

Division of Motorist Services

Procedure RS-13

Motor Vehicle Procedure Manual

Registration

Legislative and Press License Plates

Table of Contents

Legislative and Press License Plates	1
Legal Authority	
Description and Use	
Application Requirements	2
Renewals and Transfers of Legislative and Press (Pres) License Plates	4
Replacement License Plates	4
Additional Information	4
Revision(s) to Procedure	

Legal Authority

Section 320.0805(8)(a)(3), Florida Statutes, provides for license plates consisting of the four capital letters "PRES" preceded or followed by a hyphen and numbers of 1 to 999 to be reserved for issuance only to applicants who qualify as members of the press and who are associated with or are employees of the reporting media.

Section 320.0807, Florida Statutes, provides the authority for the issuance of legislative license plates to current members of the United States Congress, current members of the Florida House of Representatives, current or former Presidents of the Florida Senate, and current or former Speakers of the Florida House of Representatives.

Section 320.0807, Florida Statutes, provides for the issuance of retired legislative license plates to any former member of the State Legislature who has served at least 4 years as a State Senator or Representative with at least 2 years as a State Senator or a State Representative prior to January 1, 2021; and redirects a portion of the proceeds from the fee for special license plates for former state legislators to the Florida Historic Capitol Museum's direct-support organization.

A. United States Congress Member: FLHSMV may issue to a current United States Senator or Congress member a legislative license plate stamped "Official Congress" license plate using any configuration chosen by the member which is not already in use. Configurations over 4 characters should be reviewed.

Revision Date: 07/19/22 Effective Date: Immediately

- B. State Senator: FLHSMV may issue to a current state senator a legislative license plate stamped "Official Senate" using any configuration chosen by the member which is not already in use. Configurations over 4 characters should be reviewed.
- C. State House: FLHSMV may issue to a current state representative a legislative license plate stamped "Official House" using any configuration chosen by the member which is not already in use. Configurations over 4 characters should be reviewed.
- D. Senate President: FLHSMV may issue to any current or former Senate President a legislative license plate stamped "Senate President" using any configuration chosen by the President which is not already in use. Configurations over 4 characters should be reviewed.
- E. House Speaker: FLHSMV may issue to any current or former Speaker of the House a legislative license plate stamped "House Speaker" using any configuration chosen by the Speaker which is not already in use. Configurations over 4 characters should be reviewed.
- F. Retired State Senator: FLHSMV may issue a former state senator who has served at least 4 years as a state senator and served at least 2 years as a state senator prior to January 1, 2021, a legislative license plate stamped "Retired Senate" for a vehicle registered by the former senator using any configuration chosen by the member which is not already in use. Configurations over 4 characters should be reviewed.
- G. Retired State Representative: FLHSMV may issue a former state representative who has served at least 4 years as a state representative and served at least 2 years as a state representative prior to January 1, 2021, a legislative license plate stamped "Retired Senate" for a vehicle registered by the former representative using any configuration chosen by the member which is not already in use. Configurations over 4 characters should be reviewed.

Description and Use

This procedure provides information and instructions to assist employees of the tax collector, license plate agent, and the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) with the issuance of license plates to members and former members of the legislature and the press.

Application Requirements

- A. Application requirements for Legislative license plates:
 - 1. APPLICATION:

Note: Only FLHSMV can issue legislative license plates.

For additional information and application instructions contact the FLHSMV's Office of Legislative Affairs at (850) 617-3195.

A COMPLETED HSMV 83109, APPLICATION FOR LEGISLATIVE LICENSE PLATE should be submitted to the Office of Legislative Affairs:

Revision Date: 07/19/22 Page 2 of 5

Effective Date: Immediately

Fax: 850-617-5207

Address: Office of Legislative Affairs MS# 1

2900 Apalachee Parkway

Tallahassee, FL 32399

2. PROOF OF OWNERSHIP:

Proof of ownership for the vehicle must be shown by submitting one of the following:

- Copy of the current Florida Vehicle Registration Certificate.
- Copy of the Florida Certificate of Title.
- Copy of a title receipt (HSMV 82041) showing a Florida title has been applied for.

