 10-year replacement cycle? 

A. No, they are coded “AUP” which bypasses mandatory replacement. 

Q. How do you handle the four years where two Florida plates were required? 

A. First applicant is processed. If a matching plate is presented, the second application is denied. Two 

plates were issued in the years 1918, 1919, 1920 & 1921. 

Q. Can county issued license plates be authenticated? 

A. No, only Florida plates issued from 1918 through 1975 can be authenticated. 
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Q. Does the 5000-pound limitation apply to authenticated plate applications? 

A. RS-25, pg. 3, Authenticated license plates may only be issued to cars, motorcycles, and pickups 

weighing 5,000 pounds or less. 

Q. Can an authenticated plate be transferred to a same year vehicle without a new review? 

A. Yes, once the plate is authenticated it is transferable to a same year vehicle. 

Q. Can a Seminole or Miccosukee Indian plate be used as an authenticated license plate? 

A. No. 

Q. Can an amateur radio plate be used as an authenticated license plate? 

A. No. 

Q. Can a handicap license plate be used as an authenticated license plate? 

A. No. 

Q. Can an (MH) mobile home license plate be used for an automobile? 

A. No, these plates were used on automobiles. 

Q. Can a National Guard license plate be used as an authenticated license plate? 

A. No, they would need to qualify. 

Q. Can an (RV) plate be used on a regular automobile? 

A. No, they can be used on a same year recreational vehicle. 

Q. If a year of manufacture plate is placed into an offices inventory and the transaction is not 

completed, can the item be removed from the office inventory? 

A. Yes. Email Inventory Control Unit to request plate removal. 
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Q. Would these plates impact our yearly inventory? 

A. No. The plate is solely for issuance only, it is never housed in your inventory. 

Q. Can a citizen rely on the FLHSMV personal plate query to accurately determine if an authenticated 

license plate can be used? 

A. Yes. https://services.flhsmv.gov/MVCheckPersonalPlate/ 

Q. Will an authenticated license plate search in the motor vehicle issuance system only return results if 

the plate is issued or has been issued? 

Example. We inquired on C252892 and received no response in either system. 

A. Yes. If issued or has been issued a result of “not available” will return. 
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Exhibit B 

License Plates Available for Ancient and Antique Vehicles 
Year Manufactured: 1946-1979* 

Vehicle Type License Plates Available 

Regular 
Antique Non-permanent (AQR) Any regular (RGR/RGS) Any 
Specialty license plate 

Trucks 
5000lbs or less 

Antique Non-Permanent (AQR) Any regular (RGR/RGS) Any 
Specialty license plate 

Trucks (GVW) 
5001lbs or more 

Any license plate available for GVW Trucks 

Motorcycle Any motorcycle license plate Antique 

Fire Trucks 
(any weight) 

Antique Permanent (AQR) Horseless Carriage HCR (reg use AG) 
Any regular (RGR/RGS) Any Specialty license plate 

Former Military Vehicle 
Antique Permanent (AQR) Horseless Carriage HCR (reg use AG) 
Any regular (RGR/RGS) Any special license plate 

Trailer Any regular (RGR/RGS) Any special license plate 
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License Plates Available for Ancient and Antique Vehicles 
Year Manufactured: 1945 or Earlier 

Vehicle Type License Plates Available 

Regular 
Horseless Carriage (HCR) Permanent Antique (AQR) Non-
Permanent 
Any regular (RGR/RGS) Any Specialty license plate 

Trucks 
5000lbs or less 

Horseless Carriage (HCR) Permanent Antique (AQR) Non-
Permanent 
Any regular (RGR/RGS) Any Specialty license plate 

Trucks (GVW) 
5001lbs or more 

Any license plate available for GVW Trucks 

Motorcycle 
MC Horseless Carriage (HMR) Any motorcycle license plate 
Antique 

Fire Trucks 
(any weight) 

Antique Permanent (AQR) Horseless Carriage HCR (reg use AG) 
Any regular (RGR/RGS) Any Specialty license plate 

Former Military Vehicle 
Antique Permanent (AQR) Horseless Carriage HCR (reg use AG) 
Any regular (RGR/RGS) Any special license plate 

Trailer Any regular (RGR/RGS) Any special license plate 

*Latest year will be 30 years prior to the current calendar year. 
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Exhibit C 

Instructions for Processing a Permanent Antique License Plate on a Fire Truck 30 Years Old or Older 

1. The title must have the vehicle type of “TR” and body type of “FT” for fire truck, net weight must be 

5001 lbs. or more. 

2. Use the reg-use code of “AG.” 

3. Use the inventory code of “AQR.” 

4. You must mark the box to issue a license plate (DO NOT MARK THE BOX TO ISSUE A DECAL). Plate will 

be issued without a decal and does NOT need to be renewed. 

If the customer is requesting a Horseless Carriage license plate for this type of vehicle, the application must 

be mailed to FLHSMV to process. 
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1920

1925

1930

1935

1940

1945

Exhibit D 

Authenticated License Plates 

Year Embossed Background Color 
Color of Letters and Numbers 

on License Plate 
1918 Black White 
1919 Orange Black 

Gray Red 
1921 Brown White 
1922 Green White 
1923 Dark Blue Orange 
1924 Black White 

Green Orange 
1926 Black Yellow 
1927 Black Ivory 
1928 Maroon Yellow 
1929 Blue Orange 

Green White 
1931 Maroon White 
1932 Black Orange 
1933 Orange Black 
1934 Black White 

Yellow Black 
1936 Red White 
1937 Green White 
1938 Black Yellow 
1939 White Red 

Black White 
1941 White Red 
1942 Blue Orange 
1943 1942 License Plate with 1943 Yellow on Blue Metal Date Tab 
1944 Yellow Black 

Black Yellow 
1946 Dark Blue White 
1947 Green White 
1948 Black Yellow 
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1950

1955

1960

1965

1970

1975

Year Embossed Background Color 
Color of Letters and Numbers 

on License Plate 
1949 Cream Red 

Orange Blue 
1951 Yellow Blue 
1952 Blue Orange 
1953 Orange Blue 
1954 Blue Orange 

Orange Blue 
1956 Blue White 
1957 White Blue 
1958 Dark Green White 
1959 White Dark Green 

Blue Cream Yellow 
1961 Yellow Dark Blue 
1962 White Blue 
1963 Blue White 
1964 Orange Blue 

Orange 
(400th Anniversary) 

Yellow 

1966 Blue White 
1967 Black White 
1968 Red White 
1969 Green White 

Blue White 
1971 White Orange 

1972 White Green 
1972 White Orange 
1973 White Green 
1973 White Orange 
1974 White Orange 

White Orange 

Note: Two License Plates Were Manufactured In 1972 And 1973 
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