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Legal Authority

This procedure is governed by Section 320.0607(2)-(4), F.S., Replacement license plates, validation
decal, or mobile home sticker.

(2) Whenalicense plate, mobile home sticker, or validation decal has been lost, stolen, or destroyed,
the owner of the motor vehicle or mobile home for which the plate, sticker, or decal was issued
shall make an application to the FLHSMV for a replacement. The application shall contain the
plate, sticker, or decal number being replaced and a statement that the item was lost, stolen, or
destroyed. If the application includes a copy of the police report prepared in response to a report
of a stolen plate, sticker, or decal, such plate, sticker, or decal must be replaced at no charge.

(3) Except as provided in subsection (2), upon filing of an application accompanied by a fee of $28
plus applicable service charges, the FLHSMV shall issue a replacement plate, sticker, or decal, as
applicable, if it is satisfied that the information reported in the application is true. The
replacement fee shall be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund.

(4) Any license plate, sticker, or decal lost in the mail may be replaced at no charge. Neither the
service charge nor the replacement fee shall be applied to this replacement. However, the
application for a replacement shall contain a statement of such fact, the audit number of the lost
item, and the date issued.
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And Section 320.0848, F.S. (2)(d), persons who have disabilities; issuance of disabled parking permits;

temporary permits; and permits for certain providers of transportation services to persons who have
disabilities. To obtain a replacement for a disabled parking permit that has been lost or stolen, a
person must apply on a form prescribed by the FLHSMV, provide a certificate of disability issued within
the last 12 months pursuant to subsection (1), and pay a replacement fee in the amount of $1, to be
retained by the issuing agency. If the person submits with the application a police report documenting
that the permit was stolen, there is no replacement fee. A veteran who has been previously evaluated
and certified by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or any branch of the United States
Armed Forces as permanently and totally disabled from a service-connected disability may provide a
United States Department of Veterans Affairs Summary of Benefits Letter, which can be downloaded
from eBenefits and issued within the last 12 months, in lieu of a certificate of disability.

Although, the statute indicates a $1 fee is charged to replace a stolen parking permit without an
accompanying police report, no fee is charged for this transaction through the motor vehicle issuance
system.

Description and Use

Providesinformation and instructions to assist employees of the tax collector, license plate agent and
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) with the issuance of replacement
license plates, validation decals, or parking permits.

Documentation Required and Special Instruction

Applications for replacement license plates, validation decals, or parking permits should be submitted
to a local county tax collector or license plate agent’s office for processing. For those license plates
not sold in a county office the application for replacement should be mailed as follows:

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Attn: Direct Mail and Issuance,

2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS #72

Tallahassee, Florida 32399

Each request for a replacement license plate, validation decal or mobile home sticker (aka validation
decal) as referenced in s.320.0607, F.S., must be made by completing form HSMV 83146. If the
registration is in the name of two or more owners, only one owner is required to sign the application.

Identification in the form of a valid driver license or identification card from any state, or Canada, or a
valid passport, or passport card must be presented at the time of application. If the application is
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made by someone other than the owner, a power of attorney as specified in Procedure TL-02, the

Power of Attorney, must accompany the application. If the owner is a business, proof that the
applicant is authorized to sign for the business is required as outlined in Procedure TL-01 Signature
Requirements. Proof that the officer/agent is authorized to sign for the business can be verified at the

following web address: https://dos.myflorida.com/sunbiz/search/.

If proof cannot be obtained through the above web address, a letter on original business letterhead
stating that the person signing the application is authorized to do so and must be signed by an officer
of the business, who is someone other than the person signing the application.

Replacements For License Plates and/or Validation Decals Will Be Issued as Follows

Cancelled (Surrendered)
When a customer has previously surrendered their license plate for cancellation and are now
requesting a replacement license plate, fees are required.

Customer Request

An owner may, at any time during the registration period, replace a license plate or validation decal
using form HSMV 83146. Form HSMV 83146 is optional for customer-initiated replacements when
visiting a tax collector office or using a tax collector convenience method. Fees are required.

Damaged
A license plate or validation decal, that has sustained physical damage after issuance should be
replaced using form HSMV 83146; Fees are required.

De-Authorized

When a license plate is de-authorized by the FLHSMV, the customer may choose to keep the plate until
the 10-year forced replacement date, unless the plate is lost, stolen, or must be replaced for any other
reason. The customer may also choose to replace the plate. If the customer chooses a new plate, the
available Advanced Replacement Fund (ARF) credit will be applied to the cost of the new license plate.

When a license plate is de-authorized and the reason for the de-authorization requires immediate
cancellation, such as the organization has closed, the customer must replace the license plate at the
next renewal, or the ARF credit from the previous license plate will be applied to the new license plate.
Because this is an FLHSMV required replacement, form HSMV 83146 does not need to be completed.

Defaced
Alicense plate or validation decal that has not sustained physical damage, and isillegible, such as with
fading due to sun damage, should be replaced. Form HSMV 83146 and fees are required.
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Defective Decal

Decals are manufactured to be free from defects for 27 months after issuance. If the defective decal is
returned, the decal will be replaced at no fee. Form HSMV 83146 is required. Defective decal does not
include a license plate.

Lost or Destroyed

A license plate or validation decal that is being reported by the owner as lost must be replaced. Form
HSMV 83146 and fees are required. If the customer provides a copy of a police report by a law
enforcement officer which cites the lost or destroyed item, it will be replaced for free. A copy of the police
report should be attached to form HSMV 83146.