3. PROOF OF INSURANCE:

Proof of Florida insurance is required. Refer to Procedure RS-36 for additional insurance requirements.

- 4. FEES:
 - Submit the fees prescribed by <u>s. 320.0805, F.S.</u>
 - FLHSMV, Office of Legislative Affairs will provide the appropriate fee information.

Note: When an elected official is no longer in public office, the license plate must be surrendered and a new specialty, special or Florida graphic license plate issued.

B. Application requirements and qualifications for Retired Legislative license plates: Only FLHSMV can issue retired legislative license plates.

To qualify for a Retired Senate or Retired House prestige license plate, a former member must have served at least 4 years as a state senator or state representative and must have served at least 2 years prior to January 1, 2021.

Use the steps in Application Requirements A (1-3) then the following apply:

- 1. FEES: Submit the fees prescribed by s. 320.0805, F.S., and payment of a one-time fee of \$500.
 - A one-time fee of \$450.00 will be collected and distributed to the account of the direct-support organization established pursuant to s. 272.136 and used for the benefit of the Florida Historic Capitol Museum, and the remaining \$50 shall be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund.
 - FLSHMV Office of Legislative Affairs will provide the appropriate fee information.
- C. Application requirements for Press (PRES) license plates: PRES license plates may only be ordered in a county license plate agent.
 - 1. APPLICATION:

Revision Date: 07/19/22 Page 3 of 5

Effective Date: Immediately

Form <u>HSMV 83081</u>, Application for Press (Pres) License Plates, accurately completed by applicant.

2. PROOF OF OWNERSHIP:

Proof of ownership for the vehicle must be shown by submitting one of the following:

- Copy of the current Florida Vehicle Registration Certificate.
- Copy of the Florida Certificate of Title.
- Copy of a title receipt (HSMV 82041) showing a Florida title has been applied for.

3. PROOF OF INSURANCE:

Proof of Florida insurance is required. Refer to DMS Procedure <u>RS-36</u> for additional insurance requirements.

4. FEES: Submit the regular tax fees shown in the tax due and credit manual using the appropriate regular class codes, based on weight and type of vehicle, trust fund fee from the class code/fee chart, personalized fee, processing fee, original license plate fee, decal on demand fee, service fee (add branch fee if applying through a county branch office).

Refer to the registration fees and flat taxes distribution chart for all applicable fees.

Renewals and Transfers of Legislative and Press (Pres) License Plates

Renewals and transfers of legislative and press license plates may be processed through the county license plate agency.

Replacement License Plates

Applications for replacement Press (PRES) license plates may be processed by the county license plate agent. FLHSMV must process applications for replacement of Legislative and Retired Legislative license plates.

The following is required:

- A. Form <u>HSMV 83146</u>, Application for Replacement License Plate, Validation Decal or Parking Permit, accurately completed.
- B. A copy of the vehicle registration certificate. Refer Procedure <u>RS-06</u> for additional information and fees.

Additional Information

A. Business owned by the legislative member, immediate family members of the legislative member, or dependent children may also be issued a legislative license plate. This does not apply to Retired Legislative license plates. Retired plates can only be issued in the name of the legislator.

Revision Date: 07/19/22 Page 4 of 5

Effective Date: Immediately

Revision(s) to Procedure

07/19/22 removed "The Department" from the procedure and changed it to "Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles". Added new language under Legal Authority (A-G). Added application requirements along with the fee, and mailing address.

07/19/22 Removed from the procedure: Section 320.0807, Florida Statutes (A-I)

05/10/22: Statutory review added Application Requirements A (1-3).

04/18/18: Statutory review, added links.

06/19/15: Added new statute information for redistribution of special license plate fees for former federal and state legislators to pages 1 and 3.

Revision Date: 07/19/22 Page 5 of 5
Effective Date: Immediately