Lost In Transit

A license plate or validation decal that was mailed by a tax collector or license plate agent and is
verified as being mailed through a review of the record in the motor vehicle issuance system, will be
replaced at no charge if the date of issuance is 180 calendar days or less. Form HSMV 83146 is required.
If the date of issuance exceeds 180 calendar days, form HSMV 83146 and fees are required.

Objectionable

If a license plate is issued to a customer and upon receiving the plate, finds the license plate to be
objectionable, they can replace the license plate at no fee using the replacement reason “AD” and
enter “No fee, customer found plate to be objectionable.” In the motor vehicle issuance system
comments. The objectionable plate must be surrendered to the office at the time of replacement.
Form HSMV 83146 is required.

If a range of license plates assigned to a county are found to be objectionable by the Tax Collector,
they may be removed and replaced by contacting the Inventory Control Unit at
InventoryControlUnit@flhsmv.gov for instructions.

Stolen/Stolen With A Police Report

When the customer has reported the license plate or validation decal as stolen to a law enforcement
agency and provides a police report prepared in response to a report of a stolen license plate or decal,
such a plate or decal must be replaced at no charge. A law enforcement agency card containing the
case number for the stolen report of the license plate or decal may be accepted in lieu of the report.
Comments must be reflected in the motor vehicle issuance system, and must include the law
enforcement agency’s name, and the stolen report case number.
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If a license plate or decal is replaced using code “SP”, Stolen with a Police Report, a copy of the police
report or law enforcement agency card containing the case number for the stolen report must be
attached to the required form HSMV 83146.

If the customer does not provide the police report, or law enforcement agency card containing the
case number for the stolen license plate or decal, fees are required along with HSMV 83146.

If the customer had their license plates seized by law enforcement, or surrendered due to an
insurance suspension, fees are required.

If the customer’s license plate was seized by law enforcement due to an insurance suspension, and
the customer is applying for a replacement, the following must be completed first in the motor vehicle
issuance system before issuing replacement.

It does not matter if there was insurance at the time of suspension. The statute does not allow us to
replace a seized tag without payment.

Admin code for surrender reason. The cancel reason will show AD.

or
If a customer surrenders his/her license plate due to an insurance suspension, and they are applying
for a replacement, the following must be completed first in the motor vehicle issuance system before
issuing replacement. See appropriate instructions and example.

If the license plate was seized, it does not matter if there was insurance at the time of suspension. The
statute does not allow us to replace a seized tag without payment.

Legal Opinion on Replacement Fee for Seized Plates

Temporary License Plate
Atemporary license plate can only be issued as a replacement license plate if it is being replaced as a
personalized license plate, and a new personalized plate is being ordered.

Replacement Parking Permits

Each request for a replacement disabled parking permit for persons with long-term mobility problems
(permanent) as referenced in 5.320.0848, F.S., must be made by completing form HSMV 83146 and
providing a certificate of disability issued within the last 12 months (HSMV 83039, Application by
Disabled Person).
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A veteran who has been previously evaluated as permanently and totally disabled from a service-
connected disability may provide a U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Summary of Benefits Letter,
which can be downloaded from E-Benefits and issued within the last 12 months, in lieu of HSMV 83039.
Identification in either form of a valid driver license, identification card from any state or Canada, a
valid passport, or passport card, must be presented at the time of application. If the application is
made by someone other than the owner of the parking permit, a power of attorney as specified in
Procedure TL-02, the Power of Attorney, must accompany the application. There is no fee for replacing
a disabled parking permit (permanent).

There is no language within the statute that addresses the replacement of a temporary disabled
parking permit. If a customer requests another temporary parking permit to replace an expired
temporary parking permit, the customer must complete and submit a new form HSMV 83039 signed
by the certifying physician. If the customer requests another temporary parking permit to replace a
valid (unexpired) temporary permit, this may be processed without submitting a new form, but the fee
is charged.

Example: Doctor authorizes temporary parking placard for one year—but we can only issue for six
months. Original 83039 form is on file—check date, see if you may issue an additional six months. It

isissued at no fee.

Documentation for the Issuance of Replacement License plates, validation decals, or parking
permits

Form HSMV 83146 is required for all replacements of license plates, validation decals, or parking
permits, except a license plate that is de-authorized by the FLHSMV. Form HSMV 83146 must be
completed and signed by the applicant and/or Tax Collector or license plate agent, if applicable.

All forms HSMV 83146 are required to be held in printed or electronic format in the processing office
or processing county for a period of at least one calendar year. For those replacement transactions
that required additional documentation, it must be attached to the form.

Revision(s) to Procedure

01/10/23 Added Form HSMV 83146 is optional for customer-initiated replacements when visiting
a tax collector office or using a tax collector convenience method.

Removed language from Defaced (pg. 3) “If the customer returns a defaced license plate or validation
decal and provides a copy of a citation written by a law enforcement officer which cites the defaced
item, it will be replaced for free. A copy of the citation should be attached to form HSMV 83146” and
“If the customer returns the damaged item and provides a copy of a citation written by a law
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enforcement officer, which cites the damaged item, the item will be replaced for free. A copy of the
citation should be attached to form HSMV 83146”.

Added language to Lost or Destroyed ( pg. 3) “If the customer provides a copy of a police report by a
law enforcement officer, which cites the lost or destroyed item, it will be replaced for free. A copy of
the police report should be attached to form HSMV 83146”.

05/05/22: Removed Admin code for surrender reason, “or surrendered” and added the customer is.

02/21/20: Added instructions to page 4 and an example on how to surrender or cancel a seized license
plate.

9/10/18: Under Seized Tags, added legal opinion and information that payment is required to replace

a seized tag

2/15/18: Reworded procedure to match the language in Sections 320.0607 and 320.0848, Florida
Statutes.
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